StudioPro 4K Question-Probably Stupid

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

jak754

StudioPro 4K Question-Probably Stupid

PostMon Apr 23, 2018 3:09 am

Hello,
I am a technical theater teacher in the US, please be nice! I am a sound guy who happens to do lights and, now, video production. I am looking to switch from a Tricaster Mini to the world of BlackMagic. I knew nothing when I got the Mini a couple years ago and have been disappointed with the product since. My salesperson talked me into it.

My apologies if this information is already out there, I have looked over the forum and couldn't find an answer. I am looking to build a system around a StudioPro4k and was wondering if the HDMI and SDI multiview outputs work in tandem. I want like to have the switcher setup with a multiview monitor within our theater and then have a secondary multiview in a production room, not inside the house.

Thanks!

Asgeir Hustad

Re: StudioPro 4K Question-Probably Stupid

PostTue Apr 24, 2018 7:19 am

Hi

Yes, both multiview outputs work simultaneously. I'm generally doing the same thing here, using the HDMI one in the control room, and then sending the SDI Multiview to a small screen up with the lighting tech. I'm working with the original 1M/E though, but I have no doubt it works the same.

Of course, your multiviewer outputs will be identical - you don't have two different multiviewers on the Studio Pro 4k.

jak754

PostTue Apr 24, 2018 6:32 pm

Thanks, I appreciate the answer. Good to know the multiview outputs will be identical. Do you like your equipment? I was burned with the NewTek stuff, I don't want to make the same mistake.

Asgeir Hustad

PostTue Apr 24, 2018 10:23 pm

I'm very pleased with my 1M/E - but I'm actually quickly running out of inputs and outputs for any production that get's moderately more complex than a regular concert show to projectors and tape.