Trying to live stream with a Canon EOS C100 video camera

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

Ben2013

PostTue May 28, 2013 10:45 pm

Hi, I'm very new to live streaming and have been having some problems getting it set up. I'm hoping to live stream through Google Hangout on Air, but haven't been able to live stream through anything at this point.

The equipment I am using is:

-A Canon EOS C100 with HDMI out
-A Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt with HDMI in and Thunderbolt cable out
-A 13-inch Early 2011 MacBook Pro with Thunderbolt cable in
-Audio cable connecting the video camera to the Shuttle

I've been using Flash Media Live Encoder to try to get the camera live stream setup. The Blackmagic settings do show up in Flash Media Live Encoder but I can't get the picture to show up. (The picture does show up in FMLE if I use the Mac's built-in FaceTime HD Camera).

So, does anyone know how I can get the picture from the Canon C100 video camera to show up? There are quite a few Blackmagic settings, and I've tried each with no success. Any and all help with this matter is greatly appreciated.

Allen Freeman

Re: Trying to live stream with a Canon EOS C100 video camera

PostWed May 29, 2013 12:09 am

What resolution is the C100 set to?

Also, why are you using a separate audio cable from the camera to the converter? Isn't the audio embedded in the HDMI / SDI signal?
~~
Allen Freeman
Penn's Hill Media
www.pennshill.com

Chad

PostWed May 29, 2013 1:54 am

Blackmagic devices are very particular about resolution and framerate. Also note that the "recording" format of the camera (to tape/card) won't necessarily be the same format as is being put out on the HDMI cable. For example on my camera even if I set the capture format to 1080p24 it still puts out 1080i60 out the HDMI port.