Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD - HDMI OUT

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

mdmitchell89

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:41 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Mitchell

Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD - HDMI OUT

PostWed Apr 25, 2018 7:46 pm

I'm new here and i have searched the internet for this basic question but have found nothing, so please don't slaughter me lol. I just have a simple question about running the program out to HDMI. Usually i use the blackmagic design ATEM TV studio HD switcher to connect it to a laptop a run live feed via wirecast. Today i was asked if i could switch live feed with this equipment but directly to video board to display a live performance. I noticed there is no HDMI out on the back of this switcher. How can i run the program feed out via HDMI to the VJ so i can go on a video board. hopefully i asked this correctly, im sure the answer is simple but i'm overthinking it. Thanks
Offline
User avatar

Scott Smith

  • Posts: 953
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:51 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD - HDMI OUT

PostWed Apr 25, 2018 9:08 pm

You run out of the ATEM via HD-SDI over a coaxial BNC cable, and convert the signal to HDMI using a Blackmagic SDI to HDMI mini-converter or other similar converter (including the awesome Decimator MD-HX). The decimator does all kinds of things, and will scale, convert SDI level A & B, will change colorspace from YUV to/from RGB, and will change frame rates. It is worth having one in your box o goodies.
Scott R Smith
BMD Stuff I use: ATEM 2-M/E, 4 x ATEM PS 4K, Broadcast Videohub, 6 Hyperdeck Pros, 4 Hyperdeck Shuttles, Multidock, Smartscope Duo, Smartview, Intensity Extreme, Decklink Studio, and lots of Miniconverters and Open Gear Converters.
Offline

mdmitchell89

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:41 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Mitchell

Re: Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD - HDMI OUT

PostWed Apr 25, 2018 9:18 pm

Scott Smith wrote:You run out of the ATEM via HD-SDI over a coaxial BNC cable, and convert the signal to HDMI using a Blackmagic SDI to HDMI mini-converter or other similar converter (including the awesome Decimator MD-HX). The decimator does all kinds of things, and will scale, convert SDI level A & B, will change colorspace from YUV to/from RGB, and will change frame rates. It is worth having one in your box o goodies.



So just to clarify this would run out of which port in the back ?
Offline
User avatar

Scott Smith

  • Posts: 953
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:51 pm

Re: Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD - HDMI OUT

PostWed Apr 25, 2018 10:04 pm

PGM / Program out.

You are on the fairly new small unit, right? This one? If so, PGM out as well as any of the four "SDI outputs" (provided you aren't actually using the talkback feature AND don't want that audio in the feed.) You can also route PGM to the Aux out and use it.

Image
Scott R Smith
BMD Stuff I use: ATEM 2-M/E, 4 x ATEM PS 4K, Broadcast Videohub, 6 Hyperdeck Pros, 4 Hyperdeck Shuttles, Multidock, Smartscope Duo, Smartview, Intensity Extreme, Decklink Studio, and lots of Miniconverters and Open Gear Converters.
Offline

mdmitchell89

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:41 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Mitchell

Re: Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD - HDMI OUT

PostThu Apr 26, 2018 12:49 am

Ok yeah we won’t need audio, I thought running out the pgm via sdi would work, and then converting to hdmi, ok awesome thanks, just had to be sure cause I don’t have the unit with me. Thanks
Offline

mdmitchell89

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:41 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Mitchell

Re: Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD - HDMI OUT

PostTue May 15, 2018 4:59 pm

Scott Smith wrote:PGM / Program out.

You are on the fairly new small unit, right? This one? If so, PGM out as well as any of the four "SDI outputs" (provided you aren't actually using the talkback feature AND don't want that audio in the feed.) You can also route PGM to the Aux out and use it.

Image


Do you know the standard codec and or resolution that the box outputs ? If I’m going directly from this unit to a VJ and he wants to put it on a big screen for people to see


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Offline

Jon Hart

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:13 pm
  • Location: Provo, Utah

Re: Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD - HDMI OUT

PostWed May 16, 2018 3:09 am

What do you mean by codec? I know what it is, but I've never heard it used in this context before.

The resolution out is whatever you have your switcher set to.
Online

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 9124
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD - HDMI OUT

PostFri May 18, 2018 5:14 am

The switcher outputs a standard video signal,10-bit 4.2.2 YUV co,or space, at the resolution you have it set for, 1080p59.94 for example. Codec are used by recording devices, like ProRes, or AVCHD. The ATEM does not record the video signal, so no codec.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests