New Streamer

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

newstreamer

New Streamer

PostSun May 20, 2018 2:11 pm

Hi to all experts,

I am new in the game of streaming, well with professional equipment anyway. I have been streaming on Facebook for about a year and now decided to invest into real equipment.

I have bought a Canon EOS 5D Mark IV and the necessary lighting, microphones etc. The purpose will be
1. Live Stream on Facebook and YouTube
2. Create short videos (not live) that will use a green screen for background images.

I have been told to get the following:

Blackmagic WebPresenter
Blackmagic Teranex Mini Smart Panel
Blackmagic ATEM Television Studio
Blackmagic UltraStudio HD Mini

I will occasionally be connecting two cameras, but it is not a must for me. I will however be using a green screen when producing short videos on the Canon and then uploading them and/or sending the finished product to a TV channel.

What does everyone think if this setup? is it the right way to go or shall I opt for something better or alternative. Budget isn't the biggest problem but don't want to get things I don't need.

Shall I use a Dell XPS or Macbook and finally which is the better editing software DaVinci, FinalCut, PremierPro or Avid?

My biggest concern is spending this money and then not being able to stream properly at the quality I want. Is is worth getting the better ATEM studio or something else. I am confused.

My camera is 4k but I was hoping to stream 720 at least ideally 1080p. The web presenter doesn't do the latter. Is there an alternative or an addition to the web presenter that I require?

Your help and feedback is appreciated.

Kevin McGrath

Re: New Streamer

PostWed May 23, 2018 12:28 am

If you are only using 2 cameras you don’t need all that equipment