Still having GPU memory full error

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ravirai

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Ravi Rai

Still having GPU memory full error

PostMon May 27, 2019 2:01 am

I upgraded to the DaVinci Resolve Studio's update last Wednesday. I also upgraded my nVidia drivers to the latest one. Still keep seeing the "GPU memory full" error even with just 22 seconds of a 4k timeline. I have CUDA selected in GPU preferences.

Also, I am running a system with
Core i7 8700 CPU
GTX 1070 8GB VRAM
32 GB DDR4
Windows 10 x64

It's really frustrating and even the 4k playback wasn't that great and caused this to appear frequently. I had to then Generate Optimized media but overall, I still keep getting this annoying error.
Anyone know the permanent fix to this? I shouldn't have upgraded Resolve so soon.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7163
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostMon May 27, 2019 2:07 am

Please specify the version of the GPU driver you are using. Latest isn't guidance for us.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

ravirai

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Ravi Rai

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostMon May 27, 2019 2:30 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Please specify the version of the GPU driver you are using. Latest isn't guidance for us.


Sorry, my bad. Driver version 430.64 from NVidia. Thanks.
Offline

ravirai

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Ravi Rai

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostMon May 27, 2019 10:03 pm

Anyone have any solution to this? Or is it best for me to just revert to v15? Sorry, just bumping the post up at the same time too with this reply.
Offline

Gernot Grupe

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:59 pm
  • Location: Leipzig

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostTue May 28, 2019 11:04 am

ravirai wrote:Anyone have any solution to this? Or is it best for me to just revert to v15? Sorry, just bumping the post up at the same time too with this reply.


I have the same problem!
Do not waste your time! Install the version 15 parallel to the version 16! I hope you still have a database backup version 15!
Install version 15 in a separate directory, then import your database backup version 15.
Offline

ravirai

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Ravi Rai

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostTue May 28, 2019 9:11 pm

Gernot Grupe wrote:
ravirai wrote:Anyone have any solution to this? Or is it best for me to just revert to v15? Sorry, just bumping the post up at the same time too with this reply.


I have the same problem!
Do not waste your time! Install the version 15 parallel to the version 16! I hope you still have a database backup version 15!
Install version 15 in a separate directory, then import your database backup version 15.


Oh my goodness, it looks like this is going to be a lesson learned the hard way for me. I got no database backup.
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 673
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostWed May 29, 2019 11:11 am

See the other thread discussing the latest 430.86 U3 driver 'Studio' version (apparently 'Studio' - available for GeForce / Titan cards (not Quadro) - is customized to work better with applications such as Resolve 16 - they actually mention Resolve 16). Some users report improvements.

Others report that they do not see improvements. In my opinion, BMD has dropped the ball on this one. They haven't acknowledged (that I'm aware of) that a GPU memory issue exists, regardless of the culprit. Hopefully this will be resolved shortly as it makes beta testing difficult for those working with Fusion inside Resolve 16.
Resolve Studio 16.1.2 | Fusion Studio 16.1.1 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

ravirai

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Ravi Rai

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostWed May 29, 2019 4:43 pm

Steve Alexander wrote:See the other thread discussing the latest 430.86 U3 driver 'Studio' version (apparently 'Studio' - available for GeForce / Titan cards (not Quadro) - is customized to work better with applications such as Resolve 16 - they actually mention Resolve 16). Some users report improvements.

Others report that they do not see improvements. In my opinion, BMD has dropped the ball on this one. They haven't acknowledged (that I'm aware of) that a GPU memory issue exists, regardless of the culprit. Hopefully this will be resolved shortly as it makes beta testing difficult for those working with Fusion inside Resolve 16.


