Error: camera 'busy' (H.264 Pro Recorder)

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message

jspurr

Error: camera 'busy' (H.264 Pro Recorder)

PostWed Sep 19, 2012 7:45 pm

For months, I've been livestreaming court cases using a Black Magic H.264 Pro Recorder in tandem with livestream.com's Procaster software running on OS X on a MacBook Pro.

It's worked great until this past week, during which I've been unable to stream because Procaster thinks the camera is 'busy.' Both Procaster and Black Magic Media Express software sense/recognize that the device is connected over USB, like usual, but can no longer utilize the video signal. To try to rectify, I've since:

    - run VRAM resets (usually fixes device syncing problems)
    - repaired permissions across the OS
    - updated OS X from 10.6.8 to 10.8.1
    - updated livestream Procaster software to its latest version
    - upgraded Black Magic Desktop Video software to 9.6.4

All to no avail. And I haven't been prompted to update the H.264 Pro Recorder's firmware, which as far as I can tell is the only way to update its firmware: by auto-running a check whenever it's connected to an internet-connected computer over USB.

My only remaining idea is to try to reset the Pro Recorder hardware to factory default. How do I do that? And do any of y'all have other suggestions for approaching this problem?

Thanks very much for your time.

- Joe
Attachments
busy.png
busy.png (24.93 KiB) Viewed 3076 times
Offline

Chris Pearse

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:34 am
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Error: camera 'busy' (H.264 Pro Recorder)

PostThu Sep 20, 2012 2:56 am

Hi Joe,

I'm really not sure what could be causing this. If the device is being recognised by the system and by Media Express I would expect it to be working. I would suggest trying it with a different PC or Mac, and seeing if the same problem occurs. If it does, it might indicate that there's a problem with the hardware itself. You can try reverting to an older firmware by rolling back to an older driver. Some older driver versions will have a different firmware and will ask to update, even if the hardware version is newer. if it works OK on another system, maybe there's a software issue causing the issue.

In either case it's worth contacting support with the results of this test to see where best to go from there. You can find the support numbers on this page, or by using the support request on the products' support page.
Chris Pearse
Product Specialist
Blackmagic Design Japan

jspurr

Re: Error: camera 'busy' (H.264 Pro Recorder)

PostThu Sep 20, 2012 2:37 pm

Chris, thanks very much for the reply. I forgot to mention I also attempted to connect using a different MacBook Pro with an equivalent setup, and got the same result (camera busy).

I've got to imagine it's the device at this point. I'll be contacting BM support directly.

Do you know where to find older firmware, if I go that route?
Offline

Chris Pearse

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 164
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:34 am
  • Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Error: camera 'busy' (H.264 Pro Recorder)

PostFri Sep 21, 2012 12:41 am

Joe, here's a direct link to the driver archive.

But to find older drivers manually please go to the support page and select your platform and the H.264 Pro Recorder from the dropdown boxes. When you get to the support page for the H.264 Pro Recorder, next to the download link for the current driver will be a link for 'archived drivers'. This will take you to the relevant page. I'm afraid I couldn't suggest precisely which driver will have a different firmware, but if you go back far enough I think you'll probably find something that will do it. v8.6.1 is probably a safe bet.
Chris Pearse
Product Specialist
Blackmagic Design Japan

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests