Compositing showing edge lines

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Elliott Balsley

  • Posts: 615
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 5:45 pm
  • Location: Southern California

Compositing showing edge lines

PostTue Aug 11, 2015 2:54 am

I want to do a simple split-screen composite in Resolve (v11) to hide an actor issue. I put a shot on track V2 above an identical shot on track V1, and crop the top clip to make a split screen. Now I am seeing a horizontal line across the frame along the edge of the top clip. How to fix this?

The clips are 6K R3D in an HD timeline, and I'm using full debayer. The problem is visible in the viewer and also in rendered QuickTime output. I thought maybe it's related to anti-aliasing, but I've tried aliasing both on and off in Image Scaling settings, and it makes no difference. I also tried changing the Resize Filter from sharper to smoother
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-08-10 at 7.48.11 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2015-08-10 at 7.48.11 PM.jpg (825.64 KiB) Viewed 1520 times
Offline
User avatar

Eddy Juillerat

  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2015 9:58 am
  • Location: Switzerland

Re: Compositing showing edge lines

PostTue Aug 11, 2015 8:01 am

Did you have an alpha mask with blur contour? Maybe for some reason Resolve bring the blurring around the frame. Or a power window position or size?
It happened to me once, when I was enhancing the contrast in midtones of some part of the image with qualifier, suddenly the frame shows a little white border.
Maybe if you show a capture of your nodes tree, we can see what's going on.
Cameras: [BMPCC4K - Panasonic Lumix lenses] - [BMCC 2,5K EF - Sigma EX lenses]
System: Windows 10 pro 64 bits SSD - 5.1 - Resolve 16.0
Asus board X99-s - Intel Core i7-5960x 3 GHz - RAM 32 GB - Nvidia Quadro K4000
CUDA 3.0
Offline
User avatar

Elliott Balsley

  • Posts: 615
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 5:45 pm
  • Location: Southern California

Re: Compositing showing edge lines

PostTue Aug 11, 2015 6:55 pm

This happens with zero clip and track nodes. No alpha channels — the only thing I set is the crop on clip 2.
Offline
User avatar

Kelly Reese

  • Posts: 198
  • Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:39 am
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Compositing showing edge lines

PostWed Aug 12, 2015 7:13 pm

I've seen the same thing in R11. It seems like a limitation of the software.
Offline

Patrick Tauscher

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 7:03 pm

Re: Compositing showing edge lines

PostWed Aug 12, 2015 7:17 pm

Looks like a premult / unpremult problem.
Offline

Dmitry Kitsov BMD

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 273
  • Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 11:43 pm

Re: Compositing showing edge lines

PostWed Aug 12, 2015 9:43 pm

Hello, Elliot,
Thank you for alerting us to this issue.
I was able to replicate an issue

I have found a workaround:

On a clip that is cropped (layer above):

1. Smooth setting for both resize and debayer in the sizing tab of the Project settings. Bilinear setting for the Monitoring section of the Master Project Settings.

2. In a node tree upstream of any corrections add a layer mixer node.

3. Remove link from the origin to the secondary node that feeds the layer mixer.

4. Right click on the secondary node and add external matte (chose the clip itself)

5. New node will pop up upstream of the secondary node, that is feeding the layer mixer node.

6. Disconnect the key feeder link (Triangle to Triangle) from the EXT MATTE and replace with the image link circle to circle).

This will remove the matte line. The layer mixer node should be on the normal mode.

I have performed the testing on a 6K r3d media in both 11.3.1 and 12 beta 28

2015-08-12 02.18.32 pm.jpg
2015-08-12 02.18.32 pm.jpg (150.83 KiB) Viewed 1390 times
Blackmagic Design Technical support engineer
any posts made by myself prior to May 27, 2014 were before my employment with Blackmagic Design.
Offline
User avatar

Elliott Balsley

  • Posts: 615
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 5:45 pm
  • Location: Southern California

Re: Compositing showing edge lines

PostThu Aug 13, 2015 12:03 am

Thanks, that trick works.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cary Knoop, Google [Bot], Hans-Juergen, Lucius Snow, mediastudio, PRESSRESET, QuantumImages, Yunior and 110 guests