Outputs on Decklink 4K Extreme 12G

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

rafibaby

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 12:54 pm
  • Real Name: Rafael Vazquez

Outputs on Decklink 4K Extreme 12G

PostMon Nov 04, 2019 4:55 pm

Greetings, We use a Decklink 4K Extreme 12G Capture card with VMix software, on a PC with I-7 multi-core CPU; to capture and stream program footage.

The difficulty we are having is that we are unable to configure the SDI, HDMI, and analog outputs.

We follow the Decklink Desktop instructions and VMix output instructions and have no success in making the outputs work.

We do not know what we are doing wrong. Can somebody please help?
Offline

Dave Del Vecchio

  • Posts: 460
  • Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:25 am

Re: Outputs on Decklink 4K Extreme 12G

PostTue Nov 05, 2019 4:22 am

Generally speaking on the single channel DeckLink cards (like the DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G), all of the video outputs carry the same signal (so the SDI and HDMI output would have the same video).

There is a setting in the Desktop Video setup utility that controls whether the video output is the same as the input signal (loop through), or whether the video output displays a separate playback video signal.

If the output is set to be a copy of the input signal, then the SDI and HDMI outputs should have the same video as is being sent to the input connector on the card that you are currently capturing from. If the output is set to display playback video, then whatever software you are using (VMix in this case) would have to send video to the card for it to appear on the output connectors.
Offline

rafibaby

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 12:54 pm
  • Real Name: Rafael Vazquez

Re: Outputs on Decklink 4K Extreme 12G

PostTue Nov 05, 2019 3:31 pm

Thanks for your response. I have one question though. Where would I find that setting that would make the outputs a loop-through of the input?

I have browsed through the Decklink interphase panels, and cannot seem to find a setting that would make the outputs become loop-through.

Can you please list the steps to get to that setting?

Thanks Again
Offline

Dave Del Vecchio

  • Posts: 460
  • Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:25 am

Re: Outputs on Decklink 4K Extreme 12G

PostWed Nov 06, 2019 12:40 am

The output settings for the card are configurable in the Desktop Video Setup Utility. They are in the Video Output settings tab, in particular the During Capture radio button.

The Desktop Video Setup Utility including the various Video Output settings are described starting on page 15 of the Desktop Video manual:
https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/ ... 8098810000

Be aware, however, that any software that is using the DeckLink SDK to access the card can also override these settings that are configured via the Setup Utility. Software like Blackmagic's own Media Express will honor these output settings from the utility, but it is possible that other software may not. It just depends on how the software is using the card.
Offline

rafibaby

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 12:54 pm
  • Real Name: Rafael Vazquez

Re: Outputs on Decklink 4K Extreme 12G

PostWed Nov 06, 2019 2:31 pm

Thank You

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests