[Intensity Pro 4K + OBS] Audio Passthrough?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Michael Reilly

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:19 pm
  • Location: Atlanta, GA

[Intensity Pro 4K + OBS] Audio Passthrough?

PostFri May 12, 2017 12:37 am

How do I get audio passthrough working? I'm attempting to stream audio and listen to it as well, and there doesn't seem to be an option.

Using HDMI capture from a PS4. Attempted some workarounds, such as using headphones, but these silence audio coming through HDMI.

Thanks in advance.
Offline
User avatar

Michael Reilly

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:19 pm
  • Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: [Intensity Pro 4K + OBS] Audio Passthrough?

PostTue May 16, 2017 3:17 pm

Just bumping this once for visibility.
Offline

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 153
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: [Intensity Pro 4K + OBS] Audio Passthrough?

PostTue May 16, 2017 4:46 pm

OBS doesn't have any monitoring of audio from capture devices. You'll have to handle it on the OS level somehow, by duplicating the audio input of the BMD card to the output device you want to hear it on.
Offline
User avatar

Michael Reilly

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:19 pm
  • Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: [Intensity Pro 4K + OBS] Audio Passthrough?

PostTue May 16, 2017 5:01 pm

Jack Fairley wrote:OBS doesn't have any monitoring of audio from capture devices. You'll have to handle it on the OS level somehow, by duplicating the audio input of the BMD card to the output device you want to hear it on.


When using an Elgato, OBS can pipe audio to desktop (and then you can capture from the monitor of the desktop audio, but this induces a slight delay, but that's OK because you can compensate for it.)

I guess the Blackmagic plugin just doesn't support that sort of shenanigans.

I'm looking at my pulseaudio devices, but I cannot find Blackmagic in this list in order to duplicate it as you suggested:

https://pastebin.com/iHEKEx5s

Does it show up elsewhere? (Is it only present when Blackmagic is capturing? I'm not physically present at my computer so I can't test it.)
Offline

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 153
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm

Re: [Intensity Pro 4K + OBS] Audio Passthrough?

PostTue May 16, 2017 8:05 pm

I've never tried OBS or the BMD cards on Linux, so I can't be of any more help to you. I know it's possible with the pulseaudio loopback module to listen to an input live, but I don't know if the BMD audio is like a normal audio device on Linux.
Offline

Viet Pham

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:12 am

Re: [Intensity Pro 4K + OBS] Audio Passthrough?

PostThu May 18, 2017 11:29 pm

obs studio does have monitoring capabilities.
go to the audio mixer, for each input , there is on the right where one can select to monitor the input.
Works fine with my mini recorder on windows 10 pro

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests