Audio In problems - ATEM TV Studio HD

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Jesse Domer

Audio In problems - ATEM TV Studio HD

PostThu Nov 16, 2017 2:56 pm

I am a Tech Ed High School Teacher, just getting back into the Video Class world. I had a previous question answered on this forum about cameras working with our new switcher (thank you).

This question is about Audio Inputs to the Switcher. (ATEM TV Studio HD). I do finally have audio coming in, but I am having to run my microphones through the camera inputs which then brings my audio into the ATEM. I would prefer to either bring it direct to the ATEM switcher back ports or eventually get an audio mixer (when funds free up).

BUT - the reason I am going through the cameras is I can not seem to get the XLR inputs on the back of the switcher to show any audio coming in. I have tried microphones, I have tried direct input from my aux out on my phone. No audio levels show from those back XLR ports. I am sure I am missing something, just do not know what.

Thoughts?
Jesse Domer
WHS Tech Ed Teacher

MambaFiber.com

Re: Audio In problems - ATEM TV Studio HD

PostThu Nov 16, 2017 5:41 pm

The ATEM XLR inputs require a line level signal, +4dbm in tech speak. A microphone output is typically much lower, around -50dbm. That's the equivalent of pulling your fader down 54db from its normal level, which is pretty close to all the way down, or no signal at all. If you didn't have your phone volume turned all the way up, you likely didn't have enough level for the ATEM to show on its meters either.

So if you want to use your ATEM inputs with a microphone, you must boost it's level up about 50db. You can use a mic preamp for a single mic, or better yet use an audio console.