Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Prores delivery on Windows from Fusion 9 Studio?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 1477
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Prores delivery on Windows from Fusion 9 Studio?

PostWed Aug 09, 2017 3:15 pm

A review at here

https://www.provideocoalition.com/fusio ... th-review/

claims Fusion Studio 9 allows prores export on Windows, with an Apple license. My interest is taking Resolve uncompressed output into Fusion for prores export, but can anyone confirm or deny? The Fusion manual says nothing on the matter.
Offline

Steve Roberts

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 89
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:41 pm

Re: Prores delivery on Windows from Fusion 9 Studio?

PostWed Aug 09, 2017 5:16 pm

Fusion 9 Studio will save all codec versions of ProRes on Linux and Windows, including being able to save alpha in ProRes. The container is Quicktime.
Offline

Bernd Klimm

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:37 am

Re: Prores delivery on Windows from Fusion 9 Studio?

PostThu Aug 10, 2017 9:12 am

Just to confirm, ProRes is only available in the Studio version on Windows? Not in the free version, correct...

Was looking for this on the BMD product compare page, but seems that feature didn't make it on the website.
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 616
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Prores delivery on Windows from Fusion 9 Studio?

PostThu Aug 10, 2017 6:48 pm

That is correct. And it's not available on the render node; it requires an interactive session.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline
User avatar

Marc Gasser

  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:14 pm

Re: Prores delivery on Windows from Fusion 9 Studio?

PostTue Feb 27, 2018 10:49 am

Just to catch up:

Fusion Studio 9.0.2 on Linux does export in ProRes.
The funny thing is the file is only playable on Linux machines.

On Windows and Osx computers, you get: The file is not a movie file.

Under Linux you have to stick to DNxHD codecs......
[code][/code]Xubuntu 16.04, 2x Intel Xeon Six Core, Nvidia GeForce 960 4GB, Nvidia 396 proprietary driver, 96 Gb Ram.

https://www.pocketvj.com
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4429
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Prores delivery on Windows from Fusion 9 Studio?

PostTue Feb 27, 2018 10:43 pm

@Marc, Just did a test here with Fusion Studio 9.0.2 on a CentOS 6.8 Resolve Linux system, and Fusion rendered ProRes422 files play OK on Mac in QT Player 10.

What specific ProRes type are you seeing this with?

What type of Linux system?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Marc Gasser

  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:14 pm

Re: Prores delivery on Windows from Fusion 9 Studio?

PostWed Feb 28, 2018 12:09 am

@ Dwaine Maggert
Thanks for looking into this.

After your replay telling me everything should work nice with ProRes,
I copied the file again to usb stick, went over to osx and it was still not playing in Quicktime.
Then plugged back into Ubuntu and realized its also not playing back on Linux :?

After digging on this issue, I finally figured out that there is an issue with copying large files under Ubuntu to usb sticks and this has nothing to do with Fusion ;)

I am very very sorry for posting this wrong info here.
Thank you for feedback (it solved a lot of trouble with my clients I had recently)
[code][/code]Xubuntu 16.04, 2x Intel Xeon Six Core, Nvidia GeForce 960 4GB, Nvidia 396 proprietary driver, 96 Gb Ram.

https://www.pocketvj.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RCModelReviews and 4 guests