Livestream and FMLE Questions

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Ryan0751

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:42 am

Livestream and FMLE Questions

PostSat Dec 29, 2012 3:49 am

I have been using Livestream to broadcast, using Flash Live Media Encoder (3.2) since around February of this year. Everything was working pretty well, but all of a sudden my video quality has been degrading substantially. The image quality (particularly in H.264) becomes very compressed looking, garbled.

To start, I'm running on a Macbook Pro from January of this year, it's 2.8Ghz i7, with 8GB of RAM and a 512 GB SSD. I have the Intensity Extreme card connected up via thunderbolt, and for a camera I have a Canon HFG10. My audio isn't coming from the HDMI, I'm using an Apogee Duet 2 sound card for that.

My Macbook is wired to my home network with gigabit ethernet (no wifi), and I can routinely speedtest about 25Mbps down and about 3Mbps up.

In FLME, I basically HAVE to have the frame rate set to 30fps for input. If I change that, I can broadcast for a short while but eventually FMLE drops the connection and I get encoding errors. For input and output resolution, I have it set to 640x360, or half 720p resolution. This works, but the encoding eventually goes south (poor quality).

Of course the input from the Black Magic is 1080p. I have tried to set FMLE to input 1080p, but it just KILLS my CPU. Spiking all over the place. So really the quality I've wound up at is very poor given my good quality hardware.

My next option is to use Procaster from LiveStream. I've tried this out, and the quality was much better, but I think it used even MORE CPU than FMLE. I left the broadcast settings on "normal".

Any pointers or suggestions on where to go next?
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2087
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Livestream and FMLE Questions

PostSat Dec 29, 2012 4:09 am

Sure sounds like a bandwidth issue.

"Home network"? Are you sure your ISP is not limiting your outbound bandwidth? Running a speedtest might not show what they could be doing over a period of sustained bandwidth usage.

What is the bandwidth you are streaming at anyway?
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline

Ryan0751

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:42 am

Re: Livestream and FMLE Questions

PostSat Dec 29, 2012 4:22 am

Liam Kennedy wrote:Sure sounds like a bandwidth issue.

"Home network"? Are you sure your ISP is not limiting your outbound bandwidth? Running a speedtest might not show what they could be doing over a period of sustained bandwidth usage.

What is the bandwidth you are streaming at anyway?


Super low! Should have mentioned that... Fmle was sending 392kbps! The input video window looked good, the output terrible, once I started broadcasting. It seems like a local encoding problem.
Offline
User avatar

Liam Kennedy

  • Posts: 2087
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:52 am
  • Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Livestream and FMLE Questions

PostSat Dec 29, 2012 4:29 am

Yeah... that is low. Can't be bandwidth then.

Try a demo of Wirecast? Might be worth another comparison at least.

Although 393Kbps does seem a little low anyway.. and depending on the video it may not be adequate. Have you tried increasing the bit rate (or are you capped at 500Kbps on the old Livestream)?
ATEM 1/ME, TVS, Hyperdeck Studio, Fujitsu Lifebook NH751 USB3
Offline

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 775
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Livestream and FMLE Questions

PostSat Dec 29, 2012 10:45 am

Wirecast is really stupid.. Lot of features, but produce jerky video and max 30fps.. Best results are with x264..
http://www.media-planet.sk
http://www.stonepp.tv
Offline

Ryan0751

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:42 am

Re: Livestream and FMLE Questions

PostSat Dec 29, 2012 2:15 pm

Pytkin wrote:Wirecast is really stupid.. Lot of features, but produce jerky video and max 30fps.. Best results are with x264..


And it's $500. For something I broadcast for free...
Offline

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 775
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Livestream and FMLE Questions

PostSat Dec 29, 2012 2:26 pm

Yes.. I was pay $500 for wirecast, because fmle not works in mac with ultrastudio.. With wirecast it works, but video is really jerky and unusable.. Iwas then install windows on my mac.. Fmle works and it output is fine..
http://www.media-planet.sk
http://www.stonepp.tv
Offline

Raphaël Jacquot

  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:15 pm

Re: Livestream and FMLE Questions

PostSat Dec 29, 2012 3:35 pm

Pytkin wrote:Wirecast is really stupid.. Lot of features, but produce jerky video and max 30fps.. Best results are with x264..

could you please write some doc on how you use x264 with a decklink card (specifically one of the thunderbolt thingies)?
Offline

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 775
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Livestream and FMLE Questions

PostSat Dec 29, 2012 8:12 pm

I was put here on forum binaries and setup how to use decklink onlinux.. There are ffmpeg (with integrated x264)..

Thunderbold is problem on linux i think.. No sdk yet..
http://www.media-planet.sk
http://www.stonepp.tv

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Vivekselvanp and 8 guests