Possible solution

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

baohulu88

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:09 am
  • Real Name: Wai Kit Lim

Possible solution

PostMon Dec 31, 2018 2:14 am

Hi, currently i'm doing a project on 4K live broadcasting (4units 4K camcorder) The following image is the rough idea of it :
Screenshot 2018-12-31 at 10.05.32 AM.png
Screenshot 2018-12-31 at 10.05.32 AM.png (940.59 KiB) Viewed 504 times


The requirement for this project :
1) The video quality must be 4K and will be recorded in a 4K format
2) The switcher is able to view all 4 camcorder but only choose a particular camcorder for the recording (able to switch )
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 3431
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Possible solution

PostTue Jan 01, 2019 3:25 pm

Well in rough it would work. But you did not mention which camera. Also 50 meter SDI to the fiber converter on 12G. No way!! 30/40 meters MAX!! with the right cable and 12G capable connectors.

But better hold it at 20 meters max Because even with good cable and connectors you loose so much on the cable that a Dropout is waiting to be happening. ;)

** Got 3 years experience with 12G Sdi in a Broadcast environment running 12G trough fiber. All our cameras have the Fiber converter direct on the camera. ;)
For more info>> viewtopic.php?f=4&t=83788#p465287
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV Trailer, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 4M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, Ursa Broadcast 4K, 4K fiber converters with Sony Control
Offline

Denny Smith

  • Posts: 10423
  • Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:19 pm
  • Location: USA, Northern Calif.

Re: Possible solution

PostTue Jan 01, 2019 6:22 pm

Daniel has nailed this. Choosing Broadcast type cameras like Ursa Broadcast offers the advantage of connecting the rover converter directly to the camera, eliminating long runs from camera to Converter, and one more set of connections to deal with. The camera then has the one fiber cable coming directly off it to thr control center with the switching connections close to the switcher. My experience in studios has taught me to keep camera/switcher connections as simple,as possible, and the fewer connections the better.
Cheers
Denny Smith
SHA Productions
Offline
User avatar

Baz

  • Posts: 548
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:06 am
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Possible solution

PostTue Jan 01, 2019 10:55 pm

For Belden 1694A and Canare L-4.5CHD:

Distance for cable lengths are:
3G-SDI 100 meters
6G-SDI 80 meters
12G-SDI 50 meters

Here is my fiber rig...
Image

MISC
U/S Express, SmartviewDuo, SmartScopeDuo, Teranex 2D, Web Pres, 5/7 Vid Assists
VIDEOHUB
Smart 12x12
12x24
72x144
HYPERDECK
Studio, Shuttle, Studio Mini
ATEM
2me4K, 2me, TVS, TVS HD, CamConvs, StudioConvs, Studio Cams, Micro Studio Cam
Offline

baohulu88

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:09 am
  • Real Name: Wai Kit Lim

Re: Possible solution

PostWed Jan 02, 2019 2:27 am

Baz wrote:For Belden 1694A and Canare L-4.5CHD:

Distance for cable lengths are:
3G-SDI 100 meters
6G-SDI 80 meters
12G-SDI 50 meters

Here is my fiber rig...
Image

Is the fibre optics durable? This is because the fibre optics cable seems like very easily to get broke.
Offline

baohulu88

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:09 am
  • Real Name: Wai Kit Lim

Re: Possible solution

PostWed Jan 02, 2019 3:41 am

Xtreemtec wrote:Well in rough it would work. But you did not mention which camera. Also 50 meter SDI to the fiber converter on 12G. No way!! 30/40 meters MAX!! with the right cable and 12G capable connectors.

But better hold it at 20 meters max Because even with good cable and connectors you loose so much on the cable that a Dropout is waiting to be happening. ;)

** Got 3 years experience with 12G Sdi in a Broadcast environment running 12G trough fiber. All our cameras have the Fiber converter direct on the camera. ;)
For more info>> viewtopic.php?f=4&t=83788#p465287

Thanks for your suggestion, however, the Panasonic 4K video camcorder need to be portable so where can i plug the converter at the camcorder. If yes, does the converter consumer a lot of battery from the camcorder itself.
Offline

baohulu88

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:09 am
  • Real Name: Wai Kit Lim

Re: Possible solution

PostWed Jan 16, 2019 4:29 am

Any others professional advice?

Return to Live Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests