ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Callen Magnuson

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:15 pm
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN

ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostMon Sep 11, 2017 3:25 pm

I have several ATEM Television Studio HD switchers I manage, and one of them has white noise/static that overpowers everything. I've narrowed it down to the XLR inputs on the back, and the static is heard whether or not anything is plugged into them.

Restarting the switcher by pulling the power in the back will make the issue go away for a while, but it will come back after a few days. Has anybody else had this issue? Is there a fix or do I need to send the hardware in?
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2943
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostMon Sep 11, 2017 10:03 pm

Have you tried different XLR cabling to the back of the unit? Also, if it's possible, try swapping the ATEMs with each other and see if the issue follows the unit or is just a particular connection.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline

Callen Magnuson

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:15 pm
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostMon Sep 18, 2017 3:12 pm

Tony Rivera wrote:Have you tried different XLR cabling to the back of the unit? Also, if it's possible, try swapping the ATEMs with each other and see if the issue follows the unit or is just a particular connection.


I believe this is a defective ATEM unit. swapped with known good cabling, and the issue surfaced again. Also swapped the switcher with another and the issue followed the ATEM switcher.

The unit also reset to default settings over the weekend. Unknown what the cause would be for that.
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2943
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostWed Sep 20, 2017 8:59 pm

If you haven't already, get in contact with the support offices and they can assist you with any further troubleshooting that may be possible and if need be, could set up the unit being sent in to us.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests