Several questions

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

rschoenert

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Schoenert

Several questions

PostMon Aug 06, 2018 10:01 pm

We recently purchased an ATEM switcher and a SDI to HDMI converter:
Question: How many outputs from the SDI OUT on the ATEM switcher do we need with 2 cameras?
We want to display to a large screen TV AND record what is seen on the large TV.
How many cables from the switcher do we need? Is it one for each camera?

Second question: the SDI to HDMI converter has a HDMI normal connector on 1 side and the other side it has 2 SDI IN.
What is the 2nd SDI connection for? Can it be used to feed a computer screen?

Robert Schoenert
Offline
User avatar

Richard Courtney

  • Posts: 345
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:50 pm

Re: Several questions

PostMon Aug 06, 2018 11:25 pm

You will connect your two cameras directly to the switcher using the appopriate cable that plugs into your camera.

We need exact details on the cameras and your ATEM model.

You will also have a preview monitor that will need an appropriate cable. This will show all your inputs, preview and program out.

What device are you using to record? What input does it need?

The second SDI is a pass thru port.
Offline

rschoenert

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Schoenert

Re: Several questions

PostTue Aug 07, 2018 12:37 am

Richard, we have the Blackmagic Design ATEM Television Studio HD Live Production Switcher.
Our 2 cameras are Canon Vixia HF R21.

Thanks for your quick reply

Robert
Offline

Harry Parker

  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 10:57 pm

Re: Several questions

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 5:51 am

Hi Robert,
Your cameras only have a HDMI output so, if you want to have them further than 2m from the switcher, you will need to convert the output form them to SDI. Your preview (multiview) monitor will need a HDMI cable. On the back of your switcher you will see an SDI PGM out, an Aux out, and each SDI input has an output as well. This means that you have 5x Program outputs while the Aux out can be assigned to output anything you choose.
You will converters for each camera, a converter for your TV, unless it has an SDI in. You will also need a recorder of some sort with either a HDMI (converter required) or SDI input.
Your patch should look like:- Cam 1 - SDI5; Cam 2 - SDI6; PGM out - TV; SDI5 out - Recorder. If you look in the menu you will find where you can allocate program audio to be embedded into the SDI 5-8 PGM outs.
Make sure you buy good quality cables, cheap HDMI cables don't work, and the same goes for SDI leads.
All the best,
Harry
Offline

rschoenert

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 9:05 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Schoenert

Re: Several questions

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 10:31 am

I forgot to mention that we do have a recorder...Blackmagic Hyper Deck.
Thanks for this, I is REALLY helpful.

Robert
Offline
User avatar

Jordan Prod

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 1:13 pm
  • Location: Northampton, UK
  • Real Name: Jordan Hollowell

Re: Several questions

PostMon Aug 13, 2018 3:47 pm

rschoenert wrote:We recently purchased an ATEM switcher and a SDI to HDMI converter:
Question: How many outputs from the SDI OUT on the ATEM switcher do we need with 2 cameras?
We want to display to a large screen TV AND record what is seen on the large TV.
How many cables from the switcher do we need? Is it one for each camera?

Second question: the SDI to HDMI converter has a HDMI normal connector on 1 side and the other side it has 2 SDI IN.
What is the 2nd SDI connection for? Can it be used to feed a computer screen?

Robert Schoenert


Two cameras will have one output each either SDI or HDMI. If HDMI as suggested above you will need to convert them to SDI.

Connect the cameras to the numbered connections on the back of the switcher(SDI inputs). Each connection represents an input 1-20. (input one can be either HDMI or SDI)

You then need a connection from the OUTPUTs (program outputs) on the back of the switcher to the TV(SDI or HDMI, you only have one program out using HDMI though) and another connection from the OUTPUTs to the Hyperdeck recorder (SDI or HDMI).

So in total two cables (and maybe converters) for cameras going IN

One OUTPUT going to TV

One OUTPUT going into Hyperdeck for record.
Blackmagic Kit:
ATEM 2 M/E Production Studio 4K
ATEM 1 M/E Advanced Panel
HyperDeck Mini x2
Web Presenter
SDI to HDMI converter
HDMI to SDI converter
UltraStudio Express

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests