Help with ATEM Switcher and BMSC

Questions about ATEM Switchers, Camera Converter and everything live!
  • Author

tommyd23

Help with ATEM Switcher and BMSC

PostTue May 07, 2019 11:14 am

Hi,

I am after some help with some Blackmagic Studio Cameras x2 and an ATEM switcher. I am new to this set up so bear with me. Our goal is to use this set up to record interviews with companies in the mining industry- they aren't going to be broadcasted live, we just wanted something which would allow live editing of the interview so we can upload straight away - our usual workflow was to record on DSLR's and then edit/colour grade etc. This Blackmagic set up is to reduce post production time.

So for the issues we are having. The cameras are being fed into the ATEM via SDI. The 2 cameras we have are using Canon EF lenses (we had to get Micro 4/3 adapters for our existing lenses to fit). One lens is a 50m prime 1.4, the other is a 24-105m zoom with an aperture of 4.0. The cameras themselves do not have a lot of controls built in (something I'm used to having with DSLRs) - it seems I can only change the gain, detail and white balance. So I would assume I would get more controls in the ATEM. Can I change the aperture? It seems as though the cameras are just defaulting to the lowest stop on the aperture and because one lens is 1.4 it is very overexposed. Would the quick solution be to get the exact same lenses for both cameras?

I can also see that in the ATEM Software Control there are some options for colour grading. However, if I try to change anything with the dials, nothing changes. Am I doing something wrong? The studio cameras supposedly have colour correcting capabilities but I can't get it working.

Hopefully this is clear and someone can help- like I said I've come from a DSLR background so moving into this is totally different! Appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Tom

Brett Casadonte

Re: Help with ATEM Switcher and BMSC

PostTue May 07, 2019 3:35 pm

Hi Tom,