BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostWed Oct 05, 2016 1:32 pm

Guys, i'm new here and just bought a Intenity Shuttle USB 3.0.

Perhaps, i've just installed the drivers, but reading this forum, i find some topics about issues with drivers.

I made windows reconize BM driver when it plugged, but when i open desktop video utility, it won't reconize BM.

Anyone know wath driver could work ? Am i doing anything wrong?

best regards
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2962
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostWed Oct 05, 2016 6:47 pm

Do you have the Intel USB3 drivers installed on the computer? We've found that these have had the best results for our USB3 devices being recognized by the computer.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostWed Oct 05, 2016 7:13 pm

What motherboard do you have and what version of Windows are you using?
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostThu Oct 06, 2016 12:23 am

Tony Rivera wrote:Do you have the Intel USB3 drivers installed on the computer? We've found that these have had the best results for our USB3 devices being recognized by the computer.


Yes they're installed. as i said before, i also can see BM drivers working. But in control panel everything is block, and video desktop does not reconize BM.

could it be anything else?


regards
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostThu Oct 06, 2016 12:25 am

Adam Simmons wrote:What motherboard do you have and what version of Windows are you using?


Adam, i got 2 acer laptop, under win 10 single language.

I've been checking about some issues with w10, inclusive with wirecast. Maybe, if was necesary, i can downgrde to windows 8/8.1.
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostThu Oct 06, 2016 5:05 pm

I doubt that will make any difference. You could try forcing in the Win 7 Intel driver,
http://www.win-raid.com/t834f25-USB-Dri ... odded.html
or it may be that you need to use a powered USB hub to get it working such as this one (make sure you get the one that doesn't have fast charging as they are worse)
https://www.startech.com/Cards-Adapters ... ST4300USB3

Laptops are notoriously bad for USB 3 as they don't always give out the full power spec and can often be sharing many devices on the 1 controller. Disable any extra USB devices such as webcam, wireless.

Also in the device manager in Windows how many BM devices show under 'sound video and game controllers'? There should be 3, if there aren't then it's only seeing the device as a USB 2 device and won't work.
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostThu Oct 06, 2016 6:41 pm

Adam Simmons wrote:I doubt that will make any difference. You could try forcing in the Win 7 Intel driver,
http://www.win-raid.com/t834f25-USB-Dri ... odded.html
or it may be that you need to use a powered USB hub to get it working such as this one (make sure you get the one that doesn't have fast charging as they are worse)
https://www.startech.com/Cards-Adapters ... ST4300USB3

Laptops are notoriously bad for USB 3 as they don't always give out the full power spec and can often be sharing many devices on the 1 controller. Disable any extra USB devices such as webcam, wireless.

Also in the device manager in Windows how many BM devices show under 'sound video and game controllers'? There should be 3, if there aren't then it's only seeing the device as a USB 2 device and won't work.



Adam, tks again.

Well, i're right, only shows 3 devices including BM. But, when i plug BM on usb3 it ins't reconized, but, when i plug it on USB2, i got software update message. Plus: i've been normal use with logitech webcam by USB, so, it works.

I'll try downgrade this driver right now.

regards
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostThu Oct 06, 2016 7:18 pm

FabioMarn wrote:
Adam Simmons wrote:I doubt that will make any difference. You could try forcing in the Win 7 Intel driver,
http://www.win-raid.com/t834f25-USB-Dri ... odded.html
or it may be that you need to use a powered USB hub to get it working such as this one (make sure you get the one that doesn't have fast charging as they are worse)
https://www.startech.com/Cards-Adapters ... ST4300USB3

Laptops are notoriously bad for USB 3 as they don't always give out the full power spec and can often be sharing many devices on the 1 controller. Disable any extra USB devices such as webcam, wireless.

Also in the device manager in Windows how many BM devices show under 'sound video and game controllers'? There should be 3, if there aren't then it's only seeing the device as a USB 2 device and won't work.



Adam, tks again.

Well, i're right, only shows 3 devices including BM. But, when i plug BM on usb3 it ins't reconized, but, when i plug it on USB2, i got software update message. Plus: i've been normal use with logitech webcam by USB, so, it works.

I'll try downgrade this driver right now.

regards



As long, i've been checking another issues, well, it looks a driver conflict. On device manager, when i install BM manually, i got code 10 error. At MS support page, they describe as wrong driver.
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostThu Oct 06, 2016 7:54 pm

Try the link that Derek cooper supplied in this thread
http://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewt ... 99#p297299
it should allow you to install a driver even in secure boot mode.

If that doesn't work then you may need to disable secure boot mode in the BIOS
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Oct 08, 2016 8:58 pm

Adam Simmons wrote:Try the link that Derek cooper supplied in this thread
http://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewt ... 99#p297299
it should allow you to install a driver even in secure boot mode.

If that doesn't work then you may need to disable secure boot mode in the BIOS


Hey Adam, just do it, (and i do a clean install with w10), disable secure boot and reinstall, but it keep just reconizing on usb2.

Do you have any other solution ?


best regards
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Oct 08, 2016 9:45 pm

What USB 3 controller does the Laptop have?
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Oct 08, 2016 10:16 pm

Adam Simmons wrote:What USB 3 controller does the Laptop have?


Intel usb3 extensible host
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Oct 08, 2016 10:31 pm

Did you try forcing in the Win 7 Intel driver?
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostTue Oct 11, 2016 7:36 pm

Adam Simmons wrote:Did you try forcing in the Win 7 Intel driver?


Hey Adam, sorry for this delay. Just today i got driver installation sucessful.

It's reconize on control panel. As Root Hub and eXtensible controler USB3.0. But BM ain't reconized yet. :(

On USB2 it connect and appears like connected, but on USB3 windows don't "plug and play".

:arrow: UEFI - secure boot is disabled
:arrow: Driver is installed (and USB3 works with other devices)
:arrow: just installed BM 10.8.1

I've been reading about BM driver trouble, should i try 10.3.7 ?

regards
Offline

Ricardo Sagrera

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:34 am

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Oct 15, 2016 2:33 pm

Hola me podrian decir que diferencia tiene la que viene en caja negra con la que viene en caja Blanca Gracias
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Oct 15, 2016 3:05 pm

You could try manually running the version checker so it can check that the firmware on the Shuttle is correct for the version of the Desktop software.
Run the file
C:\Program Files (x86)\Blackmagic Design\Blackmagic Desktop Video\CheckVersionPCI.exe
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Oct 15, 2016 3:13 pm

Adam Simmons wrote:You could try manually running the version checker so it can check that the firmware on the Shuttle is correct for the version of the Desktop software.
Run the file
C:\Program Files (x86)\Blackmagic Design\Blackmagic Desktop Video\CheckVersionPCI.exe


Just do it, but, nothing happens.

Shall the BM be plugged?
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Oct 15, 2016 3:14 pm

Yes it has to be plugged in otherwise how is the software going to know what version is on the Shuttle?
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Oct 15, 2016 3:19 pm

Adam Simmons wrote:Yes it has to be plugged in otherwise how is the software going to know what version is on the Shuttle?


Ok, done, but CheckVersion, doesn't run, even thru cmd.

Also, i can't install win 7 driver forced, win10 do not let me continue the installation.

I think i'll try thru linux, by last chance.

In time: i've been trying instalation on Mac, but nothing happens too. Could this BM be with a internal problem ?

best regards
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Oct 15, 2016 6:00 pm

The Intensity Shuttles don't have Linux drivers.

If you are referring to forcing in the Win 7 USB 3 driver into Win 10 then you aren't following the instructions on the website properly. I've done it on lots of systems as the Win 7 Intel USB 3 driver works better than the one built in to Win 10
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostSat Aug 12, 2017 10:11 pm

Hello Adam.

Look, last time, i believe it was a problem om BM card, so i get another one, new.

Well. I've instaled, and got images working. But, after unplug and turn off my notebook. And restart all again, it stops to work. Windows doesn't reconize BM anymore.

I even try do reinstall windows, but still not working.

What could be this issue ?
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 2962
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostMon Aug 14, 2017 9:48 pm

Have you tried a different cable?
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline

FabioMarn

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:55 pm

Re: BM Intensity Shuttle on Win10

PostTue Aug 15, 2017 1:26 am

Just made it this afternoon.

Tks anyway

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: josiahthiesen and 7 guests