HDMI-SDI converters for ATEM TVS

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Ralf de Leon

HDMI-SDI converters for ATEM TVS

PostThu Mar 02, 2017 11:32 am

Hi,

I am new in live production and want to seek for more information about this. recently we purchase 3g HDMI-SDI converters and it was not working with ATEM TVS. currently we have ATEM TVS, BM Pocket Camera, HDR Canon Camera, and hook up to BM Decklink for online streaming. Both camera are using HDMI cord. we want to extend the wiring so we need to find out which converters are compatible for ATEM TVS. Thanks alot

BenWorkman

Re: HDMI-SDI converters for ATEM TVS

PostThu Mar 02, 2017 6:48 pm

Micro converters should do the trick, but if the budget is there and frame rate/resolution could ever be an issue (lol-it's an ATEM) just get some Decimators and love yourself forever.

If you absolutely have no $, you could go over cat-6, but the micro hdmi to Sdi are ~$80 used so I'd start there.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Benjamin Higginbotham

PostFri Mar 03, 2017 12:18 am

The Decimator MD-HX has a built in scaler and will let you set just about any format you can want. SDI in and Out, HDMI in and out in one nifty box.
Benjamin Higginbotham
TMRO - Making Space Commonplace

Andy Matheson

PostFri Mar 03, 2017 12:46 am

I use a BMD HDMI-HD-SDI regularly to convert the O/P from a JVC 170 and fire it down a 38M double-screened coax cable and into my TVS. Works flawlessly every time.

Thomas Seewald

PostMon Mar 06, 2017 12:12 pm

I tested "China" converters over 170m Sommer Cable to ATEM TVS and had a 2 day production with a cable length of 94m. I think possible limitations comes at first from the used cable and secondary from the converter. It is also a question of budget, but the BM micro converters also have interesting low price.