Thank you! I do see NVidia's page mentions Resolve 16. I will download these drivers and hope that it works for me. I do hope they acknowledge this GPU memory issue and fix it before Resolve comes out of Beta.
Offline

ravirai

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Ravi Rai

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostThu May 30, 2019 4:13 am

Just an update. For me, it did not work. The studio version upgrade of NVidia drivers. I still get the GPU memory full error. I think I am going to just wait till this is out of Beta. I've tried a lot of things suggested online. None seemed to have worked for me.
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 673
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostThu May 30, 2019 4:36 pm

Hi Ravi - what are you doing in Resolve when you get the GPU memory full error? Is it a complex timeline with Fusion effects? Is there any way someone else can try to reproduce your particular media, timeline resolution, effects, etc.?

I see it's a 22 second 4K timeline, but what else is going on there?
Resolve Studio 16.1.2 | Fusion Studio 16.1.1 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

ravirai

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Ravi Rai

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostThu May 30, 2019 8:19 pm

Steve Alexander wrote:Hi Ravi - what are you doing in Resolve when you get the GPU memory full error? Is it a complex timeline with Fusion effects? Is there any way someone else can try to reproduce your particular media, timeline resolution, effects, etc.?

I see it's a 22 second 4K timeline, but what else is going on there?


Hey Steve, there are two PNG images, more than 10,000 res. That is really it. I am trying to render this with a little animation and it happens. Even on another timeline where I had all 4k clips, about a minute and 20 seconds or so in runtime, it happens sometimes right when I go to colour page, or sometimes just when playing it on timeline. And I am running all of this from Samsung 860 EVO SSD.
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 673
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostFri May 31, 2019 1:41 pm

I had something similar with large images in Fusion (page). I'll have to find some large images to test.
Resolve Studio 16.1.2 | Fusion Studio 16.1.1 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Wandema

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 10:02 am
  • Real Name: Matthias Wandert

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostFri May 31, 2019 2:33 pm

Had constant GPU memory full errors. Switched to latest NVIDEA drivers 430.86 and nailed to CUDA and manual GPU selection (only one GTX 1080 TI) and errors are gone.
Observed while rendering a timeline heavy CPU load (80-100%) and very little GPU use (10-18%). :ugeek:
I thought this should be the other way around...?
Cheers
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 673
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostFri May 31, 2019 4:15 pm

OK - so I grabbed 4 5472x3648 JPG images from a DSLR and did the following:

1. New project
2. Imported the 4 images on the media page
3. Created a new 10 second Fusion Composition (29.97 fps)
4. Dragged the Fusion Composition to the timeline (default timeline was 1080p @ 24 fps)
5. Switch to the Fusion tab
6. Selected all 4 images and dragged them into the Fusion workarea
7. 4 Media In nodes were created (one for each image) and linked together with merge nodes
8. Selected the last in merge node in the change and pressed the 2 key to display its contents in the second viewer

BAM - GPU memory full message (peaking out at 8 GB for my P4000 card running the 430.86 drivers for Quadro - not the 'Studio' driver).

So this is interesting - scaling of large (certainly not huge) images consumes a huge amount of GPU memory....
Resolve Studio 16.1.2 | Fusion Studio 16.1.1 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 673
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostFri May 31, 2019 6:54 pm

Stripped this down to a single image in the Fusion composition - still got the GPU full error, after which - hang, crash...

edit - this is unusable. I need to reduce the size of the images to make this work.
Resolve Studio 16.1.2 | Fusion Studio 16.1.1 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

ravirai

  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 12:54 am
  • Real Name: Ravi Rai

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostFri May 31, 2019 10:51 pm

Steve Alexander wrote:Stripped this down to a single image in the Fusion composition - still got the GPU full error, after which - hang, crash...

edit - this is unusable. I need to reduce the size of the images to make this work.


Yes, that's unacceptable though. I mean, just an image of more than 4k equivalent res shouldn't bring it down to its knees.
Offline

GrantRobertson

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed May 29, 2019 4:46 pm
  • Location: Usually somewhere west of the Mississippi.
  • Real Name: Grant Robertson

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostThu Jun 06, 2019 4:26 am

Yup, I figured I would go straight to the DR 16 beta for my first installation. I was thinking that my laptop was just too underpowered for this program until I saw this thread. I uninstalled 16 beta and installed DR 15.3 and it works great. I'll just have to wait for that "Cut" page.
-----------------------
New to video editing and Davinci Resolve, but not new to software. I am a former network manager and former technical writer. I have been beating computers into submission since 1976.
Offline

Richard Berg

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:03 pm
  • Real Name: Richard Berg

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostThu Jun 06, 2019 3:54 pm

So this is interesting - scaling of large (certainly not huge) images consumes a huge amount of GPU memory....

This has been an issue since at least Resolve 13. I've long been in the habit of using Irfanview to resize images to my timeline resolution before importing. Which is a shame, because it limits Resolve's ability to zoom & pan w/o lost fidelity.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7163
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostSat Jun 08, 2019 3:27 am

Richard Berg wrote:
So this is interesting - scaling of large (certainly not huge) images consumes a huge amount of GPU memory....

This has been an issue since at least Resolve 13. I've long been in the habit of using Irfanview to resize images to my timeline resolution before importing. Which is a shame, because it limits Resolve's ability to zoom & pan w/o lost fidelity.


We have customers using 9k source images so it’s likely you system that’s the limit but without further info its hard to advise.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

jameshcox

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 9:31 am
  • Real Name: James Cox

Re: Still having GPU memory full error - except I'm not now

PostSat Jun 08, 2019 9:08 am

Hi.

Just in case this helps anyone else; I'm no longer seeing this problem.

I have a slightly different use-case to the one described here: I'm simply assembling video clips in a 4k timeline with colour correction and some power windows with tracking. Until now I was regularly getting GPU memory full errors though.

I changed to:
  • Resolve 16 Beta 4
  • Nvidia studio driver 430.86
I've not had a GPU memory full error since that change.

Computer is a DELL XPS 15, 16gb, Intel Core i7, with a built-in GTX 1050 GPU.
Best regards
James
Offline

Duke Sweden

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:57 pm
  • Real Name: Duke Sweden

Re: Still having GPU memory full error - except I'm not now

PostSat Jun 08, 2019 9:42 am

jameshcox wrote:Hi.

Just in case this helps anyone else; I'm no longer seeing this problem.

I have a slightly different use-case to the one described here: I'm simply assembling video clips in a 4k timeline with colour correction and some power windows with tracking. Until now I was regularly getting GPU memory full errors though.

I changed to:
  • Resolve 16 Beta 4
  • Nvidia studio driver 430.86
I've not had a GPU memory full error since that change.

Computer is a DELL XPS 15, 16gb, Intel Core i7, with a built-in GTX 1050 GPU.

Same here! Your post could have been written by me except for my GPU being a 1050ti. Just did one of my admittedly small projects from start to finish with no GPU Memory Full errors. In fact have not had any errors at all, even adjustment layer worked great whereas before it would freak out my source monitor and then crash. Running like a finished product right now.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2973
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostSat Jun 08, 2019 10:23 am

ravirai wrote:I upgraded to the DaVinci Resolve Studio's update last Wednesday. I also upgraded my nVidia drivers to the latest one. Still keep seeing the "GPU memory full" error even with just 22 seconds of a 4k timeline. I have CUDA selected in GPU preferences.

Also, I am running a system with
Core i7 8700 CPU
GTX 1070 8GB VRAM
32 GB DDR4
Windows 10 x64

It's really frustrating and even the 4k playback wasn't that great and caused this to appear frequently. I had to then Generate Optimized media but overall, I still keep getting this annoying error.
Anyone know the permanent fix to this? I shouldn't have upgraded Resolve so soon.


Hello,

If it does not work with images of 10 000px with gtx 1070 8Gb VRAM there must be an issue with the drivers or PC configuration, sorry.

Davinci Resolve Beta 4 is capable of processing images of over 7680 x 4320 px => 33 177 600 px in color tab or fusion + blur ...in a 8K TL

Color_33177600px.jpg

Fusion_33177600px.jpg


(thanks for seeing the "Memory Used")
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Win10-1809 | Resolve Studio V16.1 | Fusion Studio V16.1 | Decklink 4K Extreme 6G | RTX 2080Ti 431.86 NSD driver! |
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 673
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostSat Jun 08, 2019 11:03 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:
Richard Berg wrote:
So this is interesting - scaling of large (certainly not huge) images consumes a huge amount of GPU memory....

