My big dilemma: do I shoot 59.94 or true 60 fps?

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Kairei

My big dilemma: do I shoot 59.94 or true 60 fps?

PostThu Mar 15, 2018 7:46 pm

I’m new to video production and have purchased some BM gear including a studio camera 4K. BM seems to be one of the few vendors that offers us the choice of 59.94 fps or “true” 60 fps when shooting video. I’ve researched extensively and understand that (1) “60” usually means 59.94; (2) 59.94 is the result of the way NTSC video evolved; and (3) even though we can’t easily see the difference, 59.94 and 60 are different and don’t mix inside a BM switcher which requires all inputs to have the *exact* same resolution and frame rate. BM doesn’t offer any advice on this choice, so, before making a huge decision that is potentially very hard to change and/or deal with later if I’ve made the wrong choice I wanted to ask some experts… which do I choose and why?

Pre-requisites:

I’m shooting video to be live streamed and/or released over the web. People might watch on their phone, tablet, PC, Mac, or TV (via Roku or similar).

I don’t care about NTSC compatibility in the sense that I never expect my video to show up as a “real” TV show delivered over the air or via cable.

I *might* care about NTSC compatibility if it means my life will be easier for some reason.

My long term vision is to add an ATEM 4K switcher. In addition to my cameras I envision connecting sources like the HDMI output of my PC and my Mac, my iPhone and iPad. I may also want to switch to OTHER video, i.e. playing from the “media” stored on the switcher, which will most likely be 29.97 or 59.94.

PROS:

I’m leaning towards true 60p based on these pros:

Leaves the “legacy” of NTSC behind

Seems like a simpler “fresh start” for the modern age