Page 1 of 1

ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 12:41 pm
by Zhekator
Our school bought ATEM Television Studio HD. As well as 3 hdmi cameras. We also have a Dell Inspiron 5570 laptop. The cameras are connected to the device, everything is perfectly visible, the computer is connected via a local network and can control the device.
Suddenly it turns out that this is not enough to make an online video stream. What do you recommend? What do you need to buy so that we have an online broadcast? But please do not offer to buy an Apple laptop.
Thank you in advance for the good answers.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 1:30 pm
by Roman Pytkin Pekarek
U need H264 encoder .. I like Teradek Cube and Vidiu devices for this ..

https://www.teradek.com/collections/vidiu-go-family

Or U can do it with software ..
But U need any input card for this noteebook .. Fox Example BMD Intensity :

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/intensity

And free software OBS Studio:

https://obsproject.com/

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:06 pm
by Zhekator
Thank you for answer!
ATS HD delivers a picture in SDI format.
BMD Intensity does not work with SDI source. So it is written in the description of device.
What about UltraStudio Mini Recorder? Only, it outputs a signal to Thunderbolt.
Can I use adapter like this
"Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt 2 Adapter" (Oh, I can’t upload links. Google it please)
... to connect it to the USB-C port of the laptop? It has a USB-C port.
Connection Chain:
Cameras are cabled to ATS HD and hang on racks. There are no questions. Everything is working.
From the ATS HD "Program" SDI connector to the UltraStudio Mini Recorder. From there through the Thunderbolt cable to the adapter. Adapter to USB-C.
Will this work?
I hope you understand me. English is not my native language.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:39 pm
by Frank Engel
Zhekator wrote:Can I use adapter like this
"Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt 2 Adapter" (Oh, I can’t upload links. Google it please)
... to connect it to the USB-C port of the laptop? It has a USB-C port.


USB-C is not thunderbolt, so unless that happens to be a Thunderbolt 3 port (which can double as a USB port) the adapter will not work.

The Intensity Shuttle has an HDMI input, so you might consider adding an SDI to HDMI converter to the mix...

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:45 pm
by Roman Pytkin Pekarek
Zhekator wrote:BMD Intensity does not work with SDI source. So it is written in the description of device.

Yes .. U need small microconverter SDI to HDMI ..
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... converters

Zhekator wrote:What about UltraStudio Mini Recorder? Only, it outputs a signal to Thunderbolt.


U need Thunderbolt on notebook .. This is for MACs ..

Zhekator wrote:Connection Chain:
Cameras are cabled to ATS HD and hang on racks. There are no questions. Everything is working.
From the ATS HD "Program" SDI connector to the UltraStudio Mini Recorder. From there through the Thunderbolt cable to the adapter. Adapter to USB-C.
Will this work?

No this will not work .. U need converter SDI->HDMI .. and use Intensity ..

BUT :

You have not any recorder in your chain ! How do want to record output from your ATEM ?? U do not need master record of your program ?

I think , U need any recored .. And most recorders can record from SDI and have HDMI out , so it can be used as converter while recording output .. U can use

Hyperdeck Studio MINI:
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... studiomini

or Video Assist :
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... ideoassist

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:14 pm
by robertsmu
Why make it hard on yourself? Just connect the output of your switcher to a Magewell USB capture device, and stream using OBS. Simple.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 9:44 pm
by Andrew Martin
robertsmu wrote:Why make it hard on yourself? Just connect the output of your switcher to a Magewell USB capture device, and stream using OBS. Simple.
Because then they're going to be limited to the performance of the PC/ laptop. Pushing 1080 p into a poorly performing PC due to its crappy processor speeds, graphics abilities, mediocre memory, multi tasking, trying to do all things at once nature of a pc...
Buy a dedicated hardware encoder as suggested at the top of the thread.

If you need to make use of the PC for something other than controlling the switcher, use OBS or the free version of vmix as a feed into the Atem to produce greenscreen titles or something suchlike.


From my mobile using Tapatalk

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 8:46 pm
by robertsmu
Hmmn. I have used a NUC PC and OBS to stream for some really big clients (can't name them, but they are industry leaders in tech and streaming and social media and gaming). 1080p streams. No dropped frames, no encoding errors.

My last project was a four day stream, 10 hours per day. Forty hours and zero dropped frames, and only 7 frames not rendered. Out of over 4 million frames!

We have used OBS to save the show when the dedicated encoders clients have provided as the "primary" streamers (Pearls and Wowzas and Elementals) have failed miserably.

The only thing that has really ever limited us has been the speed and the capacity of the internet connection provided to us from the venue.

