System Requirements for Resolve 14

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MichaelTapp

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:33 pm

System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSat May 06, 2017 1:25 pm

Hi there,

I am getting a new laptop and I want to make sure it can run Resolve 14. I am assuming there isn't a config guide for 14 since it's still in beta? What kind of graphics card is mandatory to run resolve 14 on a laptop? Thank you for your help.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4316
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSat May 06, 2017 1:27 pm

Same rules apply to v14 as for previous. As many CUDA cores as possible, with lot of RAM. Simple as this.
There are only few laptops which are sort of Resolve friendly. Look at gaming machines with GTX 1080 cards. Overall laptop is not Resolve friendly machine.
Search forum as this has ben discussed many times- don't think v14 changes anything here.
Offline

MichaelTapp

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:33 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSat May 06, 2017 1:40 pm

Thank you for your help. I appreciate it! Ha, so I guess they are saying playback is supposed to be better in 14 but the system requirements are the same?

I am typing this on a Sager 15 inch machine but it's too big for commuting. The laptop graphics cards rec in the configuration guide aren't even sufficient? "Nvidia quadro k5100m 8gb gddr5 gpu, or at least nvidia quadro k4100m 4gb"
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4316
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSat May 06, 2017 4:02 pm

Stay away from Quadros- crazy expensive and not as good for Resolve as GTX 1080. You need really top end Quadro models to make Resolve happy and these cost fortune. Resolve likes CUDA cores.
K5100m is not bad, but it's not crazy good either. Should be good for HD I assume.
Offline

MichaelTapp

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:33 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSat May 06, 2017 4:18 pm

Okay, thanks for that! I appreciate it. I am trying to narrow down my laptop options. I was eyeing the Dell Precision 5520 http://configure.us.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?stp=1&oc=xctop5520hwus&model_id=precision-15-5520-laptop&c=us&l=en&s=bsd&cs=040 until you told me to dodge the quaro cards. It sounds like the lower end GTX models will perform better than the Quadro graphics cards, right?
Offline

Paul Trasca

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:04 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSat May 06, 2017 4:52 pm

Yeah... stay away from quadro... at least simple quadro. I have a quadro 6000 card and is stinks. On my lenovo y700 i have a gtx 960m and is working perfect...
On desktop with quadro 6000 dvr14 crash on start...
Maybe someone who have a quadro m6000 or p6000 can tell us more about that
Offline

Spiro Angelatos

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:29 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSat May 06, 2017 5:09 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Stay away from Quadros- crazy expensive and not as good for Resolve as GTX 1080. You need really top end Quadro models to make Resolve happy and these cost fortune. Resolve likes CUDA cores.
K5100m is not bad, but it's not crazy good either. Should be good for HD I assume.


Andrew. Would love your opinion the machine I'm having built.


ADK 3900 X99-R Custom Resolve System

Computer Case: ADK Full Tower Case: 4 - 5.25" bays, 8 - 3.5"

HDD trays - all compatible with SSDs

RAM: 64 Gigs (4x16GB) 16 GB DDR4 2666

Power Supply: 1200 Watts Total Modular 80 Plus Gold Quiet

Motherboard: ADK Core i7 HW-E X99 Rev 2 - Xeon E5v4
support, Up to 128Gig ram,5x PCIe16x,1-PCIe8x,1x- PCIe1x,8x
Sata 6Gb/s, M.2/U.2, TB3 Card, 4x USB3.1, 8x USB3.0

Processor: Intel Corei7-6950X 3.0GHz (Turbo to 3.5GHz) 10
core 25meg cache

CPU Heatsink/Cooling: ADK Quiet and Cool CPU and Case
cooling solution

Operating System: Microsoft Windows Professional 10 64 Bit
OEM

Hard Drive: Samsung - 850 Pro 512 GB 2.5" Internal Solid State
Drive

Media Cache Drive: Samsung - 850 Pro 1TB 2.5" Internal Solid
State Drive

Card Reader: USB 3.0 Flash Card Reader/Writer

DVD-R/W or Blu-Ray Drive Options: 24X DVD-RW Dual
Layer

Graphics Card: 2x GeForce GTX1080Ti 11GB GDDR5X 352-
bit memory with 3584 CUDA cores, an 11GB Frame Buffer and
1582 MHz Boost Clock 1x HDMI, 3x DP

Thunderbolt 3.0 Options: Intel® Thunderbolt™ 3 included
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4316
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSat May 06, 2017 8:19 pm

Yes, read posts on the forum.
You need different type of laptops- gaming ones. This looks good and is not bulky or heavy:

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Gigabyte- ... 364.0.html
or this:
https://www.notebookcheck.net/MSI-GT62V ... 272.0.html

After this you're looking at bulky and heavy laptops like Clevo etc.

GTX 1060/1070 in these laptops should be definitely better than M1200 in Dell in case of Resolve. It has 2x+ more CUDA cores and way more of GPU RAM than quadro.
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1009
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSun May 07, 2017 2:43 pm

MichaelTapp wrote:Hi there,

I am getting a new laptop and I want to make sure it can run Resolve 14. I am assuming there isn't a config guide for 14 since it's still in beta? What kind of graphics card is mandatory to run resolve 14 on a laptop? Thank you for your help.


Are you looking for the laptop for editing or for grading?

Resolve 14 will work pretty well on laptops. If you are considering a mac laptop, the 2016 15" MacBook Pro with 4GB VRAM and AMD GPU is really powerful.
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline

MichaelTapp

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:33 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSun May 07, 2017 11:16 pm

Rohit Gupta wrote:
MichaelTapp wrote:Are you looking for the laptop for editing or for grading?

Resolve 14 will work pretty well on laptops. If you are considering a mac laptop, the 2016 15" MacBook Pro with 4GB VRAM and AMD GPU is really powerful.


I am going to be editing mainly in Premiere and editing in Resolve from time to time but I will mainly use Resolve for grading.

I am leaning towards this MSI 14inch laptop https://www.msi.com/Laptop/GS43VR-6RE-Phantom-Pro.html#hero-specification It has a GeForce® GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 graphics card.

I am planning on upgrading the ram to 32gb and getting a 1tb SSD. Any thoughts on how Resolve would perform on this machine?
Offline

Tony Charles

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:07 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Jun 26, 2017 3:12 pm

Michael (or any other user), did you have success using the MSI 14inch GS43VR-6RE-Phantom-Pro laptop with GeForce® GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 graphics card? I am looking to use Resolve 14 and I too am searching for the best laptop to run the software! Unfortunately I am not ready for a custom build at this time, please advise and thanks!
Offline

Rignold Haywood

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 10:50 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostTue Jun 27, 2017 7:24 pm

MichaelTapp wrote:
Rohit Gupta wrote:
MichaelTapp wrote:Are you looking for the laptop for editing or for grading?

Resolve 14 will work pretty well on laptops. If you are considering a mac laptop, the 2016 15" MacBook Pro with 4GB VRAM and AMD GPU is really powerful.


I am going to be editing mainly in Premiere and editing in Resolve from time to time but I will mainly use Resolve for grading.

I am leaning towards this MSI 14inch laptop https://www.msi.com/Laptop/GS43VR-6RE-Phantom-Pro.html#hero-specification It has a GeForce® GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 graphics card.

I am planning on upgrading the ram to 32gb and getting a 1tb SSD. Any thoughts on how Resolve would perform on this machine?


Possibly look at the Gigabyte Aero 15. It has an Xrite Pantone approved screen. Also there are 2 M.2 slots so you can put two 512gig SSDs in instead of one 1TB drive. As to how it will perform someone will have to give it a serious try and report back. They've only been around a short while. ;) ;) ;)
Offline

MichaelTapp

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:33 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostThu Aug 10, 2017 2:00 pm

Tony Charles wrote:Michael (or any other user), did you have success using the MSI 14inch GS43VR-6RE-Phantom-Pro laptop with GeForce® GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 graphics card? I am looking to use Resolve 14 and I too am searching for the best laptop to run the software! Unfortunately I am not ready for a custom build at this time, please advise and thanks!


