Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Megisto

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:50 am
  • Real Name: Fabio Annunziata

Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostTue Dec 03, 2019 10:56 am

Hello,

in my understanding the Smart Videohub 20x20 have 20 In and 20 OUT, as indicated ont he rear panel, but in the tech spec of the site it says "SDI Video Inputs
40 x 10-bit SD-SDI, HD-SDI and 12G‑SDI."

Does this mean every IN can be an OUT? For example I can have 10 IN and 30 OUT?
Or am I dumb? :D
Offline

alexlindsay

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:11 pm
  • Real Name: Alexander Lindsay

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostTue Dec 03, 2019 4:53 pm

It's just 20 in and 20 out. They are not interchangeable. All the routers are on one page, you may be in the wrong selection.

If you can afford it... the 40x40 is really worth it. You will think it's more than you could possibly use but once you have it, you very quickly wish BMD made a 72x72 or 288x288 12G router.

It depends on how you use it... I pass all signals through the router into the switcher, and then all/most of the Switcher outputs back into the router. So, I typically need 2x the router I/O compared to the Switcher.

We did get some 20x20s but ended up just using them for light location kits.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3933
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostTue Dec 03, 2019 5:09 pm

Megisto wrote: but in the tech spec of the site it says "SDI Video Inputs
40 x 10-bit SD-SDI, HD-SDI and 12G‑SDI."

I dont see what you see.. :lol:

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... s/W-VHS-02

SDI Video Inputs

20 x 10 bit SD-SDI, HD-SDI and 6G-SDI.


Looking at what you quote about 40. is the exact line of the 40x40 12G model. Which is the specs that turn op if you hit tech specs and don't choose the model on the left side. Then you get the specs of 40x40 12G ;) :lol:
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Megisto

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:50 am
  • Real Name: Fabio Annunziata

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostWed Dec 04, 2019 9:06 am

Xtreemtec wrote:I dont see what you see.. :lol:


I may be wrong but I am pretty sure that was different last time I checked. Maybe they corrected it after my post, maybe I was wrong all the time :D

alexlindsay wrote:If you can afford it... the 40x40 is really worth it. You will think it's more than you could possibly use but once you have it, you very quickly wish BMD made a 72x72 or 288x288 12G router.


I am designing a virtual production studio, we have a lot of stuff to buy, and I am on a budget. So I am trying to understand if I can go with a 20x20 and then switch to a 40x40 later.
Offline

raythompsontn

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 4:06 pm
  • Real Name: Ray Thompson

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostThu Dec 05, 2019 3:08 am

Megisto wrote:So I am trying to understand if I can go with a 20x20 and then switch to a 40x40 later.
No reason why you cannot switch later. But you may be wasting money. If you think you will need more paths in the future opt for the 40x40. I am currently using the 40x40 and am routing single inputs to multiple outputs. While I only have 8 inputs on the switcher, I am using 28 outputs on the router. All my inputs go into the router and all the outputs go to the router. This allows sources to be changed, grouping of outputs to be changed without moving cables.
Offline

alexlindsay

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:11 pm
  • Real Name: Alexander Lindsay

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostThu Dec 05, 2019 4:21 am

We started with 20x20 (actually 16x16 long ago).

We still used it for monitor distribution after we moved to 40x40.

As Ray mentioned, you will run out of outputs.

a
Offline

Megisto

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:50 am
  • Real Name: Fabio Annunziata

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostThu Dec 05, 2019 10:50 am

What about adding a 20x20 later? Is it a good idea or is there some bottleneck?
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3933
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostThu Dec 05, 2019 11:02 am

The big bottleneck is that it is hard to route signals from 1 to the other.. And also you can't run both at the same time from the same software.. :roll:
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Constelation 8K, Hyperdeck Studio 12G, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Megisto

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:50 am
  • Real Name: Fabio Annunziata

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostThu Dec 05, 2019 12:25 pm

Xtreemtec wrote:The big bottleneck is that it is hard to route signals from 1 to the other.. And also you can't run both at the same time from the same software.. :roll:


I see. I must plan the studio carefully, then.
Offline

alexlindsay

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:11 pm
  • Real Name: Alexander Lindsay

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostThu Dec 05, 2019 5:13 pm

You can actually copy the Videohub software and run it twice. A little hacky but doable.

I actually use multiple Routers often (40x40s).

The way we approach it is to manage core signal on one router and displays on the other. So you aren't duplicating all signals from one to the other. If you put a non-normalled patch in front of the whole mess, you can, with some practice, re-patch between the two if one goes down (we worry about this but, knock on wood, I've never lost a 40x40... I have lost a Harris router in a truck - which created all the redundancy protocols).

But to underline... I can almost guarantee you will miss the 40x40 within months of building a studio without it.

a
Offline

Megisto

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:50 am
  • Real Name: Fabio Annunziata

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostFri Dec 06, 2019 4:43 pm

alexlindsay wrote:You can actually copy the Videohub software and run it twice. A little hacky but doable.
But to underline... I can almost guarantee you will miss the 40x40 within months of building a studio without it.
a

I guess it depends on the type of production? In my plan I still have 7 OUTs free, after all the wiring.
I have a feeling that you are right and I try to understand what I am missing.
Offline

alexlindsay

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:11 pm
  • Real Name: Alexander Lindsay

Re: Smart Videhub 20x20 - IN and OUT: 20 or 40?

PostFri Dec 06, 2019 7:53 pm

I would say... you are starting with your studio at 86% capacity. If you have a very specific mission plan and never expect to vary it, you should be OK.

I tend to design studios at 40-60% capacity to allow for headroom as we take on new jobs and have new requirements. I found a router is like a bag... you will always end up filling it up.

And, if you aren't passing all the inputs through the router and aren't sending all the ATEM outputs back into the router, you will have more headroom. I just really like having non-linear access to everything.

a

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 21 guests