As long as you have a decent box, you set it up correctly, and you only use it for OBS, it works quite well.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:47 pm
by Jack Fairley
Andrew Martin wrote:Because then they're going to be limited to the performance of the PC/ laptop. Pushing 1080 p into a poorly performing PC due to its crappy processor speeds, graphics abilities, mediocre memory, multi tasking, trying to do all things at once nature of a pc...
Buy a dedicated hardware encoder as suggested at the top of the thread.

If you need to make use of the PC for something other than controlling the switcher, use OBS or the free version of vmix as a feed into the Atem to produce greenscreen titles or something suchlike.


From my mobile using Tapatalk

What? We're in 2019, I have a laptop on my desk that can encode x264 Medium without turning into a jet engine. I've delivered millions upon millions of frames with OBS.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 11:02 pm
by Roman Pytkin Pekarek
And dont forget , that X264 is one of the best quality H264 encoder on market .. And its free .. X264 quality is much better , than most of HW encoders ..

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2019 6:15 pm
by Andrew Martin
[quote="Jack Fairley"]


What? We're in 2019, I have a laptop on my desk that can encode x264 Medium without turning into a jet engine. I've delivered millions upon millions of frames with OBS.




Yeah of course, how silly of me. Because that's what all pro streamers broadcasters use.
They have their GV mixers, their kyron's, Barcos all feeding out to the web with a $300 laptop.

Go back and read the leading post. Look what the OP has listed he has at his disposal. Sure if you have an i7, 32gh memory 8gh AMD graphics then ok sure it'll stream ok. But using a $300 dual core laptop.
And that's all before we get to windowz, If you told me your running OBS under Linux maybe.

Anyways I've always followed with a dedicated device for a dedicated job. No reboots, no background tasks, etc. Just like your using an Atem, not a PC mixer.

From my mobile using Tapatalk

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2020 5:08 pm
by arturoro1
Hello. I have the same problem. I bought a OMEN Gaming Laptop HP. It has a Thunderbolt port 3. So I bought Blackmagic ATEM Television Studio HD. But I could not connected to my Windows laptop to streaming by OBS. So I decided to buy the adapter UltraStudio Mini Monitor that supposed to connect from SDI to Thunderbolt but additional that id does not bring the cable and the cable is $50 Canadian Extra I connected but I did not work. I tried everything. I searched internet everywhere but most of the people connect with Mac but they said that is possible with Windows. So finally the Technician at Blackmagicdesign told me that the port has to be thunderbolt 2 not 3 :cry: . So I lost my money and my time. Fortunately Amazon allow me to return the UltraSTudio Mini MOnitor. I will sent back it to recover my money. I bought something else from ebay but it takes 20 days to arrive. It connect from SDI to USB 3 al 1920x1080 60fps.
But my question is if someone knows if I could get the Program image of the ATem in my Laptop without all of this adapters?

Thank you for you time. I think is time that this equipment will be plug and play.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:43 pm
by Jack Fairley
It's already plug and play, you just repeatedly bought the wrong gear. The Mini Monitor isn't a capture device, and the TVS HD is not sold as being a capture device - the specifications explicitly list that it has no "computer" output.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2020 11:03 pm
by LouisBacker
There is an alternative if you have to hand a PC laptop with USB 3.0, it's the AJA U-TAP SDI. It's powered by the USB3 port. They also do an HDMI version. It's US $345.

We livestream with a Thunderbolt 3 equipped Dell G5, using a Blackmagic Mini Recorder, which is SDI in. It's half the price of the AJA, but you will have to buy a TB2 to TB3 converter. It's plug and play into OBS.

As an aside note - after using OBS and other streaming software, we opted for vMix (from Australia) as what you see come up on YouTube etc matches what you see on your stream output, whereas OBS simply does not! You can get vMix on a 2-month free trial (we then outright bought the HD version). It's vastly better than OBS, particularly as you can make professional-looking title overlays with it and hook in other sources like laptops, using free NDI software. vMix also do excellent regular tutorial demos on YouTube, which help us greatly.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD how to streaming via a Windows

PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:46 pm
by Jack Fairley
LouisBacker wrote:As an aside note - after using OBS and other streaming software, we opted for vMix (from Australia) as what you see come up on YouTube etc matches what you see on your stream output, whereas OBS simply does not! You can get vMix on a 2-month free trial (we then outright bought the HD version). It's vastly better than OBS, particularly as you can make professional-looking title overlays with it and hook in other sources like laptops, using free NDI software. vMix also do excellent regular tutorial demos on YouTube, which help us greatly.

Configuration issue. x264 is the highest qualty H264 encoder, provided you know what to tell it to do, and OBS also supports overlays and NDI.