Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Kenny Shem

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 4:38 am

Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostThu Apr 20, 2017 11:29 am

Hi all. I'm using Sennheiser G3 wireless set into the analog inputs behind the switcher. No matter how much audio gain I adjust in the G3, the audio level is very low. As low as about -30 or -20 db. Increasing the audio level in the audio mixer software doesn't help much. Adjusting too much gain from the G3 will cause peaking and distort the sound. In the end I have to plug the G3 into one of the camera and have the audio sent thru the SDI cable into switcher and it works great this way.

Is it because atem HD only accept line level audio and not mic level?

Anyone has such problem? Thank you!
Offline
User avatar

Thomas Seewald

  • Posts: 1004
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:57 am

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostThu Apr 20, 2017 11:53 am

Is it because atem HD only accept line level audio and not mic level?
Yes.

Insert a small amplifier or mixing console for bringing mic level to line Level.
thos-berlin - Thomas S e e w a l d
Offline
User avatar

Tom_Bassford

  • Posts: 1563
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:12 am
  • Location: Europe / UK

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostThu Apr 20, 2017 12:07 pm

You need a mic preamp or small mixing desk.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
http://www.atemuser.com
if it was easy it wouldn't be called engineering
Offline

MambaFiber.com

  • Posts: 400
  • Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 5:26 pm

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostThu Apr 20, 2017 1:25 pm

In the G3 receiver menu you will find an item called AF Out. Set this to the highest number, and the receiver will output line level. The lowest value will give you a mic level output.

Set the transmitter menu Sensitivity value so that the G3 meters are the correct level with your microphone, usually -9 for quiet speaking, -12 or -15 for loud speaking. YMMV.
Greg Bellotte - owner
MambaFiber.com
FaceBook.com/MambaFiber
Offline

Kenny Shem

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 4:38 am

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostSat Apr 22, 2017 7:54 am

Thanks all for the replies! If I just use one of the XLR input port, there seems no way in software to duplicate the channel onto the other unused channel to make it stereo right? Only way is to use a physical splitter?
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6423
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostSat Apr 22, 2017 3:51 pm

You can use a small mixer like the Sound Devices MixPre and Pan the mono input to feed both channels of audio. If you stsrt with a single mono audio source, duplicating it to two channels, does not make it a stereo signal. You need two Mic's or a Stereo Mic to get a true stereo feed. Panning the single feed off center to two channels of output will give a stereo like effect, but still not true stereo, just a dual mono feed.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

John Kane

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:21 pm
  • Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostSat Apr 22, 2017 11:49 pm

If you are comfortable with a soldering iron you can make a cable that has 1 x female XLR to 2 x Male XLRs using thin mic cable. Very useful adaptor to keep in the tool kit.
Alternatively here is a link to one https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/252312-REG/Hosa_Technology_YXM_121_XLR_Female_to_2.html
John Kane
VITC Video
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 x 4K 2M/E, 1 x Videohub 40x40, many mini converters
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6423
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostTue Apr 25, 2017 2:25 am

A Y cable works OK with +4dB line level signals, but not with mic level signals. You need a preamp/mixer to split the signal out two outputs to feed the ATEM.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Kenny Shem

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 4:38 am

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostMon May 01, 2017 7:19 am

I'm looking at Zoom F4 as the preamp. Anyone know if the gain is good enough? I currently have Tascam Dr44WL but it doesn't output high gain.
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6423
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostMon May 01, 2017 5:04 pm

Try a Audio Devices MixPre, much better option, as it is a real mixer with high gain output, still in a small form factor.
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline

Kenny Shem

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 4:38 am

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostTue May 02, 2017 3:35 am

Denny Smith wrote:Try a Audio Devices MixPre, much better option, as it is a real mixer with high gain output, still in a small form factor.


Hi Denny. I assume you are referring to Mixpre-D? Sound devices have recently launched Miexpre-3 and 6 but both doesn't have XLR output.
Offline

Andy Coulthurst

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostTue May 02, 2017 5:06 am

I'm using a Behringer XR-12 with the Atem HD , works very well , and includes many effects such as noise gates and reverbs. Also can place mono sources in the stereo field. Has built in recorder / player.
Downside ( depends on usage ) are no physical controls ( but has iPad/Linux/Windows apps )
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 6423
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostTue May 02, 2017 6:05 am

Yes Kenny, I was referring to the original MixPre or the D. Mthe new series are aimed at DSLR type market, where an external recorder is needed.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

Tom_Bassford

  • Posts: 1563
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:12 am
  • Location: Europe / UK

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostTue May 02, 2017 7:52 am

I'd just get a small format sound desk. http://www.allen-heath.com/ahproducts/zed-10/ is cheaper than the sound devices preamp but has a hell of a lot more features.

If you can avoid Behringer then do so. That said if you have no money then http://www.music-group.com/Categories/B ... 00/p/P0207 costs less than a night in a pub and would do the job of boosting your level.
http://www.atemuser.com
if it was easy it wouldn't be called engineering
Offline

Andy Coulthurst

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:04 pm

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostTue May 02, 2017 8:38 am

I know that Behringer has had a less than stellar past.
My usual problem with behringer in the past was low quality noisey controls (analogue domain)
The virtual mixing desks do away with that.

I would be interested to know reasons to avoid behringer nowadays - I was pleasantly surprised at £220 instead of £1200 for one of the above suggestions.
Offline
User avatar

Tom_Bassford

  • Posts: 1563
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:12 am
  • Location: Europe / UK

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostTue May 02, 2017 8:42 am

It's cheap crap designed with low cost being above all else.

There better than they once were but it's still ultrabudget and thus not as good as better built more expensive rival products.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
http://www.atemuser.com
if it was easy it wouldn't be called engineering
Offline

Marcus Strandepil

  • Posts: 53
  • Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 7:18 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Please help! Atem TV HD soft audio level

PostTue May 02, 2017 9:02 am

Andy Coulthurst wrote:I know that Behringer has had a less than stellar past.
My usual problem with behringer in the past was low quality noisey controls (analogue domain)
The virtual mixing desks do away with that.

I would be interested to know reasons to avoid behringer nowadays - I was pleasantly surprised at £220 instead of £1200 for one of the above suggestions.


I think a lot of people judge Behringer for the quality they had before. I use an X32 in my flypack and it both sounds fantastic and is easy (= fast) to work with.


Skickat från min iPhone med Tapatalk
ATEM Production Switcher 4k, SmartView 16" HD monitor, Various PC and MACs for recording and playback.
Behringer X32 Producer for live sound processing and multitrack recording.
850 VA UPS to secure power.
Installed in a 16 HU flypack.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests