Page 1 of 1

ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:25 pm
by Callen Magnuson
I have several ATEM Television Studio HD switchers I manage, and one of them has white noise/static that overpowers everything. I've narrowed it down to the XLR inputs on the back, and the static is heard whether or not anything is plugged into them.

Restarting the switcher by pulling the power in the back will make the issue go away for a while, but it will come back after a few days. Has anybody else had this issue? Is there a fix or do I need to send the hardware in?

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:03 pm
by Tony Rivera
Have you tried different XLR cabling to the back of the unit? Also, if it's possible, try swapping the ATEMs with each other and see if the issue follows the unit or is just a particular connection.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 3:12 pm
by Callen Magnuson
Tony Rivera wrote:Have you tried different XLR cabling to the back of the unit? Also, if it's possible, try swapping the ATEMs with each other and see if the issue follows the unit or is just a particular connection.


I believe this is a defective ATEM unit. swapped with known good cabling, and the issue surfaced again. Also swapped the switcher with another and the issue followed the ATEM switcher.

The unit also reset to default settings over the weekend. Unknown what the cause would be for that.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:59 pm
by Tony Rivera
If you haven't already, get in contact with the support offices and they can assist you with any further troubleshooting that may be possible and if need be, could set up the unit being sent in to us.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:01 pm
by Matt Arnold
We purchased approx 40 of these exact units and are experiencing the same problem you describe here with the white noise... This is occurring on about 10 of the 40 units as far as we understand thus far. What was your resolution to this, Callen?

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:22 pm
by Callen Magnuson
Matt Arnold wrote:We purchased approx 40 of these exact units and are experiencing the same problem you describe here with the white noise... This is occurring on about 10 of the 40 units as far as we understand thus far. What was your resolution to this, Callen?


I RMA'd the unit.

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:34 pm
by Matt Arnold
Callen Magnuson wrote:
Matt Arnold wrote:We purchased approx 40 of these exact units and are experiencing the same problem you describe here with the white noise... This is occurring on about 10 of the 40 units as far as we understand thus far. What was your resolution to this, Callen?


I RMA'd the unit.


The RMA resolved the issue for you? I guess I got a LOT of RMA'ing to do :shock:

Re: ATEM Television Studio HD Audio Static/White Noise

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:41 pm
by Tony Rivera
Matt Arnold wrote:The RMA resolved the issue for you?

Hi Matt, we should be having a support agent reaching out to you regarding this. Keep an eye out for an email/phone call.