real proxy / replace clips to remember the in/out

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

smarlie

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 1:55 pm
  • Real Name: smarlie chen

real proxy / replace clips to remember the in/out

PostSat Jan 11, 2020 1:26 am

I know there are proxy/resolution settings but want to request the ability to use real proxy fils, because sometimes I only get access to the original resolution files a lot later (for the final render), it's very essential to be able to edit with the actual low-res proxy files first. I tried to replace original clips with small proxies in timeline but DaVinci Resolve doesn't remember the editing in/out point, even they are exactly the same length ,where Premiere has no problem. The purpose of proxy is not only for smoother editing for hi-res files, but also for switching between online/offline editing. I'd hope to be able to do the editing and color both in DaVinci Resolve. Thank you.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7154
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: real proxy / replace clips to remember the in/out

PostMon Jan 13, 2020 3:20 am

Resolve already does this so there is likely an operational issue. Please review the chapters in the manual referring to this operation.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Mel Matsuoka

  • Posts: 424
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:54 am
  • Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: real proxy / replace clips to remember the in/out

PostMon Jan 13, 2020 6:36 pm

I work with externally generated proxies in Resolve all the time, and do not have the issues you're mentioning.

How exactly are you "replacing" the timeline clips with the proxy files? And do the timecodes of your proxies match the timecodes on the originals?
Resolve Studio 16.1.1.005 / Decklink 4K Extreme (11.4.1) / MacPro5,1 (macOS 10.13.6, 3.46 Ghz 12-core) / 96GB RAM / Boot: 500GB SSD / GUI: GTX 780 (6GB) / COMPUTE: GTX 1080ti SC (11GB), in Cyclone 2707 PCIe chassis / ATTO NT11 10Gb / SNS EVO NAS (10GbE)
Offline

twainrichardson

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:19 pm
  • Real Name: Twain Richardson

Re: real proxy / replace clips to remember the in/out

PostThu Jan 23, 2020 6:06 pm

smarlie wrote:I know there are proxy/resolution settings but want to request the ability to use real proxy fils, because sometimes I only get access to the original resolution files a lot later (for the final render), it's very essential to be able to edit with the actual low-res proxy files first. I tried to replace original clips with small proxies in timeline but DaVinci Resolve doesn't remember the editing in/out point, even they are exactly the same length ,where Premiere has no problem. The purpose of proxy is not only for smoother editing for hi-res files, but also for switching between online/offline editing. I'd hope to be able to do the editing and color both in DaVinci Resolve. Thank you.


Resolve does have this.

A workflow that I use is to edit with the Proxy files, when I'm ready to relink to the HiRes files, this is what I do.

1. I select all the clips in my timeline
2. right click on a clip and select Conform Lock Enabled (this allows you to connect the clip to HiRes)
3. Go to File->Reconform From Bins (this option is for if you brought the HiRes media into Resolve if not then choose Reconform From Media Storage)
4. A pop will open, under Attempt To Reconform choose Selected Clipsand for Choose Conform Bins select the bin with the HiRes media
5. Select Ok, Resolve will connect to the HiRes clips

Return to DaVinci Resolve Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tadhgosullivan and 5 guests