how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Blammar

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:06 pm
  • Real Name: Walt Donovan

how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostMon Jul 15, 2019 8:18 pm

I am a brand new user of Resolve. I just installed the free version of DVR16 beta.

I have zero experience with any video editing software, though I am very computer literate.

I have pulled together four clips from one of my family VHS tapes. The clips are about 25 minutes each. I figured out how to put them all into one timeline, each clip following the previous.

What I now want to do is remove adjacent frames from each clip. Say, there'll be about 200 sequential frames in the middle of one clip that's no good. I want to snip them out.

For the life of me, I cannot figure out how to select these frames and remove them.

Using shift-[ and shift-] can select frames but the part to the left of [ and the right of ] disappear from the timeline as soon as I press these values. So I don't think that's what I want to happen.

I do need a step by step like I was five years old description of what to do. Thanks in advance.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 3083
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostTue Jul 16, 2019 1:43 pm

Blammar wrote:I figured out...


I always recommend against that for software of Resolve's complexity.

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... e/training
Offline

Blammar

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:06 pm
  • Real Name: Walt Donovan

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostTue Jul 16, 2019 9:38 pm

Two minor issues with using the existing training:

1. It's for DVR15, not DVR16. (And it seemed better for me to learn how to use Cut from the start, rather than get bogged down with the "obsolete" Edit approach.)

2. I'm hard of hearing, and the training videos aren't captioned. They do look good, but I am unable to follow the discussion.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1369
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostTue Jul 16, 2019 11:41 pm

Blammar wrote:Two minor issues with using the existing training:

1. It's for DVR15, not DVR16. (And it seemed better for me to learn how to use Cut from the start, rather than get bogged down with the "obsolete" Edit approach.)

2. I'm hard of hearing, and the training videos aren't captioned. They do look good, but I am unable to follow the discussion.


Use the edit page. It is not obsolete. There is no DVR16 training as it's still a beta release.

Mark in "I" key. Mark Out "O" key. Backspace to lift out of timeline, shift backspace to delete and close the gap.

If you don't know how to edit you REALLY NEED to do some training or go online and do a lot of research. Forums are generally not film school.
Resolve 15.3 & 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 32gb
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 631
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostWed Jul 17, 2019 7:25 am

Blammar, the Blackmagic videos, and many others, are captioned. Just click the CC button at the bottom of the video.
As to Resolve versions it doesn't matter. You need to get a grasp of first principles of editing and the training videos will help.
Dell XPS 8700 Core i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, GTX 1060 6GB (430.86 Studio), Win 10 Home, Resolve 16.1b1 (free), 2x Monitors, Canon HF G40.
Dell Precision 490 2 X 4 core Xeon Workstation, 16GB ECC RAM, GTX 650, Win 7 Ultimate, Digi 002R, Pro Tools 2018.7
Offline
User avatar

Roen Davis

  • Posts: 344
  • Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:06 am
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostWed Jul 17, 2019 10:28 am

Is there a forum for surgery?
I just got a scalpel and thought that I could operate on my son's foot.
A step-by-step guide would suit me best....
the first bit was ok but I cant work out for the life of me how to stop the blood getting everywhere...





....sorry - long day. Couldn't help myself.
The manual for V15 will give everything you need to edit.
Once you have learned where the buttons are and what they do the V16 manual will be out.
to the deaf person the dancer appears mad
Offline

Mark Grgurev

  • Posts: 252
  • Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:22 am

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostSun Jul 21, 2019 5:23 pm

Blammar wrote:And it seemed better for me to learn how to use Cut from the start, rather than get bogged down with the "obsolete" Edit approach.)


Just one of the many problems with the Cut page being a thing.
Offline

Blammar

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:06 pm
  • Real Name: Walt Donovan

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostSun Jul 21, 2019 7:30 pm

Charles Bennett wrote:Blammar, the Blackmagic videos, and many others, are captioned. Just click the CC button at the bottom of the video.


The ones downloadable from the Blackmagic training pages are uncaptioned .mp4 files, so I didn't think to look for them on youtube, where they turn out to be captioned. Thanks, I'll start on these today.

Roen Davis wrote:Is there a forum for surgery?
I just got a scalpel and thought that I could operate on my son's foot.
A step-by-step guide would suit me best....
the first bit was ok but I cant work out for the life of me how to stop the blood getting everywhere...

:D :D :D

Well, in faint justification for my initial request, my mental model is that a video is just a sequence of frames. Just like a text editor, I thought it would be easy to locate frames, snip them out, etc. and that functionality would be easy and clear to find in a video editor.

And in regards to learning Cut without learning Edit, I suppose I just wanted to "stand on the shoulders of giants." We don't bother to learn how to knapp flint anymore do we, but just whet our steel knives on the sharpener.
Offline

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostSun Jul 21, 2019 8:39 pm

Mark Grgurev wrote:Just one of the many problems with the Cut page being a thing.


whoever sees problems here has not understood the cut page
MacPro 5.1 2x3,46GHz 96GB
SSD7101A-1
RocketU 1344A
radeon VII
BMD extreme 4k
2 x apple 27"
MacPro 5.1 2x3,46GHz 96GB
angelbird PX1
RocketU 1344A
RX 580
LG27UD88
MBP 15" 2017 3.1GHz i7 16GB/2TB
MBP 15" 2014 2.8GHz i7 16GB/1TB
macOS 10.14.6
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1369
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostMon Jul 22, 2019 4:10 am

Blammar wrote:
Charles Bennett wrote:Blammar, the Blackmagic videos, and many others, are captioned. Just click the CC button at the bottom of the video.


The ones downloadable from the Blackmagic training pages are uncaptioned .mp4 files, so I didn't think to look for them on youtube, where they turn out to be captioned. Thanks, I'll start on these today.

Roen Davis wrote:Is there a forum for surgery?
I just got a scalpel and thought that I could operate on my son's foot.
A step-by-step guide would suit me best....
the first bit was ok but I cant work out for the life of me how to stop the blood getting everywhere...

:D :D :D

Well, in faint justification for my initial request, my mental model is that a video is just a sequence of frames. Just like a text editor, I thought it would be easy to locate frames, snip them out, etc. and that functionality would be easy and clear to find in a video editor.

And in regards to learning Cut without learning Edit, I suppose I just wanted to "stand on the shoulders of giants." We don't bother to learn how to knapp flint anymore do we, but just whet our steel knives on the sharpener.


My earlier post tells how to do it in the edit page. Those instructions also work for the Cut page. Did you miss my post?
Resolve 15.3 & 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 32gb
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Blammar

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:06 pm
  • Real Name: Walt Donovan

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostMon Jul 22, 2019 4:32 am

Peter Cave wrote:My earlier post tells how to do it in the edit page. Those instructions also work for the Cut page. Did you miss my post?


No, I saw them. Thanks for the info, and I'm sorry for not thanking you earlier. I kind of got it to work, and then, metaphorically, the blood started spurting.

So it's clear to me I really should spend the time up front to "learn the alphabet" before "writing the novel." The captioned youtube videos work a lot better for me; thanks to whoever posted them.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4767
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: how can I use DVR16 Cut to remove individual frames?

PostMon Jul 22, 2019 5:02 am

Check if the Rippletraining tutorials got captions, they already have one for the Cut page.
That said, Cut doesn’t replace Edit (nor is it more advanced). It just offers a different working style.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM

Return to DaVinci Resolve Beta Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests