Set internal/external key with Duo 2

Ask software engineering and SDK questions for developers working on Mac OS X, Windows or Linux.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jonas Geduldig

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:04 pm

Set internal/external key with Duo 2

PostWed May 03, 2017 3:18 pm

I read over the SDK, but I'm still not sure what is the process of setting up the Duo 2 to use internal or external keying. Can someone please provide the steps or a code snippet that explains this?
Offline

Jonas Geduldig

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: Set internal/external key with Duo 2

PostFri May 05, 2017 1:58 pm

I tried the following:
- set SDI 1 to full duplex
- set SDI 1 to external key
- set SDI 1's keyer level to 255

Code: Select all
configuration->SetInt(bmdDeckLinkConfigDuplexMode, bmdDuplexModeFull);
keyer->Enable(true);
keyer->SetLevel(255);


And, the following returns true which confirms the card supports external key.

Code: Select all
attributes->GetFlag(BMDDeckLinkSupportsExternalKeying, &supportsKeyer)


The result is I can see the video fill out of SDI 2, as I would expect. However, I am not seeing a key signal out of SDI 1. Any suggestions of what I could be missing?

When I set SDI 1 to internal key, the result is SDI 2's output is keyed over SDI 1's input signal. So, internal keying seems to work fine.
Offline

Dave Johnstone

  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:12 am
  • Location: Adelaide

Re: Set internal/external key with Duo 2

PostTue May 09, 2017 4:04 am

Just a guess as I don't have a Duo2 to test, but do you need to set SDI1 as an output or should the duplex mode do that for you? Both internal and external keying work as expected with my Extreme3D card but that does not reverse any connections, of course. Also, have you tried feeding the card a reference signal?

Regards,

Dave.
Freelance Television Broadcast Engineer
and Software Programmer.
Offline

Jonas Geduldig

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: Set internal/external key with Duo 2

PostTue May 09, 2017 12:05 pm

I have code working for 4k Extreme, but the Duo 2 setup is a little different. It requires setting up SD1 for full duplex. At that point, SD1 should become the key signal and SD2 should become the fill. I don't have reference, but that is not required AFAIK.
Offline

Frederic Mauclere

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:12 am

Re: Set internal/external key with Duo 2

PostFri Jul 07, 2017 9:24 am

Hi Jonas,

I'm facing the exact same issue. Did you find a solution ?
Offline

Jonas Geduldig

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: Set internal/external key with Duo 2

PostMon Jul 10, 2017 4:38 pm

Yes. I was advised by support that I encountered a bug in the 10.9.0 driver. I haven't tried the newest 10.9.X driver which may or may not have a fix. For the time being though, I was also told that the 10.8.5 driver does not have this issue with the Duo 2. I haven't dried the Duo 2 with the driver yet, but I plan to.
Offline

Nicholas Gill

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 169
  • Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:28 pm

Re: Set internal/external key with Duo 2

PostWed Jul 12, 2017 4:52 am

Hi Jonas, Frederic,

Just confirming that Desktop Video 10.9.3 contains a correction for this issue.

Sincerely,

-nick
Offline

Jonas Geduldig

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: Set internal/external key with Duo 2

PostWed Jul 12, 2017 2:34 pm

Thanks! That's good to know.

Return to Software Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests