Resolve 16 and GPU

  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

AndrewT

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:04 pm
  • Real Name: Andrew Theophilus

Resolve 16 and GPU

PostSat Apr 13, 2019 2:47 pm

Just something I have noticed, maybe others have as well. Resolve 16 isn't making use of my GPU. The result is poorer performance?? A bug or a problem with my system.

It was utilised correctly in 15.3.

Andrew
Intel Core i9-9900, Gigabyte z390 aorus pro, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 8GB, 32GB DDR4 2666mhz, Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus M.2., SSD SEAGATE BARRACUDA, Intensity Pro 4K.
Offline
User avatar

Andrew Welch

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 1:00 am

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostSat Apr 13, 2019 3:29 pm

Yeah, yesterday I notice that in Preferences, under "Memory and GPU", the "Use GPU For Computer" option is unchecked by default in Preferences but "Use GPU scopes" is checked...
Offline
User avatar

AndrewT

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:04 pm
  • Real Name: Andrew Theophilus

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostSat Apr 13, 2019 4:44 pm

Interesting. Did it work for you? I've got a tick box for the scopes and a drop down for the GPU. I've set it to auto and it seems to have selected CUDA. Still not performing as 15.3 did.
Intel Core i9-9900, Gigabyte z390 aorus pro, NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 8GB, 32GB DDR4 2666mhz, Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus M.2., SSD SEAGATE BARRACUDA, Intensity Pro 4K.
Offline
User avatar

Andrew Welch

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 1:00 am

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostSat Apr 13, 2019 6:00 pm

It's hard to tell, I only have access to Resolve on my MBP and it's GPU is fairly useless anyway (AMD R9 M370x 2GB).
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-04-13 at 11.25.03 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-04-13 at 11.25.03 AM.png (137.9 KiB) Viewed 6982 times
Offline

doctorvaughan

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2019 7:38 pm
  • Real Name: Mark Vaughan

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostSat Apr 13, 2019 7:42 pm

I am unable to start Resolve 16 beta. I receive a message implying that it can't find my CUDA GPU. I am running it on a laptop with the NVIDIA Quadro P2000.
second window.jpg
second window.jpg (45.22 KiB) Viewed 6895 times
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7173
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostSun Apr 14, 2019 4:17 pm

What NVIDIA and CUDA Driver is installed ?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

ryan_l_megan

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 6:05 pm
  • Real Name: ryan megan

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostSun Apr 14, 2019 6:09 pm

Same problem with 16.


What/where is the proper nvidia driver for 16?

GEFORCE GTX 1080
Driver version: 398.36
Cuda Cores: 2560
Offline

highspeedfilms

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2019 5:03 am
  • Real Name: Andrew Thibault

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostThu Sep 12, 2019 8:12 pm

I'm not seeing a "use display GPU for compute" option on Windows 10. Decoding 8-bit UHD H.264 is really taxing the CPU (75-100%), while GPU idles between 2-10%. Running NVIDIA Quadro 26.21.14.3102 dated 6/3/19. Set GPU processing mode to CUDA.
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 1022
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostFri Sep 13, 2019 1:40 pm

For the latest drivers go to the Nvidia website. They now offer the choice of a Gaming driver or a Studio driver for GTX cards. Choose the Studio one. http://www.nvidia.com
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, GTX 1060/6GB (441.66 Studio Driver), Win 10 Home-Build 18362, Resolve 16.1.2 (free), Dual Monitors.
Dell 490 Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX 650, Win 7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Pro Tools 2018.7
Offline
User avatar

robozb

  • Posts: 293
  • Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:48 am
  • Location: Hungary
  • Real Name: Roboz Bela Tamas

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostThu Oct 24, 2019 11:14 pm

R16.1 doesn't even start with the 431.86 nvidia studio driver :(

Win10 Pro 64bit version:1809, build: 17763.805 (on inner SSD)
Dell Inspiron 15-7577
32 GB Ram
4 GB VRam GeForce 1050 Ti (431.86 driver)
Intel HD630: 26.20.100.7323
Resolve Cache, Files on a 512GB SSD connected with USB-C
Resolve Version: 16.1
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 1022
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostFri Oct 25, 2019 3:56 pm

The CPU is used for decoding and encoding the video hence the loading. The GPU is used for colour and other manipulations. UHD h264 is pretty processor intensive.
Some things to try. De-select Use GPU scopes and also set the GPU Selection Mode to Manual. Also try disabling the Intel Graphics.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, GTX 1060/6GB (441.66 Studio Driver), Win 10 Home-Build 18362, Resolve 16.1.2 (free), Dual Monitors.
Dell 490 Workstation, 2 X 4 core Xeon , 16GB ECC RAM, GTX 650, Win 7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Pro Tools 2018.7
Offline

crazyub

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 6:20 am
  • Real Name: Alan Robledo

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostTue Dec 17, 2019 6:31 am

Hi everyone,

I am an absolute newbie that knows around 10% of what I am doing, so please, if I am talking nonsense, just point me in the right direction and I'll do the rest.

I believe I am having the same issue as stated above where DaVinci Resolve 16 is using only the CPU as opposed to my GPU when exporting video. CPU max at 100% and GPU stays blow 5-10%.
I am exporting a simple 720 P video. My machine has very low specs:

- i5-2320 @ 3.00 GHz
- 8 GB RAM
- GPU GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2 GB

Attached are images of the settings I have in Decode Options and Memory and GPU Settings.