This has been an issue since at least Resolve 13. I've long been in the habit of using Irfanview to resize images to my timeline resolution before importing. Which is a shame, because it limits Resolve's ability to zoom & pan w/o lost fidelity.


We have customers using 9k source images so it’s likely you system that’s the limit but without further info its hard to advise.


Hi Peter -

I noticed the massive consumption of GPU memory by placing a single 5600 X 3800 (approx) JPG image in a 10 sec Fusion comp - project timeline was 1080p24. I merged the JPG with a background node and then played the result to cache on the fusion page. I watched the GPU memory rise to close to the 8 GB available. I then switched back to the edit page and the fusion comp began to render and that's when the GPU memory full message appeared. This can't be right.

Since that original post I have upgraded to the studio driver 430.86 (on Resolve beta 3) and there was an improvement - no GPU full messages but several crashes). Since then two things have changed on my system. I'm now running Windows 10 Pro 1903 and Resolve 16 beta 4. Have not yet seen a GPU memory full message and no crashes.

So it appears that somewhere between bugs in the drivers and bugs in Resolve 16, there have been complimentary improvements. More testing to do and evidently not everyone is enjoying the same success.
Resolve Studio 16.1.2 | Fusion Studio 16.1.1 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external
Offline

Duke Sweden

  • Posts: 151
  • Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:57 pm
  • Real Name: Duke Sweden

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostSat Jun 08, 2019 11:26 am

Jean Claude wrote:
ravirai wrote:I upgraded to the DaVinci Resolve Studio's update last Wednesday. I also upgraded my nVidia drivers to the latest one. Still keep seeing the "GPU memory full" error even with just 22 seconds of a 4k timeline. I have CUDA selected in GPU preferences.

Also, I am running a system with
Core i7 8700 CPU
GTX 1070 8GB VRAM
32 GB DDR4
Windows 10 x64

It's really frustrating and even the 4k playback wasn't that great and caused this to appear frequently. I had to then Generate Optimized media but overall, I still keep getting this annoying error.
Anyone know the permanent fix to this? I shouldn't have upgraded Resolve so soon.


Hello,

If it does not work with images of 10 000px with gtx 1070 8Gb VRAM there must be an issue with the drivers or PC configuration, sorry.

Davinci Resolve Beta 4 is capable of processing images of over 7680 x 4320 px => 33 177 600 px in color tab or fusion + blur ...in a 8K TL


His original post was put up on May 28th, before beta 4 was released.
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 673
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Still having GPU memory full error

PostSat Jun 08, 2019 12:10 pm

So as I continue to play with Resolve 16 (now beta 4) I can repeatedly get it to fail with a GPU-related error (usually error 79 as reported by a dialog box) - sometimes it just hangs and I need to force close.

Here are the steps if BMD is interested.

Bring in several JPG images and then composite them together (see attached image). As you add more of these together (you can see I have 3 images) but if I add a fourth and then comp with a mask, Resolve runs into a problem.

Notice that the image size (all the same) are not all that large. The project timeline that these sit on is 1080p.

Even with the comp below, if you play the comp on the Fusion page, I get a GPU error. I have the 430.86 Studio drivers installed.

resolve_large_image_fusion_comp.png
resolve_large_image_fusion_comp.png (960.63 KiB) Viewed 1120 times
Resolve Studio 16.1.2 | Fusion Studio 16.1.1 | Win 10 Pro (1909) | i9-7940x, P4000 (441.66, 8GB VRAM), 64GB RAM, M.2 boot, SSD scratch, RAID10 data | (laptop) i7-6600, M1000M (2GB VRAM), 32GB RAM, SSD OS, M.2 scratch, T3 external

Return to DaVinci Resolve Beta Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests