Arduino Shield Thread

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Benjamin Higginbotham

  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:47 pm
  • Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostThu Mar 02, 2017 7:34 pm

Wait... so I *can* read incoming camera info?

Scenario: I have 4 cameras in one location and 8 more in a remote location about 4000 km away. All of them are BMD cams of sorts and I want to use one switcher interface to paint them all. Can I use one shield at the origin site to read all of the camera settings for all cameras, sling that down the wire over a private WAN and have a shield on the other end spit out commanding for distribution to my cameras via SDI?

I was under the impression this was not possible?
Benjamin Higginbotham
TMRO - Making Space Commonplace
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 842
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostThu Mar 02, 2017 9:19 pm

Well iT is. Skaarhoj already does this with there sdi tally iris Control box.. :)

What you are suggesting should be possible.. Takes à lot of programming. Also there are issues that the shield is missing incoming packets.. Tally is data that is send 10 times à second.. But shading data like step up gain.. Could be lost in the process.. So it is not het completely Foolproof :D ;)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, Production Studio 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio, SONY FS7 4K, JVC HM700 Full HD Camera
Offline
User avatar

Baz

  • Posts: 410
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:06 am
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostThu Mar 02, 2017 9:39 pm

Then of course you must be able to extract the ch15/16 talkback.
8xMB Extremes, 4xMB SD, 2xMB HD, UltraStudio Express, 2xV/hub 12x24, 1xV/hub 72x144, 2xSmartviewDuo, SmartScopeDuo, Teranex 2D, 4xMiniconv, 2xHDLinkPro
HYPERDECK-
Studio, Shuttle
ATEM-
2me4K, 2me, TVS, 4xCamConv, 2xStudioConv, 2xStudio Cams
Offline
User avatar

Benjamin Higginbotham

  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:47 pm
  • Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostThu Mar 02, 2017 9:42 pm

Baz wrote:Then of course you must be able to extract the ch15/16 talkback.

We don't need comms, only control. My cameras are in areas where... uh... people can't really be.
Benjamin Higginbotham
TMRO - Making Space Commonplace
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 842
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostThu Mar 02, 2017 9:48 pm

Bug Benjamin. What you want To do could have been done since the release of the shield and an atmega plus ethernet shield..
Sending off the network protocol of atem to the Remote arduino and use that as a converter......
Mark Gilbert from Strata had No problem taking over My atem by the internet from Engeland..

So atem Control over the internet has been done before...
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, Production Studio 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio, SONY FS7 4K, JVC HM700 Full HD Camera
Offline
User avatar

Benjamin Higginbotham

  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:47 pm
  • Location: Anaheim, CA

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostThu Mar 02, 2017 9:51 pm

We control over our network today. That's not in question. The part in question is input from our current switcher which is something we don't do. Instead we have a second system that we control and send the commanding out. Not desired.

So have the shield take SDI input from the ATEM, convert the commands it reads to IP, send it to the remote side and from there we're already OK converting back to commanding on SDI. It's that input side we always seemed to be missing.
Benjamin Higginbotham
TMRO - Making Space Commonplace
Offline
User avatar

Radosław Przybył

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:13 am
  • Location: Echternach, Luxembourg

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostTue Mar 14, 2017 10:57 pm

AFAIK reading camera settings is not possible. You can controll as many as 253 or 254 cameras simultaneously connected to single SDI network with one SDI controller. You can upload and synchronize all settings to all or some of cameras, but you can not read current camera settings via SDI Shield. It is one directional communication (you can pickup some information from incoming signal - wchich usualy comes from mixer)

Am I wrong? Is there any possibility to read camera settings? Am I missing a part of documentation? It could be great expansion for my SDI Remote&Sequencer prototype.
Attachments
swq.jpg
swq.jpg (193.42 KiB) Viewed 229 times
SDI Remote for Blackmagic cameras
sdiremote.com
Offline
User avatar

Baz

  • Posts: 410
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:06 am
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 4:49 am

This is a box that displays program and preview tally from the ATEM SDI output....

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1437911942905835&set=gm.448186322191437&type=3&theater

Baz
8xMB Extremes, 4xMB SD, 2xMB HD, UltraStudio Express, 2xV/hub 12x24, 1xV/hub 72x144, 2xSmartviewDuo, SmartScopeDuo, Teranex 2D, 4xMiniconv, 2xHDLinkPro
HYPERDECK-
Studio, Shuttle
ATEM-
2me4K, 2me, TVS, 4xCamConv, 2xStudioConv, 2xStudio Cams
Offline
User avatar

Radosław Przybył

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:13 am
  • Location: Echternach, Luxembourg

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostThu Mar 16, 2017 7:29 pm

Just finished prototype development SDI Remote. Proud :-D
sdiremote_small.jpg
sdiremote_small.jpg (306.76 KiB) Viewed 184 times
SDI Remote for Blackmagic cameras
sdiremote.com
Offline

Anna Woodson

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:01 pm

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostMon Mar 20, 2017 8:10 pm

Anyone have a recommendation for a power supply to be used with this shield? I thought I could use the same as my Arduino, but it has a different size barrel. I'm not seeing the barrel size anywhere in the manual.
Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Radosław Przybył

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:13 am
  • Location: Echternach, Luxembourg

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostMon Mar 20, 2017 10:35 pm

Mine from Arduino fits.
SDI Remote for Blackmagic cameras
sdiremote.com
Offline

Håvard Njåstad

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:23 am

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostMon Mar 20, 2017 11:11 pm

Most stuff (arduino) tend to use 5.5 X 2.1mm barrels, but all blackmagic equipment (blackmagic arduino shield) use 5.5 X 2.5mm, so any generic 12v adapter with those dimensions will fit
Offline
User avatar

Radosław Przybył

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:13 am
  • Location: Echternach, Luxembourg

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostThu Mar 23, 2017 8:49 am

Is Ursa Mini Pro compatible with SDI Shield?
SDI Remote for Blackmagic cameras
sdiremote.com
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 842
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostThu Mar 23, 2017 9:50 am

Offcoarse it is. The protocol Didnt change..
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, Production Studio 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio, SONY FS7 4K, JVC HM700 Full HD Camera
Offline
User avatar

Radosław Przybył

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:13 am
  • Location: Echternach, Luxembourg

Re: Arduino Shield Thread

PostFri Mar 24, 2017 11:51 pm

Hello! I am back with technical question. Is Message grouping working OOB with high level commands like sdiCameraControl.writeVarType? I need to change a lot of camera params in short periods of time (perfectly every frame) - will they group automatically in send buffer before sending or should I use low level commands to fill send buffer manually before sending them to camera on next frame?

Regrads
SDI Remote for Blackmagic cameras
sdiremote.com
Previous

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gary Adams, Lance Lewis, uli peters and 13 guests