Black Screen - help

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

TheLazyC

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:31 pm
  • Real Name: Ken Currin

Black Screen - help

PostWed Aug 22, 2018 11:40 pm

I am using a MacBook Pro running MacOS 10.13.5 and have purchased a Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Recorder for streaming live audio/video to YouTube and/or Facebook Live.

I have the Thunderbolt model and have loaded drivers, etc. OBS and Blackmagic Media Express as well as YouTube and Facebook recognize that the device is connected. I have a white light on at the Thunderbolt plug.I have configured the input to HDMI and made no other changes and saved.

I was trying to stream from my Nikon D500 and cannot get a video to display. I can plug the D500 up to a 4k 7" monitor and get a nice video.

I just get a black screen in all programs. In playing around I plugged up my AppleTV and it was black as well, turned, unplugged and replugged the HDMI and all of a sudden I was able to see my AppleTV within the capture window. So I knew it was working, unplugged and plugged back up to the camera and still just a black screen.

What am I leaving out or doing wrong?
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3553
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Black Screen - help

PostThu Aug 23, 2018 7:33 am

Be sure you send in the correct resolution and framerate.. the Ultrastudio only goes up to 1080I not 1080P while the Nikon will send out 1080P or higher..

You image from the Appletv is probbably due too that the appletv for a brief moment got down to 720P.. ;)
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

TC Conway

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 4:00 pm

Re: Black Screen - help

PostMon Sep 03, 2018 8:33 pm

I too am having that problem, sort of.

I have the UltraStudio HD Mini with a Teranex Mini Smart Panel. I'm sending video from a Hyperdeck mini to the Ultrastudio with a Teranex sreen connected. The screen shows the incoming source as SDI, video format as 1080i59.94 and buffer at 19fr, but no picture or audio bars movement on the Teranex screen. BUT...I can see/hear picture perfectly in Media Express on the computer.

TheLazyC: Are you getting picture/sound in Media Express, and not on the Teranex screen?
Offline

TheLazyC

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:31 pm
  • Real Name: Ken Currin

Re: Black Screen - help

PostMon Sep 03, 2018 9:03 pm

TC Conway wrote:I too am having that problem, sort of.

I have the UltraStudio HD Mini with a Teranex Mini Smart Panel. The panel shows the source as SDI, video format as 1080i59.94 and buffer at 19fr. But no picture or audio bars movement. BUT...I can see/hear picture perfectly in Media Express on the computer.

TheLazyC: Are you getting picture/sound in Media Express, and not on the Teranex screen?



I am not getting it anywhere. I have not tried anymore, but it was suggested that I had picked the wrong format, I should have picked 1080i rather than p
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3553
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Black Screen - help

PostTue Sep 04, 2018 3:42 pm

@TC.. Topic starter is talking about Ultrastudio mini recorder. Not the HD with teranex screen..
The mini will only capture up to 1080i50/60 or up to 1080P25/30 maximum!

Image

PS. Check if there is a FW update for yours.. Might fix the screen issue..
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

kylemay

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:15 pm
  • Real Name: Kyle May

Re: Black Screen - help

PostFri Aug 09, 2019 9:21 pm

Curious if anybody found a solution to this problem. I have the same issue, but looking at the specs for the UltraStudio Mini Recorder, it does support 1080p30. With that said, I have tried every setting possible on my D500 and cannot get the UltraStudio to detect it. Video appears fine plugged directly into a monitor. Other devices into the UltraStudio work fine including 1080p30 devices. D500 is the only device I cannot get to work.

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests