UltraStudio Express blackouts?

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

tbob

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:11 pm

UltraStudio Express blackouts?

PostFri Oct 19, 2012 11:22 am

Is anyone else out there experiencing blackouts on their UltraStudio Express over Thunderbolt? The monitor seems to just come and go as it pleases. The audio is consistent, but the video not so much. Sometimes, we'll start editing in Avid, and it just won't come on for 15 minutes or so, then all of a sudden, the monitor will show picture. Then off again, on again...

OSX 10.7.4 / 10.7.5
Avid MC 6.0.3

Just wondering if we got a defective one, or if these blackouts are common?

We tried a different company's Thunderbolt breakout box on the same rig, which seems to be just fine, so it's not the monitor.

Anyone have this experience?
Offline

avpfilms

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:40 pm

Re: UltraStudio Express blackouts?

PostSat Oct 20, 2012 6:17 am

Hi Tbob- just got mine working today. The box worked fine for many hours, on Premiere and Aftereffects. Then the monitor had not picture and the NLE's didn't show the box available. Had to power down everything several times, reconnect cables and finally the little LED went back on. Don't have the foggiest what would cause it, but, will post more if anything is revealed. I had to totally unplug everything and all the power to get it running again.
Offline

avpfilms

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:40 pm

Re: UltraStudio Express blackouts?

PostSun Oct 21, 2012 3:23 am

Question for you, have you been able to get anything to play without dropping frames. I'm on a MacbookPro I7 quad (8 cores) 16gb ram with ATI Radeon 6750m & Thunderbolt Raid 2bigs with 300 mbs read speed., I've tried all the setups and can't get one thing to play without dropping frames in either CS6 Premiere Pro or FCPX. I can drive 10bit uncompressed like soft butter when not connected to a video monitor. I'm thinking I have a defective unit too. This is just crazy since it's only MPB and Imacs having thunderbolt. Anyway would love to hear what other's going through.

Also had the unit randomly switch to 480i, never changing to a different sequence or project in both Premiere and FCPX.
Offline

tbob

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:11 pm

Re: UltraStudio Express blackouts?

PostTue Oct 23, 2012 7:08 pm

When it's not blacked out, playback is just fine, and it never drops frames. At this point, we've pretty much given up on the thing. It's either defective or just doesn't work well, and I just don't have time to debug, so I'm sending it back.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests