Does the motherboard have to be X58 chipset?

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

X888X

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:16 am

Does the motherboard have to be X58 chipset?

PostWed Jan 09, 2013 3:20 am

I don't feel like buying a motherboard with a X58 chipset just for a BlackMagic Intensity Shuttle, if so can I have some capture cards that have RCA and HDMI HD?
Offline

Radman

  • Posts: 518
  • Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: Does the motherboard have to be X58 chipset?

PostWed Jan 09, 2013 3:11 pm

Hi,
This may be their recommendation though. Tested board.
If you go with anything other test it first a make sure it works.
There are other options which might effect your wallet.
Hopefully others can add to this to help.
Radman.
Offline

Paolo Castellano

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 5:36 pm
  • Location: Italy

Re: Does the motherboard have to be X58 chipset?

PostFri Jan 11, 2013 12:28 am

Hi,
there are lots of newer motherboards compatible. There are lots of posts in this forum about it, but I can summarize that my experience is that some chipsets doesn't work (H67) while others do (X58,Z77, X79), as well as the Renesas is not the only good USB 3.0 host bus adapter, since the Asmedia and the Intel ones work too.
Tested maiboards are (by me and many friends)

Asus P6T Deluxe and similar (with Renesas PCI-E HBA)
Asus X58 Sabertooth (with onboard USB 3.0)
Asus P8Z77-M (with onboard Asmedia and/or Intel USB 3.0)
Asus P8Z77-V LK (with onboard Asmedia and Intel USB 3.0)
Asus P9X79 (with onboard Asmedia USB 3.0)

Best Regards,

Paolo Castellano
http://www.ivsEdits.com

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests