Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan X

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Francois Dompierre

  • Posts: 177
  • Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal, Canada

Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan X

PostThu Jun 23, 2016 8:03 pm

Hello,

I've been using the free version of Resolve on MacOS and I'm thinking of buying the Studio version mostly to speed up my noise reduction needs. Since there is no way to preview the performance without buying the software, I would like to know what I can expect with my system. I've been using NeatVideo (first v3 and now v4) and although the quality is quite good, the performance is horrendous. Forget real time, I'm talking several minutes of node cache rendering for even the smallest of clips in 1080p. It's basically unusable, and I have a fairly beefy system (with Titan X 12GB). It's also quite buggy. I've been talking to Vlad at NeatVideo and he suggested turning off GPU acceleration to make it more stable. He said the issue was with Resolve memory allocation, and not with them. Turning off GPU sure got rid of the stability issues, but the speed is even worse now, for obvious reasons --

Which brings me to Resolve Studio noise reduction. Can I expect real time playback of basic noise reduction with Titan X on 1080p material? Can I expect real time playback if I use higher quality / more agressive noise reduction? What about 4K?

Thanks!
François Dompierre
Senior Colorist / Finishing Editor
YAKOUL & LOUKAY
Montréal, Canada

2012 Mac Pro 12-core 3.33GHz | 64GB RAM | 4x Titan Xp 12GB (CUBIX)
macOS 10.13.6 | Resolve Studio 15.3.1
Offline

Robert Arnold

  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:53 pm

Re: Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan

PostFri Jun 24, 2016 12:06 am

You will definitely be able to get realtime playback with even extreme Temporal Noise Reduction, but once you add the new Spatial Noise Reduction (at Better quality), the speed will drop. I think it may actually be slower than Neat Video, and not quite as good, though more stable.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan

PostFri Jun 24, 2016 6:29 am

Francois,

I have a TITAN X and just switched over to DR 12.5 paid version.

I also have Neat noise reduction.

As you have discovered, Neat runs as fast as a snail in molasses. I get about 4fps

On my system, DR noise reduction, even when at max in spatial and temporal runs at close to 20fps.

Not quite real time but very good, considering and much better than Neat.

I cannot see any difference except Neat has its auto profile mode while DR is manual.

In DR I just adjust the sliders for the minimum noise in black and go no further.

My system is
Mac Pro 5.1
OSX 10.10.5
2 x 3.3GHz 6 core Intel
48 GB ram
GTX Titan X 12GB graphics card
USB3 card
OWC SSD 500Mb boot disk
4 x 6TB in raid 5 yielding 18TB
DR 16.1 Studio, 2012 Mac Pro 5.1, 10.13.6, 2x3.46GHz 6 core Intel, 96 GB ram, GTX 1080Ti 11GB graphics card.
USB3 card, BM SDI 4K card, PCIe SSD boot disk, 3x4TB SSDs in raid 0, 12TB HDD backup.
Tangent Elements TK panel, FSI DM240, 55"LG C8 OLED
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6963
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan

PostFri Jun 24, 2016 7:01 am

Multiple high spec GPUs in resolve will give even faster speeds.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Francois Dompierre

  • Posts: 177
  • Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal, Canada

Re: Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan

PostFri Jun 24, 2016 1:41 pm

Thanks guys. Seems like it's worth investing into the Studio version. And then at some point I can add a second Titan X.

Jack, what about 4K ? Have you been able to play with some footage and DR noise reduction? What kind of frame rate are you getting?
François Dompierre
Senior Colorist / Finishing Editor
YAKOUL & LOUKAY
Montréal, Canada

2012 Mac Pro 12-core 3.33GHz | 64GB RAM | 4x Titan Xp 12GB (CUBIX)
macOS 10.13.6 | Resolve Studio 15.3.1
Offline

Paul Ingvarsson

  • Posts: 239
  • Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:57 pm
  • Location: London, UK

Re: Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan

PostFri Jun 24, 2016 2:31 pm

I run a Titan-X and a K6000 and realtime performance is not great - by the time you dial up useful settings with the temporal NR the playback is no longer realtime. I feel like performance has dropped with the 12.5 release - i'm expecting it to improve!

I should mention i'm talking about HD timeline with DNX media...
Paul Ingvarsson
StormHD
Strongbox DX-G (Dual e5-2690 v3 64GB)
K6000 | Titan-X | Decklink 4K Pro
Resolve 15.2.4
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7184
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan

PostFri Jun 24, 2016 2:55 pm

it depend how many gpu you have: with a 4/6 titan x you're almost realtime most of the time.

and because I have smart cache on, I'm coloring shot 33 and shoot 32 is rendering the cache in big.

I don't feel it.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K (11.4)
W10-1903 - BMR St. 16.1.1.005
nvidia: 431.86 studio
Offline
User avatar

Aaron_Hayden

  • Posts: 141
  • Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:42 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan

PostFri Jun 24, 2016 11:09 pm

More Titan X cards the better real-time TNR performance you'll have.

I run a Linux 5x Titan X system and it maintains real-time TNR playback 24fps HD frame (5 frame, Better, Large settings).

When outputting a 4k frame and decoding RED footage, real-time TNR performance drops significantly. Would a few more Titan X cards would help in this situation? Absolutely!
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 601
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan

PostSat Jun 25, 2016 1:20 am

With 4K XAVC files, NR plays at about 6fps. Still faster than Neat, though.
DR 16.1 Studio, 2012 Mac Pro 5.1, 10.13.6, 2x3.46GHz 6 core Intel, 96 GB ram, GTX 1080Ti 11GB graphics card.
USB3 card, BM SDI 4K card, PCIe SSD boot disk, 3x4TB SSDs in raid 0, 12TB HDD backup.
Tangent Elements TK panel, FSI DM240, 55"LG C8 OLED
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6963
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan

PostSun Jun 26, 2016 12:25 am

Edit* I'm updating as Im told the the Xavc files are not as CPU bound as I thought.... a dual 14 core or higher will help decompress but in this case its likely the NR processing needs more GPU.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Ignacio de La Cierva

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:20 pm

Re: Noise Reduction performance (Resolve Studio) with Titan

PostSun Jun 26, 2016 4:36 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:The Xavc files are CPU bound so something like a dual 14 core or higher will help decompress in real time.


Good to know!!

I'm planning a PC update too, and my initial idea was a 40% budget to CPU, 60% to GPU. But I'm recording Sny SLog2 and sometimes SLog3 in XAVC S. Half the footage is 4K.

Then, what's better for me?

1- Rebalance my budget and give 60% to CPU. I might buy a used workstation, Dual Xeon E5, or similar.
2- Conform footage to PRO-Res at acquisition on Resolve. (If pro-res decoding is GPU supported)

(Sorry if I'm too of-topic)

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dvmrp_hk, Jrijken, Michael_Andreas, MSN [Bot], oilar123 and 80 guests