Audio requirement for ATEM 2me

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Baz

Audio requirement for ATEM 2me

PostWed Feb 06, 2013 7:49 am

I am new to the ATEM and have slowly been installing it into a roadcase(s).

I also have an outboard 16 ch analog audio mixer that I need to use with the ATEM along with a Behringer BCF2000 control surface for the ATEM built in audio mixer.

I need to feed the ATEM audio sources (inputs) into the outboard analog audio mixer, add commentary, music effects etc and then re-insert that into the final ATEM output.
I found that the ATEM allows a selection of the audio connector to be either 'program' or 'monitoring'.
I can't achieve what I need in either mode.

What would be great is if there was a 3rd audio connector mode that allows 'breakaway', where the ATEM audio sources can be made available at the audio out connectors but not go to program out. This would then allow the outboard audio mixer to take the ATEM audio's out via the ATEM built in audio mixer and then re-insert it back into the ATEM audio mixer at its 'EXT' input.
This would also be useful with the AFV function as I notice that even doing a 'cut' between sources it does a soft cut on the audio which avoids any digital glitching. (great for multicam motorsport coverage).

It seems a simple enough thing to do as it sort of exists using the 'solo' buttons in 'monitoring' mode.
... feature request?... or does someone know how to achieve what I need?

At present I am getting it done using a BMD Audio -> SDI (injector) as I need to provide full mix on 1 and 2 and an extra 2 channels in the HDSDI signal for effects and music only without the commentary on 3 and 4.

Baz

MISC
U/S Express, SmartviewDuo, SmartScopeDuo, Teranex 2D, Web Pres, 5/7 Vid Assists
VIDEOHUB
Smart 12x12
12x24
72x144
HYPERDECK
Studio, Shuttle, Studio Mini
ATEM
2me4K, 2me, TVS, TVS HD, CamConvs, StudioConvs, Studio Cams, Micro Studio Cam

Chad