Flicker / Jumpy image

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Matt Brand

Flicker / Jumpy image

PostWed Apr 16, 2014 3:19 pm

Hi all

Firstly, I'm new to BM products and just bought an ATEM TV Studio..

Ive connected a laptop via HDMI, multiview monitor via HDMI, and fed a projector program out via SDI and then an SDI-HDMI mini converter at the proejector end.

Everything sets up ok and seems to work find but I noticed I'm getting a flickering / fast jitter on all of the images. I thought maybe a HDMI cable but I see it on all inputs, even media images that I load. I can't be the HDMI feeding the projector because I see it on the multiview monitor too. Even the white lines that border each input on the multiview monitor are jumping slightly.

It looks like a jitter, flashing from position to position.. No HDMI cables are longer than 5M...

Anyone have any ideas? (Does this when using both 1080i50 and 1080i59.xx)

Thank you wizards.

Matt

Matt Brand

Re: Flicker / Jumpy image

PostThu Apr 17, 2014 3:02 pm

Small update:

The monitor I'm using for multiview is displaying at 1920x540 whenever I plug it into the TVS..... The TVS is set to use 1080i50 - Not sure why this is? (The monitor is capable of 1080i50)

Anyone have an ideas? I'm debating sending it back as faulty...

Matt

tsdbonnie123

PostSun Apr 20, 2014 8:20 am

Hi Matt,

I'm having a similar issue whereby every output of our ATEM 1 ME rackmount switcher (which is a few years old now) drops to black/looks like it loses sync for a moment. The projector screens, plasmas, multiviewer - it all flickers at the same time which is really frustrating. It happens at least once a minute and up to once every 10 seconds depending on how it's feeling.

Every connection is firmly in place. The system has worked for years, but just started playing up a few days ago. I did notice that the unit feels quite hot - not sure if this is caused by excess heat on the unit?