GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

juanjo

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:35 pm

GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostWed Oct 09, 2013 3:55 pm

Hello,
I´d like to know if I can use one GPI in terface to use as GPI inputs to the ATEM, so I can activate from another device some of the functions (DSK, etc) in the switcher.
Is it that possible??

Thanks!
Juanjo Trivino
ATM Broadcast America LLC
Miami, FL
www.atm-es.com
Offline

juanjo

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:35 pm

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostWed Oct 16, 2013 6:47 pm

Hello?
Nobody from BM could answer me that simple question?
Juanjo Trivino
ATM Broadcast America LLC
Miami, FL
www.atm-es.com
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2110
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostWed Oct 16, 2013 7:11 pm

There is nothing I know of with the ATEM 4K (or any ATEM) that will allow for that functionality without additional gear.

You might want to check out Just Macros discussion over on the ATEMUSER.com site - I believe there have been specific discussions about that type of functionality over there.

More about Just Macros for ATEM
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline
User avatar

Benjamin Higginbotham

  • Posts: 286
  • Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:47 pm
  • Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostFri Oct 18, 2013 11:29 pm

Not sure you can do that with GPI/O but you may be able to do it with the SDK just fine.
Benjamin Higginbotham
TMRO - Making Space Commonplace
Offline

juanjo

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:35 pm

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostTue Oct 22, 2013 3:16 pm

Thanks! I´ll check it.
Basically, what I wanna do is, when I play a LOGO in the graphics machine, trhought the GPIout port send a closure contact to the Blackmagic GPI interface to activate the DSK, so directly from the external graphics computer you could turn ON and OFF the DSK instead of waiting for the Switcher operator
Juanjo Trivino
ATM Broadcast America LLC
Miami, FL
www.atm-es.com
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2110
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostTue Oct 22, 2013 3:22 pm

Repeating myself here. There is nothing in the ATEM that will do that. What function have you read about with the ATEM would give you the impression it supports that?

It can be done using additional gear (non blackmagic). See my previous post for further info.
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline
User avatar

JohnBengston

  • Posts: 570
  • Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:52 pm

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostTue Oct 22, 2013 5:04 pm

USB attached Relays and GPI Inputs for about $300(USD)

http://www.adlinktech.com/PD/web/PD_detail.php?cKind=&pid=1234

Original JustMacros Video explaining how to implement GPIs with PCIe cards.

http://www.atemuser.com/forums/atem-vision-mixers/blackmagic-atems/just-macros/video-justmacros-gpi

Discussion Topic with link to ZIP File with all the example scripts you are likely to need

http://www.atemuser.com/forums/atem-vision-mixers/blackmagic-atems/just-macros/gpis-justmacros

Link to patch where the USB Device support was added

http://www.atemuser.com/forums/atem-vision-mixers/blackmagic-atems/just-macros/justmacros-patch-27500461

I'm working on a method where by you could do this in reverse using the BMD GPI and Tally interface boxes, but this is still a couple of months away from being ready. However if the original poster is asking if GPI control of DSKs is possible so that the Graphics Playout device turn DSKs on and off, then "absolutely, without any doubt". Several, even many, ATEMUsers are doing exactly that, using Just Macros and this ~$300 device from ADLINK (they are really good and reliable).

Regards

John
Offline

juanjo

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:35 pm

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostTue Oct 22, 2013 5:23 pm

Thanks, John, I´ll check this adlink interface.
Liam, don´t get angry, I ask because I wanna be sure. I didn´t read any function in the ATEM to use like that, but, if BM sell a GPI interface with 8 GPI inputs and 8 GPI outputs, I thought that maybe these 8 GPI inputs can be usefull. It´s supossed that you can do something "similar" with the Videhub, you can use one GPI input to route one source to a destination.
Juanjo Trivino
ATM Broadcast America LLC
Miami, FL
www.atm-es.com
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2110
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostTue Oct 22, 2013 5:32 pm

Not getting angry here... but you did seem to totally ignore what I posted. Glad John has come in to clarify and provide further information on what I had suggested.

Good luck.
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline

juanjo

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:35 pm

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostTue Oct 22, 2013 6:32 pm

Liam, has been a misunderstanding. I explained after your answer what I wanna do just to show you more details, but never ignoring you!! Sorry if you felt that.
I was just checking your post, the first one where you said to have a look in ATEMUSER.com when I saw the John´s post.
Thanks again,
Juanjo Trivino
ATM Broadcast America LLC
Miami, FL
www.atm-es.com
Offline
User avatar

Jonas Bengtson

  • Posts: 536
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:18 am
  • Location: Stockholm

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostWed Oct 23, 2013 8:26 am

Get an Arduino Mega, Arduino Ethernet Shield and http://skaarhoj.com/designs/2x8-gpio-board/.

Modify the sketch so GPIO 1 does what you want.
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Seewald

  • Posts: 1164
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:57 am

Re: GPI Functions imn ATEM 4K

PostWed Oct 23, 2013 10:54 am

+1 for Jonas
thos-berlin - Thomas S e e w a l d

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests