Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Patrick Kenny

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:38 am
  • Location: US

Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostSun Dec 11, 2016 6:41 am

I bought an Intensity Pro 4K to record 10-bit with my Panasonic GH4. I'm on Windows 10, and in Media Express, I set the project video format to 2160p29.97 and the capture file format to AVI 10-bit RGB.

I then captured a video. When I play this file back in Windows Media Player, I can hear the sound.

However, when I create a new project in Davinci Resolve and add the video file, there is no audio when I drag it onto the timeline. (The file shows a video track, but no audio track.)

So I know the audio has been captured properly because I can hear it in Windows media player-- what do I need to do to get the audio into Resolve?
Offline

ted ramasola

  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:28 am
  • Location: Near Dallas, Texas

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostTue Dec 20, 2016 9:26 pm

I also have the same issue.
I also use the GH4 and I'm capturing at 23.976 4k. The captured video files has audio since I can import the file into premiere and it has both video and audio. It is only in davinci resolve that the audio is not recognized.
I hope someone from BM can advice a solution.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5407
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostTue Dec 20, 2016 11:12 pm

Post mediainfo grab. Does your file have 1x8 channel audio track?
Offline

ted ramasola

  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:28 am
  • Location: Near Dallas, Texas

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostTue Dec 20, 2016 11:31 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Post mediainfo grab. Does your file have 1x8 channel audio track?


Within davinci resolve the media file metadata is indicated as 0 =audio channels.

In windows properties it is 2 channels 48 khz.
Offline

ted ramasola

  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:28 am
  • Location: Near Dallas, Texas

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostWed Dec 21, 2016 6:29 am

I'm beginning to think that this is a quicktime issue with windows 10. But I'm not 100% sure.
Offline

Adam Simmons

  • Posts: 5510
  • Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:21 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostWed Dec 21, 2016 7:33 am

If you drop the file in to MediaInfo and look at it in tree view what does it think the audio is?
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, G-Sync UHD screen, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB Video drives.
Building Bespoke Video Editing systems for over 16 years
Offline

ted ramasola

  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:28 am
  • Location: Near Dallas, Texas

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostWed Dec 21, 2016 7:58 am

Adam Simmons wrote:If you drop the file in to MediaInfo and look at it in tree view what does it think the audio is?


It says
format: PCM
Channels: 2
Sampling rate: 48 khz
Bit depth: 24 bits


The video file was captured as UHD 2160p23.98 AVI 10-bit YUV.
Offline

ted ramasola

  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:28 am
  • Location: Near Dallas, Texas

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostWed Dec 21, 2016 8:12 am

Here's something I found out.

If I play the avi file captured by media express using Quicktime player, NO AUDIO.
If I play it in windows Media Player, AUDIO IS OK.
VLC player, AUDIO IS OK.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5407
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostWed Dec 21, 2016 10:18 am

Download ffmpeg and run this command:

ffmpeg -i "path to your source avi" -c:v copy -c:a pcm_s24le "path to output.mov"

output needs .mov extension.

If only BM could make their own products compatible between each other :)
Offline

ted ramasola

  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:28 am
  • Location: Near Dallas, Texas

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostWed Dec 21, 2016 11:26 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Download ffmpeg and run this command:

ffmpeg -i "path to your source avi" -c:v copy -c:a pcm_s24le "path to output.mov"

If only BM could make their own products compatible between each other :)


Thanks, Andrew, this works and allows resolve to see the audio.

I hope this will also help the OP solve this issue.

You are right, BM should provide a fix for this as their products should be compatible with each other.

Is there a more efficient way to batch convert files in ffmpeg ? I'm not so well versed in command line usage. Like for instance using a string argument to let it do a batch conversion for files with similar numbered file names in one folder ?
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2522
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostThu Dec 22, 2016 8:57 am

This is not exactly what you are asking for but the example below allows you to process all AVI files of a directory and transcode them to MOV with same name and the correct audio parameters. You just have to customize <path to output>: either a point "." For the same directory as the sources or an explicit directory name (X:\zzzz\yyyy).

Code: Select all
@echo off
echo audio convert for all AVI in a directory to MOV
echo *************************
echo video codec : copy
echo audio codec : pcm_s24le
echo *************************
echo.
for /r %%X in (*.avi) do (
ffmpeg -i "%%X" -c:v copy -c:a pcm_s24le "<path to output>\%%~nX.mov"
)
pause


Be careful that in the names of the sources there is no space. Otherwise, they will not be processed.
Edit : add quote before output mov if space are present in file name.
Windows 10 PRO X64 1903 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.0.0.044 | Fusion Studio 16.0. build 43 | Decklink Studio 4K 6G | Desktop Video 11.2.00 | X99-A II, i7-6850K | RTX 2080Ti | Nvidia 430.86 NSD
Offline

Patrick Kenny

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:38 am
  • Location: US

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostSun Jan 01, 2017 1:57 pm

Thanks, the ffmpeg command worked-- but I'm surprised at having to jump through these hoops, since Resolve is included in an SD card in the Intensity Pro box.

I'm sorry for the late reply; I thought I had notifications turned on but I did not.
Offline

Patrick Kenny

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:38 am
  • Location: US

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostMon Jan 09, 2017 5:27 am

Some more information: I spoke with Blackmagic support about this and was told that the audio does not work with uncompressed AVI in Resolve because Resolve does not (yet) support 24-bit audio, so the ffmpeg workaround will be necessary until it does.

Audio does work when using AVI Motion JPEG as the capture file format.
Offline

Knud Christiansen

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:37 am

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostMon Apr 10, 2017 7:48 am

After strugling to get Handbrake to read avi (not jpeg) file with audio produced by Media Express I found out that:

The avi file does not have a complete audio header
VLC was the only one I found which recognize the audio stream

FFmpeg was also not able to do the conversion mentioned earlier in this thread unless you specific specified pcm_s24le as audio input stream.

Let FFmpeg do pcm_s24le in and out stream conversion, copy video, output container format AVI...then I got a AVI file were Handbrake could recognize the audio stream.

Several programs showing file format now also stated a more complete audio header.

Bug in Media Express ???

Knud
Offline

jaredroc

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 2:22 pm
  • Real Name: Jared Christensen

Re: Video file from Media Express has no audio in Resolve

PostMon Jan 21, 2019 2:26 pm

Hello Knud - I know this is an aged discussion thread but I am running into the same issue you had where I have a 5.1 channel avi file created with Media Express that loses at least one audio channel when I convert the avi file to mp4.

Can you share the ffmpeg commands you used to fix the audio stream conversion issue by chance?

Thanks!

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chrisby34, Google [Bot], Jim Jordan, jonnyelwyn, Michael_Andreas, niwesa, Peter Chamberlain, triviatus and 49 guests