I did use the MSI 14inch GS43VR with Resolve and it performed really well but I returned the laptop. There was an unacceptable amount of screen bleed and it runs really hot. Now I am considering getting the Gigabyte Aero15 or the 14inch RazerBlade.
Offline

Francisco Manalo

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:54 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostTue Aug 15, 2017 5:36 am

How is this graphics card for resolve 14? NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4096 MB

imac 27'' 2013
3.5 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

I've been getting a GPU MEMORY FULL alert but I thought I had a pretty good CPU...
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4501
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostTue Aug 15, 2017 9:31 pm

780M with 4G VRAM should be fine for HD and some 4K work.

What are you doing when you get the GPU Memory Full error?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Francisco Manalo

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:54 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostThu Aug 17, 2017 4:36 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:780M with 4G VRAM should be fine for HD and some 4K work.

What are you doing when you get the GPU Memory Full error?


Editing a wedding video. Roughly 3 minutes long.

Putting clips together with transitions, some slow-mo, and color adjustments/LUTS.
Offline

Rolfe Klement

  • Posts: 161
  • Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:13 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostThu Sep 21, 2017 8:37 am

What do people think of the Aorus X5 V7 Laptop - thinking of 2 NVME drives and a SSD for the OS - vs the Aorus X5 MD that has a 1080 - but Max q - so only a 15 % increase in CUDA...

Does CUDA matter the most to edit FPS? If not what does?

I do mainly 4k RAW from the Ursamini - about 4 /5 nodes - not a big user of NR

Mainly need it to edit - in resolve 14.

Aorus X5 v7-CF1
15.6" LED 3840x2160
i7-7820HK
NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB GDDR5
512GB M.2 SSD
1TB 7200RPM HDD
32GB 2400MHz DDR4
Windows 10 Home (64-Bit)

thanks
Intel i7 7820HK 2.9GHz RAM 32GB Windows 10 Home V1803 64Bit
2 x 2 TB NVME Samsung Pro
GTX 1080
www.creativesunshine.com
Offline

Chris Maier

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:04 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostFri Sep 22, 2017 3:21 pm

Rohit Gupta wrote:Are you looking for the laptop for editing or for grading?

Resolve 14 will work pretty well on laptops. If you are considering a mac laptop, the 2016 15" MacBook Pro with 4GB VRAM and AMD GPU is really powerful.

Hi all,

I am looking for an update of my mobile platform (MacBook Pro 2014, GT750M 2GB) to do video edits on location or in the hotel etc.

My question will the noise reduction (temporal and spacial) of DR (Studio Dongle) 14x work on my UHD ProRes HQ files on the latest 15" MacBook Pro?

CPU: 3.1 GHz
RAM: 16 GB
GPU: Radeon Pro 560 with 4 GB

Normally the configuration guide seem to recommend 8 GB+...

How about Neat Video 4.x (as oft plugin)?

Thank you in advance!

Chris
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSun Sep 24, 2017 1:53 am

Neatvideo works fine on our iMac 2015 with 4GB VRAM.

Not sure about DR's NR, I'm not around that machine right now.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Humauin Kabir

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:13 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 02, 2017 6:21 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:780M with 4G VRAM should be fine for HD and some 4K work.

What are you doing when you get the GPU Memory Full error?


Hi Dwaine Maggart,

Is a single 2gb gpu ram sufficient for 2.5k full workflow for davinice resolve 14 plus display monitor? Thanks you very much.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4501
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 02, 2017 6:54 pm

Probably not.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Humauin Kabir

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:13 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 02, 2017 8:24 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Probably not.


Thank you very much for your feedback. Currently I use HP Z820 with Quadro K2000 (2gb). I did not start editing till now. But, I am thinking to buy Zotac geforce gtx 1080 (founder edition). So far I know from different threads, a strong single GPU works fine with Resolve 14 version. So I am thinking to upgrade my PC with gtx 1080. But is there any way to make my old one (Quadro K2000) useful rather than throwing it out? According to the Resolve 12.5 version, one gpu only for display monitor was recommended besides the strong one if I understand correctly. But not quite sure, if it is also applicable for Resolve 14 version as well. As a note, I operate BMCC-mft.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 836
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 02, 2017 8:39 pm

Separate GUI card isn't needed anymore with the updates to 14.
Offline

Humauin Kabir

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:13 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 02, 2017 9:55 pm

Jack Fairley wrote:Separate GUI card isn't needed anymore with the updates to 14.


Thank you very much Jack Fairley.
Offline

Ryan Swift

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:21 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14 - a cry for help!

PostSat Oct 14, 2017 4:32 pm

I'm uber-noob, so I'd like as simple a response as possible, cheers. :)

I'm going to download the free version of Resolve 14, primarily for editing in HD (not 4K), but perhaps also for grading.
I have a limited budget but want to buy the best possible Mac between £1500 and £2000 (absolute limit) that I'll be able to use without too much twiddling thumbs waiting for rendering, etc.

So far, no one outside of this forum has really been able to suggest a suitable Mac for the price (even a so-called 'professional' supplier wasn't sure what a GPU was.)

I've heard that I should be using SSD rather than HD drives, and at least 16GB of RAM, and possibly multi-cores (my brain has already started getting confused.) That's all I know. I have a decent monitor and speaker already, it's just the Mac and possibly external storage I need.

Please, could someone suggest a Mac setup I can comfortable get away with, within the budget, and possibly a suggestion of where to buy (I'm in the Midlands, U.K.)

Cheers muchly!
Offline

Humauin Kabir

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:13 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSun Oct 15, 2017 1:16 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Probably not.


Hi Dwaine Maggart,

Should I install my Decklink monitor 4k card in slot no 6 of my HP Z820 workstation? Thanks in advance.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4501
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 16, 2017 7:26 pm

In 2014, when this was a supported system, we recommended slot 1 be used for the DeckLink card, since that's a x8 slot. Slot 6 is a x16 slot, and would want to be reserved for something that needs 16 lanes, like a GPU card.

If you have something in slot 1, and slot 6 is available, that should be fine.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Reg Aupperle

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:57 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 16, 2017 7:30 pm

First post for me in this forum. I think Resolve 14 is awesome, the only thing I have found is how much it lags when I am using playback in the edit mode. Here is my laptop, should Resolve struggle with this laptop?
ASUS ROG Strix GL702VM-DB74 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.6 GHz) 16 GB Memory
1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6 GB
17.3" FHD 1920 x 1080
Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
Offline

Humauin Kabir

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:13 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 16, 2017 8:28 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:In 2014, when this was a supported system, we recommended slot 1 be used for the DeckLink card, since that's a x8 slot. Slot 6 is a x16 slot, and would want to be reserved for something that needs 16 lanes, like a GPU card.

If you have something in slot 1, and slot 6 is available, that should be fine.


Thank you very much Dwaine Maggart. My both slots (1 and 6) are available and I just installed my decklink card in slot 6. Hope it is alright. Also I would like to ask you if it is possible to use just one monitor as a GUI and grading at the same time? I know that Decklink card allows me to see the full screen. So what I meant is if I can edit my footage and at the same time I can see the footage (of course not in full screen ) via Decklink card on the same display? Thank you very much again for your help.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4501
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 16, 2017 10:56 pm

Not sure I understand the monitor question.

The DeckLink will feed video out of Resolve to a monitor that is separate from the GUI display monitor.

Probably a majority of people use single GUI displays. Dual GUI displays just allow things to be spread out, and to see more GUI elements at once without page switching.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Humauin Kabir

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:13 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostTue Oct 17, 2017 2:00 am

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Not sure I understand the monitor question.

The DeckLink will feed video out of Resolve to a monitor that is separate from the GUI display monitor.

Probably a majority of people use single GUI displays. Dual GUI displays just allow things to be spread out, and to see more GUI elements at once without page switching.


Ok. I got my answer. Thank you very much for your help.
Offline

Alessandro Locati

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostWed Oct 18, 2017 2:25 pm

Could you please let me know if a PC with these components is gonna work flawlessly with Resolve for editing and grading? Is it going to be in trouble when editing 4K files?

AMD ryzen 5
gtx1050 ti
16GB ddr4 RAM

Thanks!
Offline

Robert James

  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:07 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostThu Oct 19, 2017 1:01 am

Alessandro Locati wrote:Could you please let me know if a PC with these components is gonna work flawlessly with Resolve for editing and grading? Is it going to be in trouble when editing 4K files?

AMD ryzen 5
gtx1050 ti
16GB ddr4 RAM

Thanks!
May be ok for HD, but not so much for UHD IMO.

Sent from my ASUS_Z00AD using Tapatalk
Resolve Studio 14.1
Windows 10 Fall Creator Update
ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO MB
AMD 1800x 4Ghz 32GB RAM
M.2 System Drive, M.2 Media Drive (All other drives SSDs)
ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX580-O8G VC
Offline

Am Villaindra

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:22 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostThu Oct 19, 2017 7:39 am

2.3GHz dual-core 7th-generation Intel Core i5
8GB 2133MHz LPDDR3 memory
Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640

Can this run resolve 14?
Its for travel purposes,
Main color balancing only
1080p project (4k not required)
Sources are Proress
Offline

Alessandro Locati

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostThu Oct 19, 2017 8:26 am

Robert James wrote:
Alessandro Locati wrote:Could you please let me know if a PC with these components is gonna work flawlessly with Resolve for editing and grading? Is it going to be in trouble when editing 4K files?

AMD ryzen 5
gtx1050 ti
16GB ddr4 RAM

Thanks!
May be ok for HD, but not so much for UHD IMO.

Sent from my ASUS_Z00AD using Tapatalk


Wow!
I thought that it was more than enough for HD. What are the minimum requirements for 4K? Where is my configuration lacking?

Thank you for your answer, by the way.
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 8996
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostThu Oct 19, 2017 7:10 pm

There is a Resolve Configuration Guide that can be downloaded from the BMD Support webpage.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Alessandro Locati

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:19 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSun Oct 22, 2017 6:40 pm

rick.lang wrote:There is a Resolve Configuration Guide that can be downloaded from the BMD Support webpage.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Thank you Rick, but I know there's a configuration guide available.
What I wanted to know is how can I improve the performances of this PC without spending much more money: if there was a single component you would change, increasing the expense by 100€, what would you do?

I hope my question is reasonable.
Offline

David Cherniack

  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:01 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 23, 2017 10:18 pm

Unfortunately the Configuration guide is already dated. We're in the era of 16+ cores, of overclocked Threadrippers and i9s and their respective x399 and x299 main boards with 60+4 and 44 lanes running rings around the machines so beloved by the authors of the Configuration guide.
David
Resolve Studio 15 latest build
Windows 10 Pro
Decklink Mini Monitor 4k Desktop Video
Intel i9 7960x @ 4.3GHz
Thermaltake Floe Riing 360 Water Cooler
Asus x299 Prime Deluxe
64GB 3333 Corsair Dominator ram
2 EVGA 1080ti Cards
Areca Thunderbolt 3 Raid
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 8996
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Oct 23, 2017 11:10 pm

Alessandro, you did ask about the minimum requirements to edit 4K. If I was capturing 4K video, the first step would be to generate Optimized Media in 2K or smaller resolution and Edit happily with that (if you’re not doing VFX and compositing).

When you Deliver your output, you can generate the output from your original media. So save the 100€ and adopt a workflow that works with your current resources.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Eliott Guilmet

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:31 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostMon Nov 06, 2017 10:57 am

Hello,
I'm looking for an "on the go" solution as well. I'll be using Resolve 14 for heavy grading and editing RAW 3:1 1080p 60p files, straight out of my BMMCC. But no 4K footages at all.

I found the Alienware R3 13" could be a great solution with its OLED panel. I have no idea if this would be overkill, or maybe not powerful enough. What do you guys think?

Here are the main specs :

-Intel® Core™ i7-7700HQ
-NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 <-- enough for RAW 3:1 1080p 60p??
-32GB DDR4 at 2400MHz (2x16GB)
-512GB PCIe SSD

Or maybe a full specs last generation Macbook Pro could do the job with more battery life? (i7, Radeon Pro 560 with 4GB and 16GB ram)
Offline

Greg Stevens

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:19 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostSat Dec 02, 2017 10:39 pm

For editing 1080p mostly, but soon and more frequently 4k, does the workflow in DR14 benefit more from a GPU that has greater on-board memory or from one that has more cuda cores (all other requirements being equal)? I have a a few choices that include a GTX 1070 (6GB/1920 CUDA Cores), GTX 1080 (8GB/2560 CUDA Cores), and a GTX 980TI card (6GB/2816 CUDA cores).
Offline

Jazzcol

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:33 am
  • Real Name: Thomas BiiJ

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostThu Mar 22, 2018 10:41 am

New forum member. Embarrassed to say I've dropped a huge boo boo. I bought a new Macbook Pro 15" laptop specifically with using Da Vinci Resolve 14 (free edition) in mind but went for a late 2016 model rather than the 2017 macbooks as didn't imagine that the spec could possibly be insufficient. 2.7 GHz i7 quad with 16Gb RAM, 512Gb SSD, but alas only 2Gb of graphic memory. I now see that 4Gb graphics is the minimum spec for Resolve. Is it worth me even trying to install and give it a go or am I scuppered?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4501
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostThu Mar 22, 2018 6:11 pm

2GB is adequate for most HD work.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Jazzcol

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:33 am
  • Real Name: Thomas BiiJ

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostFri Mar 23, 2018 1:24 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:2GB is adequate for most HD work.


Thanks Dwaine, HD and 30fps is all I need at the moment.
Offline

kRx md

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 4:47 pm
  • Real Name: Krishlex Gruezo

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostFri Mar 23, 2018 5:50 pm

New forum member here.

I have power browsed the Configuration Guide but just want to be sure if the Intel NUC Skull Canyon NUC6i7KYK Intel® Core™ i7-6770HQ
Intel® Iris™ Pro
16 GB DDR4 Memory
256 GB SSD,

I'm contemplating purchasing is enough to run Resolve 14.
I have downloaded Resolve 14 on my low spec 5yr old laptop AMD A4, 10GB RAM and it does run the program but I havent done any meaningful edit as I'm just starting the tutorials on youtube. I am aware of hardwares that have a dedicated GPU which seems to be recommended for Resolve.

Lastly, I read that Win 10 Pro is the requirement but my low spec laptop runs on Win 10 Home and it does run Resolve 14.

I just want to be sure before this leap of faith.

Thank you.
Offline

Travis Ward

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:05 pm

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostFri Jun 08, 2018 12:18 am

Sorry for the bump, but I'm looking to upgrade my card. I currently have a Nvidia GTX 970 4GB. However, particularly when using Neat Video (even with a 1080 timeline) or working in UHD or higher timelines, I'm frequently getting "out of GPU memory" errors. Sometimes Neat Video doesn't work when I try to go into its settings, stating that it did not receive a frame from Resolve. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Since it's pretty important to have a higher res for using Neat Video, I can't really use low res proxies for determining noise.

Does anyone have any recommendations on an 8GB card for $400 or less? Is it important that it has CUDA cores? A Radeon 580 8GB is about $100 cheaper than the GTX 1070 Ti but obviously doesn't have CUDA.
Travis Ward
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4804
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostFri Jun 08, 2018 12:45 am

Travis, what does Neat Video offer you that Resolve Studio v15 can not?
If you don’t have Studio that’s a $299 upgrade that gives more features too.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: System Requirements for Resolve 14

PostFri Jun 08, 2018 5:02 am

While I'd always second the upgrade to Studio, Neatvideo is still ahead of Resolve's noise reduction.

Yes, with the recent changes and very careful fine tuning Resolve's combination of spatial and temporal filtering comes close, but on very critical shots NV is still ahead. Plus, it's capability of building noise profiles makes it easier and faster to fine-tune it when you are under pressure.

That said, I have no problems using NV for UHD with a temporal radius of 2 on my decent OpenCL Radeon 580 – no CUDA at all.
How high is your radius? Did you let Neatvideo optimize it's settings (under Preferences -> Performance) ?
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bryan Worsley, Dermot Shane, HJWolters, Jonas Eckert, timshealewis and 26 guests