Keep Frame format going from Edit Page to Fusion Page?

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

David Cherniack

  • Posts: 380
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:01 pm

Keep Frame format going from Edit Page to Fusion Page?

PostWed Jul 17, 2019 8:37 pm

I have a 4086X1716 timeline. If I drop a large still on it and go to the Fusion page I see the entire large still in the Viewer, not the 4096X1716 window. Is there a setting in Fusion to change this? I can't find one.

TIA
David
David
Resolve Studio 16 latest build
Windows 10 Pro
Decklink Mini Monitor 4k Desktop Video
Intel i9 7960x @ 4.3GHz
Thermaltake Floe Riing 360 Water Cooler
Asus x299 Prime Deluxe
64GB 3333 Corsair Dominator ram
2 EVGA 1080ti Cards
Areca Thunderbolt 3 Raid
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6422
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Keep Frame format going from Edit Page to Fusion Page?

PostThu Jul 18, 2019 4:33 am

Make a compound clip of the item in the edit page.
Otherwise, fusion always takes the source clip direct from the Media Pool
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

David Cherniack

  • Posts: 380
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:01 pm

Re: Keep Frame format going from Edit Page to Fusion Page?

PostThu Jul 18, 2019 1:37 pm

Thanks, Peter. I should have mentioned that I needed to pan and resize the still once in the Fusion page to allow the fine control of Fusions spline editor for animated positioning. The compound clip method doesn't appear to allow that, in effect cropping the still to the frame.

As there doesn't seem to be a setting in Fusion to do what I want, the solution I found was to drop a letterbox node set to my frame size and then a transform node to do the keyframing.
David
Resolve Studio 16 latest build
Windows 10 Pro
Decklink Mini Monitor 4k Desktop Video
Intel i9 7960x @ 4.3GHz
Thermaltake Floe Riing 360 Water Cooler
Asus x299 Prime Deluxe
64GB 3333 Corsair Dominator ram
2 EVGA 1080ti Cards
Areca Thunderbolt 3 Raid
Offline

DigiKin

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 3:38 am
  • Real Name: Nick Roers

Re: Keep Frame format going from Edit Page to Fusion Page?

PostSun Jul 21, 2019 6:37 pm

If you add a background node in your fusion comp, make it the same size as your timeline, merge it with your still, and make sure the background node is the background of the merge your resolution should match timeline. Then you can use the merge node for your position animation. Still might be a work around but it's another option I like to use.
Resolve Studio 16(Current) | Windows 10 | Nvidia GTX 970 | i7-4770, 32GB RAM
Offline

David Cherniack

  • Posts: 380
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:01 pm

Re: Keep Frame format going from Edit Page to Fusion Page?

PostSun Jul 21, 2019 7:16 pm

DigiKin wrote:If you add a background node in your fusion comp, make it the same size as your timeline, merge it with your still, and make sure the background node is the background of the merge your resolution should match timeline. Then you can use the merge node for your position animation. Still might be a work around but it's another option I like to use.



Yeah, thanks. I did discover that after I wrote the above. It would be helpful if it's done automatically with frame sizes larger than thee timeline size.
David
Resolve Studio 16 latest build
Windows 10 Pro
Decklink Mini Monitor 4k Desktop Video
Intel i9 7960x @ 4.3GHz
Thermaltake Floe Riing 360 Water Cooler
Asus x299 Prime Deluxe
64GB 3333 Corsair Dominator ram
2 EVGA 1080ti Cards
Areca Thunderbolt 3 Raid

Return to DaVinci Resolve Beta Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kye Leslie and 7 guests