Any ideas or thoughts are appreciated.
Attachments
WhatsApp Image 2019-12-16 at 20.01.06.jpeg
Decode Options
WhatsApp Image 2019-12-16 at 20.01.06.jpeg (25.14 KiB) Viewed 2606 times
WhatsApp Image 2019-12-16 at 19.59.41.jpeg
Memory and GPU settings
WhatsApp Image 2019-12-16 at 19.59.41.jpeg (42.7 KiB) Viewed 2606 times
Offline

Mario Kalogjera

  • Posts: 634
  • Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostMon Dec 23, 2019 11:50 pm

If you use the free version it is normal that you don't have access to GPU decode/encode. Even if you have the studio version, your GPU is too old and with too litle VRAM.

Sent from my GM 5 Plus d using Tapatalk
Asus Prime X370-Pro, Ryzen 1600X@4GHz, 32 GB G.Skill AEGIS DDR-4 3000MHz, Asrock RX 580 8GB, Adata A400 120 GB system SSD, A2000 500 GB scratch SSD, Media storage - "Always in motion is it", Windows 10 Pro+Resolve Studio 15.3+Fusion Studio 9.0.2
Offline

pdxwarrior

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 6:08 pm
  • Real Name: Scott Templar

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostMon Feb 10, 2020 6:46 pm

Hey Everyone,

I'm pretty new to video editing in general, let alone Davinci. I started playing around with version 15 and recently upgraded to 16. I've tried a few other programs too, and so far I am liking this one and the amount of knowledge/tutorials available on the internet.

However, I am having a problem with it crashing from time to time. It doesn't error out though, it just simply closes. Sometimes I'll get the blue circular cursor like it's "thinking/processing" and then it just exits.

I updated the video drivers and that seems to have helped, but it still happens. I usually notice this mostly when I am working within the fusion tab.

My computer specs aren't the highest and I'm sure resources have to do with this. I'm looking at upgrading the GPU as this will probably be the most effective step first. I also saw that SLI seems to not be recommended. Unfortunately, I haven't seen the "minimum" recommended video cards listed. Granted, I won't go with the cheapest, but I also don't want to drop a grand on a GPU. This is simply a hobby.

Current computer specs:
CPU: i5-6600K @ 3.5 GHz
RAM: 32 GB
OS: Windows 10 Pro / 64-Bit
GPU: GeForce GTX 670 2GB (Dual Cards, SLI)

I also see that Davinci appears to be using one GPU for the GUI and one for CUDA/Processing.
Memory/GPU Settings:
Video card 1 - GeForce GTX 670 - GUI Only
Video card 2 - GeForce GTX 670 - CUDA

When the program exits, I have watched the system performance. The GPUs never get taxed, usually staying 6% or less. The system memory and CPU are not taxed either. The CPU might hit 50%. So I am thinking GPU is the right step.

Any thoughts on the "range" of GPUs? I know newer, better, etc. But what would be the "bottom" line and the "top" line? What is the minimum CUDA cores? I'll be looking at a single GPU (no SLI), but I do run multiple monitors. Currently 2, but that could go to 3 in time.

Some things to consider:
I'm not doing 4K at the moment, but will probably be doing 2.7K and maybe some 4K.
This is just a "hobby" learning to play around.. make some YouTube videos to share with family and friends, etc.

Thanks in advance,

pdxwarrior
Offline

pdxwarrior

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 6:08 pm
  • Real Name: Scott Templar

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostTue Feb 11, 2020 6:01 pm

I saw that posts had to be approved and didn't know how long that would take. I kept digging and came across two more bits of information. One is the Davinci hardware guide. Again, doesn't really call out specifics and is for Resolve 15.

The second thing is another site that goes into detail as well. (sorry, cannot post URLs)

This site lists some "recommended" cards, or at least examples, at the bottom of the site. I went ahead and picked up an EVGA Nvidia GeForce RTX 2070 Super 8GB card and it will arrive today. I'll install either this evening or tomorrow and see how it performs. The GTX 1080 Ti is still a little better card according to some performance measures, but the 2070 Super seemed to be a bit better bang for the buck.

I see also there's a way to collect diagnostic logs. If the issue persists after this, I'll collect those logs. Where do you send them though? Is there a cost for such support?

Thanks,

pdxwarrior
Offline

pdxwarrior

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2020 6:08 pm
  • Real Name: Scott Templar

Re: Resolve 16 and GPU

PostSun Feb 23, 2020 7:32 pm

Experienced another instance of Resolve just "closing" unexpectedly. No errors, etc.
I generated diagnostic logs, but it doesn't really look like there's much info for todays event.

I checked Windows Event Viewer and opened the "report.wer" file on the system. It shows the following for the event today:

DaVinci Resolve

Description
Faulting Application Path: D:\DaVinci\Resolve.exe
Creation Time: 2/23/2020 11:07:25 AM
Problem: Stopped working
Status: Report sent

Problem signature
Problem Event Name: BEX64
Application Name: Resolve.exe
Application Version: 16.1.2.26
Application Timestamp: 5df3a260
Fault Module Name: MSVCR120.dll
Fault Module Version: 12.0.40649.5
Fault Module Timestamp: 56bc00d3
Exception Offset: 0000000000074a30
Exception Code: c0000409
Exception Data: 0000000000000007

Extra information about the problem
Bucket ID: 83a67e2917721dc7c6e3a9abccbc9143 (1649348443887145283)


I am using the RTX 2070 Super GPU and my other specs are listed above in this thread.
Doesn't look like the system will allow me to attach the logs to this.

Return to DaVinci Resolve Beta Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests