Page 1 of 1

DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:21 am
by quaddy
Hello guys!~
I need some help regarding with the video playback with the resolve 16.
There's no playback, just a black screen.
Is there any configuration that i should change?

Here's some screenshots:
p1.PNG
p1.PNG (42.46 KiB) Viewed 952 times

p2.PNG
p2.PNG (99.17 KiB) Viewed 952 times


And my GPU Info:
p3.PNG
p3.PNG (19.79 KiB) Viewed 952 times


My processor is also AMD (Ryzen 5 2400G).
Thanks in advance~

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:35 am
by Peter Chamberlain
We will more info. Please review
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 11:02 am
by quaddy
Sorry for the delay. Here:

DaVinci Resolve 16 Beta version: 16.0.0.044
----

Operating System------
Edition: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Version: 1903
OS build: 18362.175

p4.PNG
p4.PNG (23.7 KiB) Viewed 926 times

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 1:57 pm
by Udanan
I'll add my voice to this as I'm getting this same problem with my Media clips preview.

Annotation 2019-07-16 211105.png
Bugged out clip preview
Annotation 2019-07-16 211105.png (215.65 KiB) Viewed 925 times


Here are my DxDiag.txt and System.nfo.
SystemInfo.zip
System Info
(135.14 KiB) Downloaded 28 times

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:37 pm
by quaddy
Seems like you're using AMD too. Is there problem with AMD gpus and processors?

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:46 am
by Shrinivas Ramani
Please provide a link to diagnostic logs - viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190

It's not entirely clear which codecs you're using - but could you try unchecking the "Use GPU for Blackmagic RAW" and "Decode h.264/h.265 acceleration" in Preferences under System/Decode Options?

If it works without GPU accelerated decode, please check it back again to see if it works now.

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:13 am
by quaddy
Here, I already unchecked all of them still didn't work. But i can't find the "Decode h.264/h.265 acceleration".

p5.PNG
p5.PNG (8.68 KiB) Viewed 892 times


DaVinci-Resolve-logs-072019_110350.zip
(59.03 KiB) Downloaded 17 times

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:42 am
by Shrinivas Ramani
David

It looks like your graphics drivers are not up to date. Could you try cleanly uninstalling and reinstalling your graphics driver? The AMD forums have mutiple posts like https://community.amd.com/thread/180667 that you can look up on how to do this.

Regards
Shrinivas

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 8:03 am
by quaddy
Thanks for your reply.
So i followed the instruction. Installed a new version of the drivers which is the Adrenalin 2019 Edition 19.7.2.

It is still not working
Here's the screenshot of the software:
p6.PNG
p6.PNG (132.13 KiB) Viewed 866 times

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 2:28 pm
by AD2408
I wish Blackmagic Design would issue any kind of statement regarding this issue. There are lots of threads about this problem. Somewhere along the last Beta releases, some part of software broke the playback when using an AMD Polaris GPU. Sometimes an older driver installation can bring back playback and thumbnails but restarting Resolve 16 a few times will make the software completely unusable. Enabling and disabling hardware accel changes nothing.
The strange thing about it is: once the issue suddenly occurs, you'll have no immediate way to bring it back reliably. No clean driver installation or reinstall will fix it at the moment. Some in the other threads have even reinstalled Windows without success. Only immediate fix is to get another GPU apparently, or try and export the timeline so you could import it back to V15 which works on the same system without any issues.
I'm in correspondence with the Radeon team in order to identify this issue, I sincerely hope BM is doing the same.

Same problem, all with RX 400/500 GPUs:
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=92949
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=89545

AMD Resolve 16 Playback Error - also on Navi (RX 5700)

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:41 am
by Photarium
Hey everyone,

I bought an Radeon RX 5700 XT (Navi 10) GPU yesterday and tried it later.
Received similar playback issues as discribed for Polaris GPU with Resolve 16 B6 Studio.
Strangely the error developed.
First: Scrambled thumbnails at media pool and thumbed time line with no playback.
Second: Like 30 min later. Still scrambled thumbnails. Playback of XAVC-S 4K footage but still scrambled at some stages. Only scrambled playback of H.265 10 Bit Footage, but correct frame display when pausing playback.
Third: After switching to another configuration of the same installation. XAVC-S 4K Thumbnails display clean image and can be scrubbed and played back. H.265 footage with clean thumbnails but still scrambled at playback.
Up to then and now again I'm using my NVIDIA GTX 1070 - with no problems at all.

Looks like a driver issue of AMD.
OpenCL - which the AMD GPU using for render works fine with NVIDIA. On my system.

