Yamaha QL 1 / ATEM

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Paolo Boccotti

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:17 am

Yamaha QL 1 / ATEM

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 5:29 pm

Hallo,
somebody could you tell me if I can connect Yamaha QL1 Audio Mixer to the ATEM software and use the QL1 as a control panel?

Thank you!

Paolo
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2393
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Yamaha QL 1 / ATEM

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 7:21 pm

Only if you are able to get MACKIE midi protocol out of that midi port.. And then you need a USB <> MIDI converter to connect it to the PC.

You will only be able to control the faders and on off.. No meters will come back and no advanced audio setup .. ;)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Roman Pytkin Pekarek

  • Posts: 1002
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Yamaha QL 1 / ATEM

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 9:29 am

With Midas/Behringer X32/M32 family it works very good ..
http://www.media-planet.sk
http://www.stonepp.tv
http://213.sk
Offline

Paolo Boccotti

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:17 am

Re: Yamaha QL 1 / ATEM

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 2:26 pm

Thank You very much!
another question, with M32R I will connect by ethernet of to the USB computer and then ethernet with ATEM?
With M32R I can also see meters and audio advanced setup?

Thanks again for your help

Paolo
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2393
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Yamaha QL 1 / ATEM

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 2:41 pm

NO Again.. It is ONLY midi control..
So a M32 you should link faders to midi.
Tell the desk to run MACKIE mode.
Connect Midi of your desk to a computer that is running the Atem Software.. (It will only act as a midi controller and only function in combination with the Atem Software running on a PC / MAC)

And you will ONLY be able to control the faders and ON/OFF switches of the aduio panel.. There is no return data that will do meters, there is also NO advanced audio settings..

Just some fader control!!
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2393
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Yamaha QL 1 / ATEM

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 2:48 pm

Atem Manual>> http://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/A ... Manual.pdf
Look at page 187... There is a very good explaination how it works!!
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline
User avatar

Scott Smith

  • Posts: 952
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:51 pm

Re: Yamaha QL 1 / ATEM

PostFri Apr 13, 2018 7:28 pm

I have a Behringer X-TOUCH COMPACT Universal Control Surface (around $300 USD) that works well with it. You connect up the control surface via USB to your computer you are using to control the ATEM (that is connected to the ATEM via ethernet.) Set the X-TOUCH to Mackie midi protocol. Start ATEM software AFTER connecting and powering up control surface. Then it works like a charm. Anything you choose use for this must claim "Mackie Protocol" for the MIDI output.
Scott R Smith
BMD Stuff I use: ATEM 2-M/E, 4 x ATEM PS 4K, Broadcast Videohub, 6 Hyperdeck Pros, 4 Hyperdeck Shuttles, Multidock, Smartscope Duo, Smartview, Intensity Extreme, Decklink Studio, and lots of Miniconverters and Open Gear Converters.
Offline

Paolo Boccotti

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:17 am

Re: Yamaha QL 1 / ATEM

PostSat Apr 14, 2018 9:25 am

THANKS AGAIN TO ALL!!!

Paolo

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: scruffy and 5 guests