Please make Fusion more user-friendly

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

julian_b

Please make Fusion more user-friendly

PostThu May 24, 2018 1:50 am

If Blackmagic wants to get more people switching from After Effects to Fusion, they seriously need to overhaul Fusion's UI and UX.
For AE users the node-based workflow alone is intimitating.
On top of that you get a UI that is very reliant on context menus in places you wouldn't expect them.
I've been using Fusion for a few years now, I read a big part of the manual, and I'm still finding out new stuff I should have known from the beginning.
And it is part of the job of a developer (or UI designer) to make the UI explorable and user-friendly.
There should be multiple ways to do an action not just the one way of right-clicking in a tiny little area on the screen to get that one feature. That's basic UI/UX knowledge.
Make features accessable via the main menu and not just via context menus.
Context menus and shortcuts are mainly used by power-users. New users will use the main menu. And Fusion doesn't have a lot of things in there.

Example 1:
And what about the fact, that you can actually create perfect circles and rectangles with the polyline tool?
As opposed to the "Ellipse" and "Rectangle" tools, you can actually edit the spline points of them!
I never knew that! And the only way to get there is to have a polyline in the viewer, right-click -> Polygon: Polyline -> Create -> Ellipse. At least add 2 buttons in the tool's controls to expose this feature.

Example 2:
I never knew I could mark in and out points when previewing loaders, using the transport control under the tool controls.
The in and out points can only be set via context menu, which is super inconvenient and bad design. There is even enough room for 2 more buttons.

Example 3:
What about the "sort" menu in the timeline editor?