ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Olivier Grenon

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 4:41 am
  • Location: Montréal QC

ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

PostWed May 17, 2017 4:47 am

Hi,

Can we make this type of picture in picture with the ATEM Television Studio Pro HD? (See the attachments)

Thanks,

Olivier
Attachments
Capture d’écran 2017-05-17 à 00.32.33.png
Capture d’écran 2017-05-17 à 00.32.33.png (293.36 KiB) Viewed 2628 times
Capture d’écran 2017-05-17 à 00.34.05.png
Capture d’écran 2017-05-17 à 00.34.05.png (460.24 KiB) Viewed 2628 times
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2180
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

PostWed May 17, 2017 9:05 pm

What you show here are 2 PIP's.. Or better called Super source.. Which is only available at the 2ME mixers..

Because you want to have your speaker, and your presentation to show both windowed.. Against a background..
This is not possible with the cheapest mixers.. You could do it with 2 mixers behind each other.. But for 2K you spend your money on a 2ME ;)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Sander Vreuls

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:09 pm

Re: ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

PostWed May 17, 2017 11:08 pm

Or thinking out of the box, get a Decimator DMON-QUAD (the new one), scale 2 inputs to what you want, output that multiview window into the atem and key a graphic with 2 alpha key holes for the windows over it. Cheap external DVE.
Offline

MambaFiber.com

  • Posts: 525
  • Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 5:26 pm
  • Location: SLC, UT

Re: ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

PostThu May 18, 2017 2:05 am

Sander Vreuls wrote:Or thinking out of the box, get a Decimator DMON-QUAD (the new one), scale 2 inputs to what you want, output that multiview window into the atem and key a graphic with 2 alpha key holes for the windows over it. Cheap external DVE.


now THAT is an excellent idea!! :D
Greg Bellotte - owner
MambaFiber.com
FaceBook.com/MambaFiber
Offline

Olivier Grenon

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 4:41 am
  • Location: Montréal QC

Re: ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

PostThu May 18, 2017 5:03 am

hahaha, I should try one day (I have the Decimator DMON-QUAD)

Yeah this is from a Atem 1 M/E or 2 M/E swicher

I hope that eventually it will add this option, in an affordable unit.
Offline

Sander Vreuls

  • Posts: 75
  • Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:09 pm

Re: ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

PostThu May 18, 2017 8:15 am

One downside is that the Windows in the decimator are not allowed to overlap. So better for equal splits. We have used such tricks at award shows when you needed 5 picture in pictures to show all the nominees.
Last edited by Sander Vreuls on Thu May 18, 2017 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2180
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

PostThu May 18, 2017 9:42 am

Hahaha Sander, Excelent out of the box thinking.. :D Unfortunatly not as flexible as with the Supersource function of the 2ME.. But a great work arround..

But for the Topic Starter Dmon quad got cheaper but still 295 dollar..
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 209
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

PostSat May 20, 2017 7:33 am

Although you can only do one PiP in the TVS HD, you can also have a background with transition showing cropped camera shot and use the USK DVE for the PIP. Demo in the video below...
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

Albert

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 4:47 pm
  • Real Name: Albert Fong

Re: ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

PostWed Jan 24, 2018 4:52 pm

Hi I have a question, Is there any possible to mute the Super source but leave the audio of main picture, when I turned all AFV on?

I made it before, of the first time I tried Super source. but now I don't know how to make that happen again,

Thanks.
Offline

droza_

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:03 pm
  • Real Name: Devin Roza

Re: ATEM Television Studio Pro HD (PiP)

PostThu Apr 05, 2018 1:15 pm

Olivier Grenon wrote:Hi,

Can we make this type of picture in picture with the ATEM Television Studio Pro HD? (See the attachments)

Thanks,

Olivier


I do exactly this type of setup all the time with the ATEM Television Studio Pro HD. Here's how:
1. The camera feed is the active image, but I position the speaker to the side, where they will end up after the rest of the camera feed gets covered over...
2. Upstream is the Powerpoint, resized and placed where I want it.
3. Downstream is the "background"... which I prepare with two holes in it. It goes on top of everything, but looks like any other background of this sort. One hole for the Powerpoint, and one hole for the speaker.

Works great. I actually use a Skaarhoj controller (MC-5) to set up multiple versions of these views, (the Skaarhoj also controls a PTZOptics camera, so I can position the speaker where I need), so I can hit a single button on the Skaarhoj and it does everything needed to switch between many different sorts of Speak+PPT+background configurations (moving the PTZOptics camera, switching all the options on the TVSHD, etc.) Works great. Of course a 2ME would be even easier, but honestly it wasn't that hard to set up.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests