how to upload a .png to ATEM Television Studio HD

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Günter Trojan

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:42 pm
  • Location: austria, vienna

how to upload a .png to ATEM Television Studio HD

PostSun Aug 27, 2017 11:36 am

Hello!
i know, in the install Software is a plugin for Photoshop included.
But how can i upload a .png file to the swicher media pool without PS from a commandline?
Thanks to ianmorrish i found a couple of ways to control the switcher via macros, but in his switcherlib.dll there is no upload included.
AND: all filebased commands are not possible in the macros
In the SDK there are a few of commands for uplod to mediapool, but i cannot c++
Has anyone a solution in powershell?
Thanks a lot
gt
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: how to upload a .png to ATEM Television Studio HD

PostSun Aug 27, 2017 6:25 pm

Hi,
I have a number of command line utilities that make use of the same DLL for PowerShell. Small reliability issue with the still uploader which I'll try and resolve this week (used to work in older versions so something I have done wrong while trying to get uploads working via script).
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: how to upload a .png to ATEM Television Studio HD

PostMon Aug 28, 2017 1:08 am

Think I found the bug. I'll test tonight but here it is (the exe is not my original work, I just added checking of file extension and started work on supporting TGA files but that is not yet included).
Updated version of switcherlib https://1drv.ms/f/s!ApGpqMMpRLhij-ISHugJq7SLwkRTtw
Put this command line utility in the same directory as the dll above
https://1drv.ms/f/s!ApGpqMMpRLhij-ITy08lBliHdwEbqQ

command is
mediaupload.exe [ATEM IP] [Slot #] [File name]
e.g.
mediaupload.exe 192.168.1.240 5 c:\images\720p\logo.png
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

Günter Trojan

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:42 pm
  • Location: austria, vienna

Re: how to upload a .png to ATEM Television Studio HD

PostMon Aug 28, 2017 9:04 pm

Thank you!
this works.
but:
the switcherlib7.1.dll dont works with upload.exe and not in powershell.
the switherlib.dll works with upload.exe but not with powershell
(file not found error:
PS C:\Windows\SysWOW64\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0> C:\daten\atem\powershell\anfang.ps1
add-type : Die Datei oder Assembly "file:///C:\daten\atem\powershell\upload\SwitcherLib.dll" oder eine Abhängigkeit davon wurde nicht gefunden. Der
Vorgang wird nicht unterstützt. (Ausnahme von HRESULT: 0x80131515)
In C:\daten\atem\powershell\anfang.ps1:1 Zeichen:1
+ add-type -path ‘C:\daten\atem\powershell\upload\SwitcherLib.dll')

i think this switcherlib.dll is modified to work only with upload.exe.
for my present Project is this efficient enough!
but i hoped to understand the Control from the atem (all filebased operations are not possible in macros especially the init-process to create a stable outgoing Point (i think this a bad viennese english ;) )
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: how to upload a .png to ATEM Television Studio HD

PostTue Aug 29, 2017 1:59 am

Sorry, I had not test this. Will test tonight.
Switcherlib.dll is the only one you need and should be the only one used across PowerShell and the mediaupload.exe.
I need to test that PowerShell and the exe can be used at the same time.
I'm also working on the upload working directly from PowerShell, it is just a threading issue I need to overcome (also needed for switcher events to be supported in PowerShell).
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

Ian Morrish

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:24 pm
  • Location: New Zealand

Re: how to upload a .png to ATEM Television Studio HD

PostTue Aug 29, 2017 8:14 am

Remember to unblock the files after downloading.
The DLL is this link
https://1drv.ms/u/s!ApGpqMMpRLhij-IQoZRIXcnbIInsLQ

I have just tested using PowerShell using the DLL at the same time as mediaupload with no problem.

This command shows the files uploaded by the exe
$atem.GetStills()

Let me know if you are still having a problem.
Regards,
Ian Morrish
Video Integrated Scripting Environment
(Windows PowerShell with ATEM driver + more)
https://ianmorrish.wordpress.com
Offline

Günter Trojan

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:42 pm
  • Location: austria, vienna

Re: how to upload a .png to ATEM Television Studio HD

PostThu Aug 31, 2017 4:15 pm

now i really know what unblocking means. ist the same security-s**t like under macos ,-)
voila - the dll works with powershell :D
thank you!!!
Offline

Christoph Neymeyr

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:16 pm

Re: how to upload a .png to ATEM Television Studio HD

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 2:23 pm

Hi. I am very new here as well and wonder if there's any method available to upload an image using either NodeJs or anything else running under Linux or Mac.

I've tried applest-atem, but the problem is here that it uses an approach where every single pixel is transfered to the Atem (using the 'FTCD' command on an active connection with the Atem), which takes quite a while (8 secs). Maybe other solutions such as the switcher.dll does that too, not sure.

Any ideas?

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Chris Bjork and 6 guests