ATEM Feature Requests

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

vazendak

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:19 pm

ATEM Feature Requests

PostSat Aug 25, 2012 5:41 pm

I would love to have the multi-view available on the aux bus. That way i can send it over the USB 3 to my notebook for viewing without the need for a monitor or UltraStudio SDI. I'm usually only doing 2 or 3 lock off shoots with simple transitions so i don't need to see the app to run the show.
Brent Schnarr
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2110
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostSat Aug 25, 2012 6:59 pm

Feed the multiview back in to the ATEM on another input. Then set the AUX out to show that camera input.

My head sort of goes in to a time-warp when I think about the consequences of doing this (seems like this should be defying the laws of physics). But it works.
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline
User avatar

Joshua Helling

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 842
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:58 pm

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostMon Aug 27, 2012 5:21 pm

Liam Kennedy wrote:...My head sort of goes in to a time-warp when I think about the consequences of doing this (seems like this should be defying the laws of physics). But it works.


Hahaha...we've done this too before. And I had the same thoughts going through my head.
Joshua Helling

Director of World Wide Support
Blackmagic Design Inc.
Offline
User avatar

Kevin Thompson

  • Posts: 91
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:49 am

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostWed Aug 29, 2012 6:16 am

All I need now is two footswitches
BMD Products:
ATEM Television Studio, Micro Videohub, GPI&Tally
Hyperdeck Studio, Mini Monitor, Mini Recorder
HDMI->SDI Battery Converter (2)
SmartView HD, SmartScope Duo 4K
Ultrastudio 4K, Multidock, MFT BMCC
Offline
User avatar

Dylan Reeve

  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 9:21 am
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostThu Aug 30, 2012 11:30 am

Joshua Helling wrote:
Liam Kennedy wrote:...My head sort of goes in to a time-warp when I think about the consequences of doing this (seems like this should be defying the laws of physics). But it works.


Hahaha...we've done this too before. And I had the same thoughts going through my head.


In the days of analogue video this sort of thing could cause serious problems (feedback loops were dangerous) - but with digital there's nothing to worry about really. The signal just goes white at worst usually (or purple or green depending on exactly how the loop is created).
Offline

JeffsmithEA

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:33 pm
  • Real Name: Jeff Smith

ATEM Multiview Requests

PostWed Sep 26, 2018 10:39 pm

Since the ATEM is 1-20 inputs,1-4 ME and 1-6 AUX. is there plans to allow the multi view to show more than 8 things? you really can not use the full switcher potential since we can not see it all. I hate "trusting" that a feed or input is working. What is the plan for this?
Offline

Trevor Asquerthian

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 10:03 am

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostThu Sep 27, 2018 7:17 am

Dylan Reeve wrote:
In the days of analogue video this sort of thing could cause serious problems (feedback loops were dangerous)


But this is how we lined up for preread :)
R15.0.b6 - testing on...
macOS Sierra 10.12.6
MBP 2.6 i7 16GB RAM NVIDIA GT750M
Offline

Dave Del Vecchio

  • Posts: 269
  • Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:25 am

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostSat Sep 29, 2018 2:50 am

JeffsmithEA wrote:Since the ATEM is 1-20 inputs,1-4 ME and 1-6 AUX. is there plans to allow the multi view to show more than 8 things? you really can not use the full switcher potential since we can not see it all. I hate "trusting" that a feed or input is working. What is the plan for this?

This would definitely be nice although it's possible there's not enough processing power to do something like a 16 window multiview. One thing some people do is use the SuperSource feature to create an additional 4 window multiview and set this to the ME/2 Preview or Program (this works ok if you don't need to use the SuperSource or ME/2 for something else).

But what I really wish were possible at the very least is being able to assign the large windows in the current multiviewer. Right now they are always fixed to ME/1 and ME/2 Preview & Program, with no ability to change this.
Offline

uli peters

  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:44 pm

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostMon Oct 01, 2018 11:08 am

Dave Del Vecchio wrote:But what I really wish were possible at the very least is being able to assign the large windows in the current multiviewer. Right now they are always fixed to ME/1 and ME/2 Preview & Program, with no ability to change this.

This at least seems to be software only limitation :!:
As I remember it should be possible to change the MV inputs on each window to any source or destination with third party software implementig the ATEM protocol.
Offline

Don Helms

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 1:32 am

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostTue Oct 02, 2018 2:08 pm

I like many others would like a freeze capability on the ATEM. Or black magic come up with an in-line box that will freeze a frame

I know the freeze frame request has been a topic since the first ATEM. Please give users a solution
Offline

James Muscat

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:19 pm

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostTue Oct 02, 2018 4:51 pm

uli peters wrote:
Dave Del Vecchio wrote:But what I really wish were possible at the very least is being able to assign the large windows in the current multiviewer. Right now they are always fixed to ME/1 and ME/2 Preview & Program, with no ability to change this.

This at least seems to be software only limitation :!:
As I remember it should be possible to change the MV inputs on each window to any source or destination with third party software implementig the ATEM protocol.


Correct, third-party software is able to assign the main windows in the same way as the rest of the multiviewer windows.
Offline

Kingsley Foreman

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 5:45 am

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostThu Oct 04, 2018 11:18 am

two things,

1. freeze frame

2. ability to easily have multiple super sources, with keyframeable scene changes. It can be done using third party tools (sort off) but it would be good to do it using something like macros.
Offline

uli peters

  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:44 pm

Re: ATEM Feature Requests

PostThu Oct 04, 2018 7:31 pm

1) Update the "GPI- and Tally-Interface" Firmware to trigger ATEM Macros 1-8 / 9-16 on GPI contact.
2) Allow to place any input and output on any Multiviewer window.
3) Make Multiviewers routable to any Aux output
4) Implement "Capture Frame to Still Store" functionality
5) Allow sending multiple audio sources to monitor out at the same time (mix them).

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests