12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ValVolfson

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 6:36 am

12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostWed May 03, 2017 4:58 pm

Hello,

The price drop on resolve has gotten everyone in the office excited but I feel stupid for not being able to find this info and I apologize in advance is this is available somewhere easily I'm just not seeing it.

1. If I purchase Resolve 12.5 today, do I need the dongle to use it

and

2. Is the upgrade from 12.5 to 14 free or extra cost?

Thank you in advance
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5532
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostWed May 03, 2017 10:03 pm

Resolve Studio purchase today will have a dongle.

Upgrade from Resolve Studio 12.x (or any previous Studio version) to Resolve Studio 14 is free.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Jeremiah Overman

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 6:40 am

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostMon May 22, 2017 6:43 am

I'm having trouble figuring out how to do this upgrade. I have the dongle but can't seem to find the option to upgrade resolve. All I've been able to do is download Resolve 14 (the free version). What is the process for upgrading to 14 Studio from 12.5 Studio?

I'm on Windows 10.
Offline

Jake Melon

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:33 pm
  • Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostMon May 22, 2017 6:27 pm

I'd like to know the answer to this question as well. Do we need to wait until 14 is final before upgrading? I am actually not interested in beta testing and will use 12.5 until 14 is finalized.

thanks
j
1994: Amiga 3000, WarpEngine 68040 @ 40mhz, 32mb RAM, 660mb HD, DCTV, VLAB, MovieShop, Supergen SX, Lightwave

2019: HAF XB EVO, Asus Z390, i9-9900k @ 5ghz, 32gb RAM, 970 Pro 512gb M2, 970 EVO 2TB M2, Waiting on Radeon VII, Resolve Studio 15.2.2
Offline

Chris Tempel

  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 6:09 pm

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostMon May 22, 2017 10:52 pm

You'll just download the studio version and install/run that with your dongle plugged in.
Offline

Jake Melon

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:33 pm
  • Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostTue May 23, 2017 10:55 am

Will it overwrite/replace the Lite version of 12.5 automatically on a PC or we need to uninstall it, then do a fresh v14 install of Studio?

thanks
jake
1994: Amiga 3000, WarpEngine 68040 @ 40mhz, 32mb RAM, 660mb HD, DCTV, VLAB, MovieShop, Supergen SX, Lightwave

2019: HAF XB EVO, Asus Z390, i9-9900k @ 5ghz, 32gb RAM, 970 Pro 512gb M2, 970 EVO 2TB M2, Waiting on Radeon VII, Resolve Studio 15.2.2
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5532
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostWed May 24, 2017 5:09 pm

Installing Studio will replace the Lite version. You can't have both installed at once.

On a Windows PC, if you are installing a newer version, you can just install it.

If you are installing an older version, or in the case of upgrading from free to Studio, the same version, you'll need to uninstall Resolve first.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Per Merakerli

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 11:36 pm

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostWed May 24, 2017 11:21 pm

hi, I have the 12.5 lite. I tried to upgrade to 14, but it did not work. I guess I have to buy the Studio version first, to get 14 to work, am I right ? .... one more thing. I have installed HitFilm17 plugins, and I also am buying the Mojo LUTs from Red Giant . will these software be intact, if I upgrade. and, will all my still ( gradings) be there ? after ugrading?
Offline

Ellory Yu

  • Posts: 659
  • Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:25 pm

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostThu May 25, 2017 1:56 am

I think the best way for handling the licensing of Resolve Studio by BMD is what I did many years ago for a software product. Upon the start-up of Resolve 14, the code will look for a dongle license. If it exist, then flag it as a fully license software so all the product functionalities are accessible. If the dongle does not exist, check for a key and if it exist, validate. If it passes validation then flag it as a fully license software just like it did with the dongle check. Otherwise, flag it as not licensed and limit its functionality (or prompt for a license key). This way, it will allow those with dongles to continue and use the product, upgrade, etc. For new purchase of Resolve 14 Studio, a Key will come with the software. Easy as PI (3.14159). Hopefully, that's how BMD implemented license checking and validation. :)
Offline
User avatar

Steve McDonald

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 1:43 pm
  • Location: McKinney, TX

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostFri Jun 16, 2017 4:16 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Resolve Studio purchase today will have a dongle.

Upgrade from Resolve Studio 12.x (or any previous Studio version) to Resolve Studio 14 is free.


I am one of those individuals who have been happy to learn under the free version and now with the price drop i would like to invest in the studio version.

So if I purchase 12.5 today, then I will get the 14 upgrade for free when it comes out? is that correct?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5532
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostFri Jun 16, 2017 4:51 pm

That is correct.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Richardestarkey

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:57 am

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostSun Aug 27, 2017 7:08 am

Hi Dwaine,

I've been a long-time user of Resolve Lite (since v9).
I'm now ready to purchase the licence, but I live in South Africa.

I see it's available on the Mac App Store, but how does the dongle work? Do you know if there are resellers in South Africa who sell DVR Studio with a dongle?

Thanks!
Richard
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6744
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostMon Aug 28, 2017 2:18 am

Our web site lists resellers.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/resellers/
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Eyad Hamam

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 9:32 am

Re: 12.5 to 14 free upgrade? Dongle?

PostMon Sep 04, 2017 6:55 am

Hello,

I'd like to purchase resolve 14beta but I have a few questions:

- if I purchase through the app store, will I be able to use it without a dongle? Will the activation code alone work? if yes....

- Can I install on more than one computer (I have a laptop and a desktop) or do I need to purchase a version for each?

- If it is not possible to have activated on more than one machine at once, is it easy to transfer the license? So for example I have it on my desktop for general use, but I have a mobile job for a couple of weeks. can I transfer to my laptop then transfer back to my desktop when the job is finished?

- Finally: if i have the lite version installed on my laptop and the studio version on my desktop, can I transfer projects between them? Will the only issue be watermarks showing up on my laptop?

many thanks

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CaptainHook, David_Cox, FerranDelriu, MSN [Bot], robozb, Yogesh Patel and 63 guests