It’s time for BMD to create some “typical” system designs

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Peter Gould

It’s time for BMD to create some “typical” system designs

PostSat Apr 07, 2018 12:52 pm

I posted an article similar to this on Creative Cow and I’m posting this one here in an effort to reach BMD’s attention.

Among my other pursuits, I'm an adjunct professor teaching film and television production at a community college. I and one other adjunct have completely taken the department over from the full time professor who was running it, who just retired. We are undertaking raising funds for a complete facility redesign. It's desperately needed. To get a sense of how far behind they are: the centerpiece of their studio is an Echolab SD switcher. Echolab hasn’t existed as a company since 2010. Six classes use that studio. It is one equipment failure away from bringing the program to its knees.

So: our plan will use a 4 M/E BMD switcher, URSA Broadcast cameras with studio viewfinders, Hyperdecks, all new infrastructure, etc., etc. Pretty much the racks and the lighting grid will be all that remains from the former incarnation.

But I ran into a major omission among BMD's documents that I suggest the company should remedy as you embark more and more into SYSTEMS instead of individual pieces of gear, and that is some boilerplate system designs that fully reveal the engineering team's vision of how a complete BMD studio would ideally work.