Re: AMD Resolve 16 Playback Error - also on Navi (RX 5700)

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 10:14 am
by AD2408
Photarium wrote:Hey everyone,

I bought an Radeon RX 5700 XT (Navi 10) GPU yesterday and tried it later.
Received similar playback issues as discribed for Polaris GPU with Resolve 16 B6 Studio.
Strangely the error developed.
First: Scrambled thumbnails at media pool and thumbed time line with no playback.
Second: Like 30 min later. Still scrambled thumbnails. Playback of XAVC-S 4K footage but still scrambled at some stages. Only scrambled playback of H.265 10 Bit Footage, but correct frame display when pausing playback.
Third: After switching to another configuration of the same installation. XAVC-S 4K Thumbnails display clean image and can be scrubbed and played back. H.265 footage with clean thumbnails but still scrambled at playback.
Up to then and now again I'm using my NVIDIA GTX 1070 - with no problems at all.

Looks like a driver issue of AMD.
OpenCL - which the AMD GPU using for render works fine with NVIDIA. On my system.


Interesting, so far I could only see Polaris reports (no Vega) with this specific issue but Navi was launched after the issue came up. Older architectures could be problematic aswell but I guess the sample size is too small in that regard. I'm unsure whether it's a 100% driver issue, because even with 1.5 year old drivers the exact same problem occurs. Sometimes a fresh driver install (newer or older) will bring Resolve 16 back to life for a few restarts until it breaks again. Strangely Resolve 15 is unaffected and has worked perfectly (at least for my projects). So it must have to do with some component that was introduced in Resolve 16.

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 9:44 pm
by Photarium
Just dropped an Issue statement at the AMD Homepage with a Link to this Thread. Hope they will follow and check. Especially as the driver I was using is still BETA!!! (found out some minutes ago).
If they do not engage the problem within the next week or until the next driver update (which I would expect within next week) I will bring the card back. But I would love to use it.

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 5:04 am
by Rohit Singhal
quaddy wrote:Thanks for your reply.
So i followed the instruction. Installed a new version of the drivers which is the Adrenalin 2019 Edition 19.7.2.

It is still not working
Here's the screenshot of the software:
p6.PNG


David, as a test, can you please try to decode these H264 clips on your machine on the 'Windows Media Player' and see if it works for you?

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:03 pm
by Photarium
Rohit Singhal wrote:
quaddy wrote:Thanks for your reply.
So i followed the instruction. Installed a new version of the drivers which is the Adrenalin 2019 Edition 19.7.2.

It is still not working
Here's the screenshot of the software:
p6.PNG


David, as a test, can you please try to decode these H264 clips on your machine on the 'Windows Media Player' and see if it works for you?


Despite not being David, I can tell that H264 and H265 playback works fine for me in VLC Media Player.

DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error - Final Notes on 5700 X

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:22 pm
by Photarium
As a closing notice to my posts in this thread I want to add that I just tested the RX 5700 XT with the new DaVinci Resolve 16 Beta 7. No real change.
For a start, H.264 and H.265 played back flawless in Windows 10 Movie Player.
In Resolve 16, in Beta 6 and 7 it first takes ages (compared to NVidia) that stills in thumbnails and timeline are showing up after start.
However stills, scrubbing and playback of H.264 work well (tested with same 4K XAVC-S content of my Sony Alpha 6400).
H.265 content is only shown correctly in playback window when playback is paused. Thumbs and scrubbing produces horizontal somehow interlaced or scrambled looking image.
Neither deactivating all hardware accelaration in Resolve's preferences changes that. (I really wanted to check the config files, but I don't no where they are located on my harddrive).
Export on delivery page ran into an error. With Beta 6 or 7.

On the other side playing back makes the high performance of the new Navi architecture very visible as there is no framerate drop (4K 24 fps) even with a simple fusion title added. I think this card together with a Ryzen based systems will finally give hobby movie makers like me the tools for 4K HDR for a reasonable price.

I would have really loved to keep the card but I returned it an hour ago.
I hope my description helps. And I hope the problem is "resolved" soon.

Systems specs:
Core i5 8400
ASRock Z370M Pro
32 GB DDR4 2666 MHz
Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT (Driver: Adrenalin 19.7.2)
Samsung 960 Pro SSD as Start disk
Sandisk 480 GB SSD Video Disk

P.S.: Everything works perfect with my NVIDIA 1070 GTX.

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:26 pm
by Antonius138
Whew, thought it was something with my new machine...I too am having the same playback issue.

I am current on all of my firmware/drivers and was able to get playback when rolling back to 15.3

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
MB: ASROCK B450
GPU: RX580 8GB

Curious to see when this will be fixed.

Anthony

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 5:43 pm
by Antonius138
Hey everyone,

Just checking to see if anyone has any updates on this issue? I haven't checked if there is a new beta that has resolved this issue or not. I am still on 15.3.x until it is fixed.

Anthony

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:46 am
by Antonius138
Well good news, I just installed 16.1 Beta 17 over the top of my working 15.3 and 16.1 is now working with no playback issues on my machine! Go check out your machines with this latest build.

Anthony

Re: DaVinci Resolve 16 No Playback error

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 8:50 am
by Shrinivas Ramani
If you still face this issue, please refer to this: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=90190#24 and post links to your log archive, DxDiag and NFO files.