15b3 - Failed to initialize Red decoder

A place for feedback and discussion on DaVinci Resolve 15
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ChristopherSeguine

  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 5:00 pm
  • Location: California

15b3 - Failed to initialize Red decoder

PostWed May 23, 2018 8:55 pm

15b3 - Failed to initialize Red decoder with configured number of threads

config.dat is at default, Red.Threads=8

logs:

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AlJNJy9Y2vGakDHkgfPd5EAv0wf3
Primary: HP DL580G8 (4x E7-8895 - 60 cores, HT disabled), Decklink Extreme 12G, 2x 1080TI, Arcea 1883ix24
OS: Win 10 for Workstations 17134, nvidia 397.64
Primary source: Red 8k .r3d, Phantom .cine, secondary footage: ArriRaw, DJI X5 CDNG
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4133
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 15b3 - Failed to initialize Red decoder

PostWed May 23, 2018 9:10 pm

Something has control of ports 10001 and 10004, so Resolve cannot start the DPDecoder processes on those ports.

Signiant clients seem to be the most likely suspects these days. If you see a Signiant client in Windows Task Manager, Background processes, that would be at least one thing. But it usually only uses the 10001 port, so might be something else on the 10004 port.

This app is an easy way to see what's using ports on Windows:

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/cports.html

You can either stop processes from using ports 10000-10007, if you don't want to see the message. Or you can ignore the message, as it's generally a don't care situation, as GPU decoding is normally used for Red. If you are not using Red files, it's a totally don't care message.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

ChristopherSeguine

  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 5:00 pm
  • Location: California

Re: 15b3 - Failed to initialize Red decoder

PostWed May 23, 2018 11:23 pm

Thanks Dwaine! It was the signiant client I had to install recently that was conflicting.
Primary: HP DL580G8 (4x E7-8895 - 60 cores, HT disabled), Decklink Extreme 12G, 2x 1080TI, Arcea 1883ix24
OS: Win 10 for Workstations 17134, nvidia 397.64
Primary source: Red 8k .r3d, Phantom .cine, secondary footage: ArriRaw, DJI X5 CDNG
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4133
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 15b3 - Failed to initialize Red decoder

PostWed May 23, 2018 11:56 pm

Yes, I have that client on my machine as well. I've just learned to ignore the error. :)
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Pat Inhofer

  • Posts: 81
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:33 am
  • Location: New York / New Jersey, USA

Re: 15b3 - Failed to initialize Red decoder

PostFri May 25, 2018 9:45 pm

Dwaine,

I've been troubleshooting for months trying to figure out what I installed that initiated this warning box. You nailed it. And since I rarely use the Signiant client, I've just uninstalled to get rid of that annoyance.

Thanks!
Patrick Inhofer, CSI
Colorist, Fini.tv | Trainer, TaoOfColor.com & MixingLight.com

Subscribe to the awesome, free, and (mostly) weekly Color Grading Newsletter! www.TaoOfColor.com/newsletter

Return to DaVinci Resolve 15 Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Shrinivas Ramani and 4 guests