Possible to run live video to another video board and record

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

mdmitchell89

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:41 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Mitchell

Possible to run live video to another video board and record

PostTue May 15, 2018 2:54 am

With the Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD Live Production Switcher, is it possible to run the program to a laptop to record, while simultaneously that same raw feed out to a large video board. So I would be trying to have the program out going to a laptop that is running wirecast and recording, and then using one of the 4 outputs on the back to send the feed to a vj. Just wondering if this is possible ? And if so what codex is the video coming from the output ?
Offline

Jon Hart

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:13 pm
  • Location: Provo, Utah

Re: Possible to run live video to another video board and re

PostWed May 16, 2018 3:11 am

Also replied to your comment on other thread.

Never heard codec used in the context of the ATEM before.

Can also set your aux output to program, and feed the video board/wall through that.
Offline

Dave Del Vecchio

  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:25 am

Re: Possible to run live video to another video board and re

PostThu May 17, 2018 11:07 pm

All of the SDI video outputs on the ATEM are uncompressed video (no compression codec is used). To record this video signal, you would typically use a standalone video recorder or a video capture card/device connected to a computer.

Which codec you use for recording would depend on the recording device used. If you are using Wirecast to record, I believe it can save files using either H.264 or MJPEG compression. But the input into Wirecast would be uncompressed video.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Scott Ryan and 2 guests