No Sound

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

billbyrnes

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:50 am

No Sound

PostSat May 12, 2018 6:39 pm

I just installed DaVinci Resolve 15 b2. I have no sound from imported AVC (*.mts) files from camcorder. There is a musical note Icon in the media pool icon, but no wave form either in the source window nor timeline monitor.

I can import music files, *.mp3. They play fine and show the waveforms.

Please help if you know the answer to this.

Thanks,

Bill Byrnes
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 311
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: No Sound

PostMon May 14, 2018 10:16 pm

This usually means that you have a mismatched audio bitrate. I don't know about Macs, but in Windows go to : Control Panel - Sound - Playback - Properties - Advanced, check that the Default Format is set to either 16 bit or 24 bit 48000HZ. Resolve audio works at 48k.
Attachments
AUDIO.JPG
AUDIO.JPG (72.91 KiB) Viewed 1029 times
Dell XPS 8700 Core i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, Nvidia Geforce GTX 750Ti, Win 10 Home, DaVinci Resolve (free) 15.0, Canon HF G40.
Dell Precision 490 dual 4 core Xeon Workstation, 16GB ECC RAM, Win 7 Ultimate, Pro Tools 2018.7
Offline

debbieteale

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 3:02 am
  • Real Name: Debbie Teale

Re: No Sound

PostMon May 21, 2018 6:09 am

I have this issue also. Resolve 14 worked well until it stopped playing and importing sound, no idea why. Uninstalled 14, installed 15, still have the same issue. .mts files not supported.
I have been able to play mp3 and mp4 successfully, just not mts.
Realtek drivers have been updated, don't know what else to do.

Thanks for any imput.
Offline

billbyrnes

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:50 am

Re: No Sound

PostMon May 21, 2018 3:06 pm

Thanks for getting back to me. My settings are 16 bit, 48000 HZ and I still have the problem. I have purchased Akrock tanscoder to change my .mts files to .mov with DNxHD code. I don't think Davinci Resolve handles AVD files, there are a lot of posts on this forum about this.
Offline
User avatar

Hartmut Kuhse

  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:24 pm
  • Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: No Sound

PostMon May 21, 2018 5:13 pm

MTS often has AC3 audio. This is broken with Windows10 1803 (on Windows, the program "MediaInfo" is always a good choice...) Maybe that is the reason.

Hartmut
Win 10 x64 (1803), i7-4790k, 32GB Ram, 256 GB SSD, SATA 2TB, SATA 4TB, NVidia GTX1080 8GB, LG 34" 4K Wide
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1621
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: No Sound

PostMon May 21, 2018 5:40 pm

billbyrnes wrote:I just installed DaVinci Resolve 15 b2. I have no sound from imported AVC (*.mts) files from camcorder. There is a musical note Icon in the media pool icon, but no wave form either in the source window nor timeline monitor.

I can import music files, *.mp3. They play fine and show the waveforms.

Please help if you know the answer to this.

Thanks,

Bill Byrnes


I think you need the Studio version .... ;)
Studio_version.jpg
Studio_version.jpg (190.12 KiB) Viewed 968 times
Windows 10 PRO X64 1709 and 1803 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.0 V086 | Fusion Studio 9.0.2 | Decklink Studio 4K 6G | Desktop Video 10.10.11
Offline

Gerron

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:28 pm
  • Real Name: Ron German

Re: No Sound - 15 Beta 3

PostMon May 21, 2018 6:51 pm

No sound from my Panasonic GH2`files .mts (AVCHD) too (desktop system), despite It shows the sound waveforms.
Weirdly, my notebook with the same 15 Beta 3 version doesn`t have this issue, as well as the 14.3 version that I uninstalled.
Update 22/May: The 14.3 version that I just reinstalled NOW shows the same 15 Beta 3 sound problem!
Gerron
Offline

idarkl

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 6:39 pm
  • Real Name: Idar Klubbenes

Re: No Sound

PostTue May 22, 2018 6:44 pm

I have Studio version. Same problem
Checked that audio playback settings in windows was set to 48khz.
Premiere cs6 plays them fine
Offline

supereight

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:28 pm
  • Real Name: John Ford

Re: No Sound

PostTue May 22, 2018 7:22 pm

This is reported as a Windows 10 1803 problem but my .mts flies with AC3 audio play properly in Windows Media Player but not in Resolve 15 beta 3.
Offline

Bob DiMarzio

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 10:44 pm

Re: No Sound

PostTue May 22, 2018 9:12 pm

Same problem here With resolve 14 studio. I rolled back Windows to the previous build and sound returned.

I hope that Davinci addresses this issue before the release of 15.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4614
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: No Sound

PostWed May 23, 2018 2:34 am

This looks like a Windows issue.
You proved it yourself with the same result on v14 and v15 until you rolled back the Windows update.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Gerron

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:28 pm
  • Real Name: Ron German

Re: No Sound

PostWed May 23, 2018 1:02 pm

Sorry for my digital world ignorance, Peter, but assuming it`s a Windows issue, should we (editors / producers) wait for the next Windows Update to continue editing our projects with Resolve, or Black Magic Design can solve this issue very soon?
Thanks
Gerron
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1621
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: No Sound

PostWed May 23, 2018 4:30 pm

If someone wants to share a little clip for me to test, as I have no issue... If it helps ... :oops:
Windows 10 PRO X64 1709 and 1803 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.0 V086 | Fusion Studio 9.0.2 | Decklink Studio 4K 6G | Desktop Video 10.10.11
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4614
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: No Sound

PostThu May 24, 2018 2:53 am

Gerron wrote:Sorry for my digital world ignorance, Peter, but assuming it`s a Windows issue, should we (editors / producers) wait for the next Windows Update to continue editing our projects with Resolve, or Black Magic Design can solve this issue very soon?
Thanks
Gerron


Windows changed something so we are looking to see if there is a workaround for this issue.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Gerron

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:28 pm
  • Real Name: Ron German

Re: No Sound

PostThu May 24, 2018 5:16 pm

Thank you Peter. Please let us updated regarding the solution for this issue.
I had to stop editing a film to avoid dealing with the time consuming getting back to the previous Windows 10 version.
Gerron
Offline

Hobert Burnett

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 1:24 am

Re: No Sound

PostThu May 24, 2018 10:00 pm

Hello everyone,

I have a IMAC Pro with no sound output. Tried reinstalling and nothing, but you can see the meters moving.

any suggestions?


Hobert
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4614
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: No Sound

PostFri May 25, 2018 7:01 am

Hobert Burnett wrote:Hello everyone,
I have a IMAC Pro with no sound output. Tried reinstalling and nothing, but you can see the meters moving.
any suggestions?
Hobert


have you set up your speakers in preferences?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

supereight

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:28 pm
  • Real Name: John Ford

Re: No Sound

PostFri May 25, 2018 4:19 pm

Microsoft have just released another upgrade for Windows 10 1803. This has now resulted in some sporadic sounds coming from my timeline but not anywhere near normal output.
Offline

smithore

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat May 26, 2018 2:07 pm
  • Real Name: Stephane Bidouze

Re: No Sound

PostSat May 26, 2018 2:11 pm

Hi,
I've tried for the first time Da Vinci resolve this week, it's a great program but there is really something wrong with the sound : NO SOUND AT ALL ! All my others video editing programs are working perfectly despite i have the last windows 10 update.
I guess Resolve is using a different way to output the sound, i read so many problems about the sound in this editor, i hope the solution will come soon, actually the program is no usable .
Offline

billbyrnes

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:50 am

Re: No Sound

PostWed Jun 27, 2018 10:31 pm

This has been fixed in B5.

Thanks to everyone for your help.

Bill Byrnes
Offline

Byron Dickens

  • Posts: 106
  • Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: No Sound

PostFri Jun 29, 2018 5:44 pm

Windows 10 updates have been notorious for wreaking havoc with audio drivers.
DR 14.3 W10 Home. Core i7 3.4 GHz. 16GB RAM. Intel HD graphics 530.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dan Sherman, DigiKin, Google [Bot], ropbo and 22 guests