New(ish) to ATEM TVS HD + live broadcast set up, need help!

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

cprice

New(ish) to ATEM TVS HD + live broadcast set up, need help!

PostWed Dec 26, 2018 5:45 pm

Hello everyone!

I'm fairly new to the ATEM realm but I have a decent understanding of broadcast and have been learning as much as I can. At my job, we do some training that we broadcast out to our retail stores. We've done this a couple times now and have not had an issue but we just upgraded from the ATEM TVS to the ATEM TVS HD and we lost the local recording function. The old ATEM TVS didn't need a capture device and could record via the USB 2.0 (that's what google searches came up with).

Our set up at the moment only consists of the ATEM TVS HD and from there we go SDI Program out to BMD SDI to HDMI micro-converter, then to an HDMI to USB 3.0 converter that is recognized as a camera input for our live broadcast. We use GoTo Webinar for our live broadcasting and we've tested that already with the new switcher and that works.

Now we have a Hyperdeck Shuttle (I think it's the 1 and not the 2) that's been collecting dust, but we don't have an SSD. If I were to get the SSD and go SDI program out to the Hyperdeck Shuttle, could I go HDMI out from the Hyperdeck Shuttle and still live broadcast that feed or do I need to use the Auxillary port on the switcher and set it to output program. We were hoping to utilize the Auxillary to a monitor so the talent can see what we're broadcasting.

If we were to get the Hyperdeck Studio Mini, would that be an easier route? And then would I be able to go through the Hyperdeck Studio Mini and record but also broadcast that out still or use the Auxillary port?